MAC Lustre in High Tea

4.2

191 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/21/2010 3:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have never been a fan of nude lipsticks on myself, mainly because of the fact that I am so pale that anything close to being nude makes me look dead. So there is definitely no Myth in the cards for me. I decided on this color as a nice neutral because I wouldn't say that this is low pigmentation, but compared to one's lips it just adds a hint of color. In the tube this definitely looks very light, almost to the point that I was scared to try it on. It looks like a very light nude with subtle hints of a soft pink pearl embedded in.


When in the sun this just gives off a nude pink that looks natural but with a slight golden sheen that makes one's lips look as if they are glowing within. Indoors this lipstick transforms into a slightly more nude, sounds unflattering but it actually works.


I am not normally a fan of the Lustre formula and I usually stick more towards the Creamsheens and Amplifieds because they tend to be more moisturizing and just last longer. But with this lippy I had no problem with the color sticking, it lasted about 4 hours, which is a very long time on me since I tend to bite my lip when I'm studying...which is almost all of the time.


This is the first nude in a long time that comes across very flattering, without giving the impression of concealer lips...a trend I never really understood. I would have to say High Tea is probably one of the best nudes from MAC, this lipstick really shows what a really nude lip is supposed to look like.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.



on 11/20/2010 10:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is HG. It's the perfect nude with a hint of nuetral pink/champagne sheen to it. It's also a very universal shade, too. It suits so many different skintones! I love how smooth and creamy (and slightly moisturizing) it is. It's perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2010 9:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This lipstick is a beautiful nude shade, more on the beige-ish than the pink side, a tad pale looking on my NC25 skin, but in the sense of a sheer golden glow rather than washed out or dead. It's perfect for when I just need to draw a tiny bit of "life" out of my lips, yet maintaining that neutral, polished look. Recommended especially for yellow-toned, fair/fair-medium girls, but for you out there who don't fit that description, don't let me deprive you of the glorious joy that is High Tea - I'd still give it a go if I were you.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2010 5:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

LISTEN UP!!! for anyone who wants the perfect nude lipstick. I have had a really hard time trying to find the perfect nude lipstick that doesnt wash me out. I found it!
PERFECT bronzy beige color
SUBTLE but not too subtle
this lipstick actually makes me GLOW!
I have olive skin but i honestly think this can work for ALL skin tones
SERIOUSLY TRY IT OUT!


on 9/11/2010 8:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I actually just baught this lipstick yesterday. I was in the market for a nude shimmer lipstick to put under my NARS Greek Holiday lip gloss. I loved High Tea because its beautiful under the gloss, and by itself. I have alot of pink in my lip so it brings out the pink in it, and has just enough shimmer to make my lip playful, but not childish. I love this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2010 12:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my all time favorite lipstick. I've been using it for 2 years now! I always come back to it. It is a perfect color for the day and night.
High Tea = LOVE!


on 8/28/2010 10:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Cons
-lustre finish applies moistly, but quickly dries and makes my lips all wrinkley
-colour = somewhat dull and muddly (I'm NC20 but not as yellow)
-smell still like sunscreen (under vanilla scent)

Pros
-glossy (no long lasting)
-packaging is sleek
-colour is nice if I only apply thin layer

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love, love, love this lipstick! I was originally going to the MAC counter in Macy's today to get Viva Glam V Lipstick, but just as I was about to grab it, this caught my eye. In the tube it looks like a tinted pink brown color. When I swatched it on my skin (NW43) it appears as a frosty champagne-pink color. On my lips, it is gorgeous! It's great for girls close to my skin tone who are looking for a nude lipstick with a pink tint. My new favorite lipstick! I love this. Will buy again, again... and again.


on 8/13/2010 11:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of my favs from MAC! i bought this a couple months ago and dont know why i waited so long, pretty champagne gold-toned nude and goes with just about anything. great for summer too i can just swipe this on without lookin in the mirror and im good to go. i dont know why people dont like this lipstick as much as i do, its awesome!


on 8/6/2010 3:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was on the hunt for a nude lippie to go with smoky brown eyes and my NC25 skin. It looked beautiful swatched on my hand so I purchased despite the things I had read thinking that different things work for different people. However, once applied to my lips it had a slight gray overcast and it reminded me of a frost, which is not my look. Took back to Mac. Would not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
215 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
26 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top