OPI Black Onyx

4.1

75 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/18/2008 11:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I saw it applied on someone else and I loved that it was a perfect black creme that had a lot of shine! However, when I got my own-- I realized how GOOPY and THICK it was. Yuck.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I suspect the people who are really excited about this polish aren't black polish conoisseurs, because though I normally love OPI, Black Onyx is mediocre at best. A good black polish should go on opaque in one coat and look like black PVC with two and a top coat. Try Bloody Mary's black polish (or the one from the health food store line No Miss, really) for a black polish that doesn't go on watery or streaky. This is a disappointment, because I love the other black from this line, the more or less hematite-grey Black Satin.


on 2/26/2008 11:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I am a bit of a nail-junkie, so I know what i am talking about here! I only buy OPI polishes, because it's worth the money to me. Black Onyx is a great, pure black. If you love the dark nail trend, go get this color immediately (although it is tough to find). It does take 2 coats to achieve the bottle color, but that is the case with all brands. It lasts forever with a top coat, like all OPI polishes. I have already repurchased this because I broke my first bottle!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2008 10:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Love this nailpolish, goes on smooth (maybe a little liquidy), I need about two layers of polish to get the colour I want , but I've had it on for about 4 days and I only have one chip. Lasts way longer then the cheaper brands I've tried, will defintely buy again.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

Creamy, opaque, true black; dries to a shiny finish. You'll need at least 2 coats (or 3 really thin ones) to achieve the colour of the bottle -- so don't despair when your first coat results in transparent charcoal, it does build to a true rich black. Glides on without streaks; lasts for days without budging. I won't repurchase because it's just too much; it'll look fine for a night out dancing but for everyday it's just too...well, black. But if that's what you're looking for then this is your shade.


on 11/10/2007 12:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a black nail polish and while some people may think that all blacks are the same it isn't true. This one goes on so smooth and streak-free. The new wider brush really does make for a flawless application. I cannot comment on how long it lasts w/out chipping; but I just painted them yesterday and so far so good. I love it and highly recommend to any female that likes black nail polishes other than on Halloween. I would and probably will repurchase.


on 10/29/2007 6:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had this color done for a pedicure this weekend and I love it! It's such a deep, rich color and it looks very sophisticated. I admit I had it done mostly for Halloween but I think I'm going to buy it to use for now on.


on 10/14/2007 11:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I agree with the below review. I thought it was incredibly thick, and took forever to dry. Once it did dry it looked horrible on my nails. After I was done I ended up noticing a bunch of smudges on my fingers of the polish. I doubt I'll go back to Black Onyx, it just didn't do what other OPI nailpolishes do for me. :(

Also - It took me FOREVER to get my bottle open, Ugh I had to use one of those nutcrackers to get it open and by the time it did get open the cover is all chewed up.


on 9/24/2007 10:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Black Onyx is a glossy, true black but it has a horribly thick, gloopy texture. Maybe I bought a bad bottle because my other OPI polishes have a thinner consistency and are much easier to apply, which is a shame as this is my favourite and most used colour. It also seems to take longer to dry than the others.


on 9/23/2007 1:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Pure black cream, and love the ProWide brush. I don't really wear black polish, but I love painting my nails with a certain color and then paint black diagonally. I wouldn't repurchase this, as I found out that China Glaze Liquid Leather is blacker and shinier.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
93 Reviews
Vacation Time
47 Reviews
Frostbite
69 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

74 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

151 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

76 reviews
image

Romeo & Joliet

87 reviews
Back to Top