July 23, 2014 | 1871 users online

Lipstick - Clinique - Almost Lipstick - Black Honey

rated 4.1(1153 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/29/2013 2:01:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

This is one of my favorite lip products. I'm not a huge fan of lipsticks and glosses in general because I think they make me look like a clown and I dislike the heavy greasy feeling most products have. That being said this is one of the very few lip products I use and replace on a regular basis. It adds the perfect hint of color and shine to my lips. It's noticeable but very subtle and sheer which you wouldn't expect from something that looks so dark in the tube. It also feels like a million bucks. It's not heavy or greasy at all. My only complaint is that since it's more like a balm it doesn't have great staying power but it feels so nice I don't mind reapplying a few times throughout the day. It also keeps my lips moisturized which is a plus.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/26/2013 7:35:00 AM More reviews by decoydream

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Black

Lovely balm like texture and subtle colour for those days when you don't want gloss or lipstick. I find this a bit too much on the purple/brown side when I use more than one layer (it makes me look a little sallow - I have very yellow undertones) but once I rub one layer in with my finger, it gives a slight berry stained look that is much more pretty! It doesn't last too long on the lips (2-3 hrs with eating) but its easy enough to reapply that it's not a problem.

A slightly more browner version of this would be 'fig jam' by revlon which I also like!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/24/2013 6:41:00 PM More reviews by peggy1234

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Love this as it is so effortless and always looks good. Perfect color. Perfect feel. Easy to carry and use. Love it for travel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/17/2013 5:23:00 PM More reviews by aquaprincess

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I like this product a lot actually. It has a nice color and the texture is very nice. Staying power isn't too long it it doesn't bother me. On my lips it comes out as a sheerish bright red. It looks pretty but I'm not really a red lipstick kind of person. I like the Rosey pink, berry, and mauve kind of shades more. But it's really nice.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/7/2013 5:29:00 PM More reviews by Helloneighbor

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Another cult product that lives up to his fame. I think this has that perfect plummy/pink/brownish shade that gives a MLBB effect. I'm sure it looks better on darker skinned ladies as I'm on the paler side and my natural lip color simply isn't brownish. However, i still think it looks great and i love the formula since it glides onto my lips without tugging and it is moisturizing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/25/2013 7:13:00 AM More reviews by m_a_a_n

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

i was really excited to try this because I've read good reviews. i really like the texture and how it moisturizes my lips and it provides some color, love the packaging too. However, the color is a little to dark for my Nc25 (asian) skin and made me look older. Love the formula but color does not suit my skintone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/2/2013 11:20:00 AM More reviews by alina08

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I got a free sample of this with a sephora purchase. I like the texture of this lipstick- it is gel-like and goes on smoothly. It is also quite pigmented. I have very fair skin and with two swipes of this lipstick, I already have a dramatic look. I like how this product is not drying on my lips. Although I do like this product, I do not consider this product to be amazing or superior in any way. I would rate it a three overall.

Update: I am taking away a lippie because no matter how many times I try to use this product, it sticks to ANY dry skin on my lips and makes the color look uneven. I have tried to be patient, but this is ridiculous!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/22/2013 11:54:00 PM More reviews by bgwhirlwind88

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Awesome. When I have a couple extra dollars this is another lip color I've bought over the years and always been delighted with. Color perfect as it's so sheer. Packaging, not so much. Lip falls off easily. If it stayed on for a long time it would be absolutely perfect, but...what is?
The End.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/20/2013 1:59:00 PM More reviews by RenRan

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

For a lip finish that is neither too matte or too glossy, and with a color that is just rich enough for my olive skin tone, Clinique's Black Honey is a winner. I've used this product for several years and despite its price (approx. $13) it's a must have in my makeup stash.

When it's packaged as an Almost Lipstick you will see why - it's very translucent when worn. I doubt it's possible for the color to ever look too heavy handed when applied. Don't be afraid by how dark the color looks in the tube, which appears to be a deep purple-black color. The application is super sheer and glides on smoothly and gives a dewy, just bitten look to the lips. Curious about how the color may look? If you've seen Liv Tyler in LOTR, this is the color she wears. I usually describe it as a wine shade. I have been lucky enough to have it mistaken as my natural lip color (haha, I wish).

One tube lasts me at least 3 months of highly repetitive use. Which brings me to the cons; the product is not the longest lasting, especially after eating or drinking. The formulation doesn't cause my lips to peel, crack or dry (yay!) but I wish that there was a touch more moisture to it. However, it's an excellent color to use alone, blended with other colors and can be intensified by wearing it with a rich raisin or wine colored lip liner.

Last but not least, the packaging is beautiful. The tube is sleek, slender and silver-toned. There are now other "honeys" added to the Almost Lipstick line, which I am very tempted to try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/14/2013 9:42:00 PM More reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I can be skeptical with cult products, but... I like it! It's pretty 'buildable' and one application can give you a berry stained effect, and you can also layer it for a dramatic deep look without coming across as too gothic. It's moisturizing with average staying power. I will repurchase again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No