April 16, 2014 | 1616 users online

Cleansers - Burt's Bees - Garden Tomato Complexion Soap ] [DISCONTINUED]



image 0

rated 3.7(171 reviews)

    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 1 of 5 on 8/26/2007 4:39:00 PM More reviews by astroblack

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Black

    Yuck!
    I used it once and the acid from the tomato stung my skin. And then the next day, Ihad bumps all over my face and they itched like crazy. I didn't take it back, I threw it in the trash, I was so mad. I hadn't realized how sensitive my skin was until using this soap.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/13/2007 6:34:00 PM More reviews by ayngemac

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

    I bought a little motel-sized mini bar at CVS for $2.50, which is WAY too expensive for just an average performing soap. I didn't have any negative effects, and it didn't wow me in any way either. I'm glad I bought the sample size.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 8/13/2007 6:23:00 PM More reviews by rgeary2

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    First of all, bar soaps in general are a bad idea because they sit out and gather bacteria, but I guess you could always use a soap dish.

    Anyway, this did nothing for my skin. I've tried everything for acne, both prescription and non-prescription, so I wasn't too surprised when this didn't work. FYI, I have an oil nose and chin but my forehead and cheeks get pretty dry. This soap REALLY dried out my skin - which I didn't expect - and made it feel tight and flaky, while doing nothing for my acne. I wouldn't recommend this for people with combo or dry skin, but I guess if your skin is super oily it might be helpful.

    Wouldn't buy again!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 8/2/2007 3:11:00 PM More reviews by i_LoVe_FoOd

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    I first came across this product when I was hanging around the Vitamin Shoppe with a friend of mine (she was looking for hair products). When she got what she needed and was walking toward the cashier to pay I noticed the Burt's Bees stand and saw this product. I just picked up the one formulated for oily/combo skin and bought it on a whim. I didn't really expect major results but my skin was having major breakouts all over so I thought " what the h-e-double hockey sticks" and I bought it. Let me tell you this is a miracle product, from the very first night I noticed a change with my skin. After using it for a week (twice a day everyday) I noticed a significant change it my skin. Another thing I love about this product is that it doesnt dry out my skin no matter how times I use it in a row. I'm not saying I have dry skin because its quite the opposite but sometimes I would use a product and it would make me oh so dry thus making my already oily skin even more oily! arghh!!!! For its effectiveness I dont think this product is expensive at all (I only paid about $8.00). The smell put me off the the first time I used it though but I quickly got used to it. I highly recommend this product to all you beauties who are in a pimply situation cuz believe me my sweeties your skin and your confidence with improve tremendously! :)
    Edit: Even though I liked this soap I now do the oil cleansing method.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 6/2/2007 11:07:00 AM More reviews by rtorres72

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

    Unfortunately, I also had a bad experience with this soap. It smells fantastic and made my skin feel really soft at first. Similar to another reviewer, I noticed an awful lot of dirt coming off on the cotton ball when I followed up with the toner...within 2 weeks my skin was breaking out more than usual.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/21/2007 5:14:00 PM More reviews by charchy

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    I would like to give it 4.5 out of 5. :). I like it a lot! I don't have acne problem, but my T-area is oily. It removes the oily just the right amount. Skin doesn't feel dry after it. I love the smell too! I bought the sample/travel size, it is such a cute yellow-brown bar..since I have a lot of cleansers at the same time, I decide to keep buying the sample size. I use it after I have removed make-up in the evening. For morning use, it is too harsh for sure. ;)

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 5/10/2007 4:06:00 PM More reviews by Elyse09

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    I really like this cleanser. It made my skin feel soft and helped clear up my acne. As it is for blemish prone skin, it is somewhat drying. So I recomend using a moisturizer if you don't already. It has a nice scent and lasts FOREVER. One bar lasted me five months and I used it at least twice a day. The only thing I don't like about this is that it really stings your eyes. The first time I got some in my eyes I thought I had gone blind. Other than this, and the fact that, as a bar soap, it is a little hard to store, I really like it. I would buy it again.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 4/29/2007 7:53:00 AM More reviews by klim08

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I just bought this today. Since I'm in the philippines, it costs a bit more. I bought the bar for Php495 at beauty bar. A bit expensive for a bar of soap. AFter reading several reviews about the product and being told that this would last a long time, I gave in. Also bought the parsley blemish stick for Php650. I first removed makeup from my face with a makeup remover then used this to clean my face. I love the scent and I like how it lathers up. My face feels a bit tight though. I have yet to discover if this will cause breakouts in the near future. Right now, I'm loving it. April 29 9:00pm




    April 30 7:48 am I actually started using this last night. Upon waking up this morning, i noticed that my pores were smaller and the skin on my face smoother! With the help of the parsley blemish stick, the smaller pimples that I had yesterday have flattened and are almost gone. The few cystic pimples may need a little more time though. One thing is for sure..I'm definitely stocking up on Garden Tomato Complexion Soap and I'm looking forward to using other Burt's Bees products.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 4/15/2007 3:15:00 PM More reviews by Dudek82

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I really love this soap! I have been using it it every night for the past 6 months with the tomato toner (I use Mary Kay soap in the shower in the morning) and I now have significantly less breakouts than when I was using ProActiv. I love the smell but my mom thinks it is gross for a soap. It doesn't completely remove my makeup, but I guess that is what makeup remover is for. It does slightly dry out my skin, but a small amount of moisturizer fixes it. I will repurchase when the bar runs out, but I honestly think that is going to take about a year

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/2/2007 1:53:00 AM More reviews by rossjen

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

    I've tried all three of the Burt's Bees Complexion soaps, and this one is my favorite. I adore the smell of this, it is so green and fresh smelling. Too bad the smell wears off, this is one time where I wish it stayed around longer.
    When I tried my sample bar initially, I wasn't expecting that much. But this feels pretty soothing, there is no residue left after rinsing, and my skin is smooth and comfortable. I can't say that it does much for breakouts, but it is a great basic face cleanser for the summer months.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No