July 24, 2014 | 1107 users online

Lip Gloss - Burt's Bees - Burt's Bees Lip Shimmers - Raisin



image 0

rated 3.5(62 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/3/2005 9:35:00 PM More reviews by preppymrazlover

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a pretty dark and dramatic, yet subtle and sophisticated color. Yes; it is all those things at the same time! Beautiful dark muavey- red colr w/ a tiny bit of shimmer. Got it %20 off at Hallmark. Awesome stuff. This will probably look even better on me w/ a tan in the summer

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/2/2005 2:21:00 PM More reviews by amyjo_99

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Very dark/mauve brownish color. Perfect for a tan. This is pretty dark so watch out if you are not prepared. Lovely color and shimmer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/28/2005 2:53:00 AM More reviews by elvedon

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I hate the lip balm, so I'd never tried these until I snapped them up on a whim at my drugstore. I am so glad I did. I've got rhubarb (soft pinky tone), nutmeg (pale bronze), and raisin, and raisin is by far my favorite.

I love the amount of pigment--on me, it's a shimmery berry color. Maybe it's brighter than an actual raisin, but it's gorgeous on my olive skin. For $3.50, how can you go wrong?
UPDATE: I still love this stuff for sheer, not-overly-madeup lipcolor, and my gripe about Raisin is that because it's darker I have to actually look in a mirror when I touch it up. I appreciate the minty taste more now--it's great after coffee. continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/12/2005 10:41:00 PM More reviews by BarbItalia

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

So funny; what others don't like about this lip balm is exactly what I LOVE! My lips are so pale...I despise it, especially with my dark hair and eyes. Most all glosses and balms are much to sheer for me (except Avon Glazewear, Milani and Prestige) and I have wasted so much money on them. But this Lip Shimmer is marvelous! Minty and refreshing, it is a beautiful, fresh berry on my lips. The first time I wore it I received compliments all day from my coworkers! I can use a pigmented or clear liner (over 40 = bleeding) and it lasts forever...leaves a bit of a stain, which makes me love it even more! $3.95, I've seen it at bookstores, Walgreens (by the register, with testers!) and at Cracker Barrel restaurants! I have 3 shades: Merlot (more winey-go figure!) and Rhubarb (pinker, brighter). LOVE!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/28/2005 3:08:00 PM More reviews by innamorata

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I received this from a very nice swapper...it was the last of the Shimmers that I had yet to try. The website advertises this as "luxurious, earthy red", and that's fairly close. This is a decent, cool red...not orangy or warm-toned at all, with a slight blue undertone on my skin.

The problem is the intensity of the color...it is just too dark for my PPP, cool-toned skin. It truly looks more like a lipstick than a sheer shimmer of color...and, frankly, if I want a lipstick look, I'll wear lipstick. I want something nice and shiny and healthy to my lips that I can wear every day, even when I'm just wearing foundation and a little mascara. I'd also hunted high and low for a sheer, pretty color that had that mint tingle and taste. I wanted to use this Lip Shimmer very badly...it is such a nice, shiny, cool-toned red and not such a way-pink tone, like Watermelon, Rhubarb, and Merlot are, and not a bold shimmer like Champagne and Nutmeg. But it was just too dark and deep for my PPP coloring. And then, the clouds opened, and the little light bulb above my head started blinking....

I bought the .3-ounce tin of the Beeswax Lip Balm. I took a plastic knife, scooped out all the product, and put it in a small, microwave-safe plastic bowl. It came out very easily and mostly in one piece. I then took the plastic knife and sliced off a small bit of the Raisin Lip Shimmer (I mean small...like, one millimeter small), putting it into the same bowl. I microwaved this until I could just stir it with the knife (about 15 seconds...it doesn't take long, and you don't want it soupy or too soft, just until you can stir it). I stirred up the Raisin into the Beeswax Lip Balm until it was all mixed together, and tested it on my lips. I got it a bit too light, so I added a little more Raisin to it (about another millimeter) and stirred again. This time, I got what I was after...a nice, pretty, natural color that wasn't Porno Barbie Pink, nor 1980's Fuschia Pink, nor Streetwalker Scarlet, but a wearable, MLBB, cool-toned light red. I took the knife and scooped it all back into the tin, leveling off the top. I put it in the fridge for a few minutes to harden back up, and wow...I have what I wanted this to be all along! A light wash of color, good healthy stuff for my lips, with a way-cool whack of mint tingle and taste (the two products added together gives a double-whammy of mint, so if you don't like that you can't say I didn't warn you).

This would work, I'd think, with any of the Lip Shimmers...I plan on buying several of the tins and making a darker version of this. I'll probably experiment with Watermelon and Rhubarb too, since my complaint about them was their too intense pink colors. I think this would look good with Nutmeg as well. If you could not wear Raisin due to the intensity of the shade, try it this way...you might be pleased. :) What fun! Me happy!

UPDATE 1/29/05: I made a darker version of this in the tin, and it turned out beautifully...seriously, if you want a sheer wash of color but the protection of the Beeswax balm, you have to try this...! continued >>

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/16/2005 10:05:00 PM More reviews by Gradle

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love the texture and feel of this, but the color is way too bright for me. It's a very bright berry red. I wish I'd checked here before buying...if I did, I would have tried another color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/11/2004 5:00:00 PM More reviews by oneofthetriangle

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a nice berry red color when used lightly. It can look very sheer, or it can be used as a lipstick depending on how much you use. I personally never wear l/s, maybe because my lips are already really pigmented. But this is still very nice to use for when I want a litte more color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/4/2004 5:45:00 PM More reviews by minnielouse

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I bought this one after reading the reviews here. I like it a lot. I can't wear red lipstick much, because my lips are so pale that the demarcation line just looks terrible. This works. I prefer to blot it for a stain without much shine. Very nice product and it was $3.99!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/11/2004 7:27:00 PM More reviews by buttercupt

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Raisin doesn't describe this color at all IMO. On me it is a sheer berry red, with very little shimmer at all. I still like it, but good lord it is bright. Great product :o)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/30/2004 7:20:00 PM More reviews by virginiachick

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I love this color. It gives my lips a little more than their natural color and its so moisturizing. And the minty flavor is nice. Love it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No