September 22, 2014 | 1558 users online

Lipstick - Clinique - Almost Lipstick - Black Honey

rated 4.1(1159 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 10/22/2013 8:23:00 PM More reviews by KTEM88

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

More pigmented than I expected, that's for sure, but I've learned to work with that. What I don't like is how quickly it fades unless you layer it on quite thick/dark. I will try a different product before repurchasing this one I think.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/22/2013 5:05:00 PM More reviews by toomuchjoy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

The legendary Black Honey. I first heard about this lipstick in a YouTube review. The reviewer claimed this looks different and yet flattering on everyone. What a claim, right? I rushed out to get this and I've got to say it's one of my staples after 2 years. Yes, it looks dark in the tube. But the formula is sheer, so the color relies on the shade of your actual lips. Because of that, you really can't go wrong. This deepens my lips to a flattering burgundy. It's great if you want to try a darker lip color but don't want to go for the fully matte, opaque dark shades. Beautiful for the colder seasons.

The formula is sheer and I'm able to build the color up slightly. Feels like a lip balm. Easy to reapply without a mirror.

My only gripe is with the packaging. The thin metal tube is nice and sleek, but it's absolute crap at staying closed in my bag. I've found this open in my bag a number of times, which is unsanitary and forces me to waste some product in order to make sure it's clean.

Tip: Clinique includes this as a GWP quite often and you can purchase this quite cheaply on eBay. The packaging is plastic, but it is much more secure. I would much rather go this route next time I run out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/7/2013 4:47:00 PM More reviews by Shh23

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is a gorgeous colour. It looks very dark in tube but actually comes out a nice deep Berry on my lips. I love this for a glam night out. I have the gloss too but not as keen on that

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/3/2013 2:24:00 PM More reviews by HeidiF69

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I truly disliked this gloss. The color on me was odd, just too sheer and purply. It seemed to wear off right away, I guess I would prefer if it was more of a stain. As it wore off, it didn't go evenly, but it balled up and made my lips look like they were peeling. No good - had to toss it, Too expensive for a substandard product. Everyone loves it, but it didn't work for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/3/2013 12:06:00 PM More reviews by kayceee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Everyone has those days where you want to rock a bold lip, but don't feel like committing to outright red or going through a primer or a lip liner. Black Honey is amazing for these days.

It's got tons of pigmentation, but it's still firmly a gloss. It seems to look amazing on all complexions, including my super pale one that's less tolerant of bold colours. It's nice and moisturizing.

It has that faint "lipstick" smell but it fades quickly. The packaging isn't up to Clinique's usual standards, though. It feels kind of cheap and the "metal" band flaked pretty quickly. This is very minor in compared to the actual product, though. You also get a lot in a tube and need to use very little, so it's a great investment!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/9/2013 3:13:00 PM More reviews by YXXC

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I fell in love with this lipstick waaaay back in the 90s which is seriously a loooong time ago. Has such a nice sheer tint to it. A classic, a make-up staple. the best colour in that range. For more honest reviews, 'like' Face Up To It on Facebook, Twitter @YoCalliss, yocalliss.wordpress.com. Thanks :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/29/2013 1:28:00 PM More reviews by khvalles

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have been loving this color since it came in a little green pot- in fact this was probably one of my first Clinique purchases back in the 70's. I relegated it to storage for several years and eventually tossed it when it went rancid. Recently purchased a two-sided balm/gloss tube and instantly remembered why I loved it in the first place. It is the perfect natural berry shade and makes my skin look creamy in contrast. This will be a staple for me this fall and winter.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/29/2013 1:01:00 PM More reviews by Angelique79

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Cant rave about this enough, I've bought this more than one time and no matter how many lipsticks I own, I have to ALWAYS own a tube of this. For me (not always for everyone) this is a sheer deep berry that's both dramatic and wearable..I dont know how it does that but it does. I can layer it on in the Fall, or slick it once across in the summer and no matter what, I dont look out of season. I know for some, this is drying, and I'm on maybe my millionth tube and I've not had that issue.

It also makes a great sheer tint for cheeks too!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/29/2013 2:01:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

This is one of my favorite lip products. I'm not a huge fan of lipsticks and glosses in general because I think they make me look like a clown and I dislike the heavy greasy feeling most products have. That being said this is one of the very few lip products I use and replace on a regular basis. It adds the perfect hint of color and shine to my lips. It's noticeable but very subtle and sheer which you wouldn't expect from something that looks so dark in the tube. It also feels like a million bucks. It's not heavy or greasy at all. My only complaint is that since it's more like a balm it doesn't have great staying power but it feels so nice I don't mind reapplying a few times throughout the day. It also keeps my lips moisturized which is a plus.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/26/2013 7:35:00 AM More reviews by decoydream

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Black

Lovely balm like texture and subtle colour for those days when you don't want gloss or lipstick. I find this a bit too much on the purple/brown side when I use more than one layer (it makes me look a little sallow - I have very yellow undertones) but once I rub one layer in with my finger, it gives a slight berry stained look that is much more pretty! It doesn't last too long on the lips (2-3 hrs with eating) but its easy enough to reapply that it's not a problem.

A slightly more browner version of this would be 'fig jam' by revlon which I also like!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No