September 17, 2014 | 1768 users online

Shampoo - LUSH - Trichomania bar



image 0

rated 3.3(161 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 55% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 9/19/2010 9:36:00 AM More reviews by tori8780

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I'm not in love with this product. Perhaps it's because I have straight, frizzy hair and not the curly hair its recommended to, but it just doesnt do a whole lot for me. It feels heavy on my hair once I've rinsed it out, and I think if I tried using it multiple days in a row it would start to feel gunky. I use this shampoo when my hair is feeling especially dry and needs a hit of moisture. I think this would be a fab shampoo for curly girls with dry hair, but for my straight, dry hair it just makes it look lank. :( Too bad, because I am looking for a solid that is less drying than the pucks, but not so moisturizing that it weighs everything down.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/11/2010 2:25:00 PM More reviews by aislings

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Wow! This is a awesome shampoo! I've never used a solid shampoo before, so I was a little hesitant to try it. My hair can be frizzy and dull at times an this brings it back to life. The bars lasts a long time (I suggest cutting it into smaller portions) if you keep dry and away from water after each use. I would get a nice later going in my hands and rub it into my wet hair adding a little more water to help get more lather. It's lathering, but no too much where you feel that your hair is being stripped. I only had to use a small amount of conditioner after words and my hair was soft and frizz free after letting it air dry. The scent of coconut is nice in the shower but doesn't linger much on the hair afterward. I use this two or three times a week, but I think it could work well as a daily shampoo.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/1/2010 11:34:00 AM More reviews by VegeJunkie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Smells of coconut which to me is absolutely devine. I chop this into smaller blocks and use them one at a time, rubbing the block in my hands and massaging it into my scalp. I love that it lasts quite long and I only use one thorough wash twice a week to get rid of my oily scalp and leave my dry thick frizzy hair super soft and tame.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/26/2010 8:25:00 PM More reviews by KelBel77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I use this about twice a week between my cream cleanser washings, and I really like it. The first use scared me a bit, because it made my hair feel like wax! But after using a little conditioner, my hair felt amazing. I have no problem getting a lather. I just rub it around my scalp a few times, and my fine hair foams up quite nicely. What I didn't know before I purchased it was that it contains SLS (my fault for not checking), so after this is gone I will not repurchase since I'm trying to eliminate harmful chemicals from my bath and beauty products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/25/2010 4:08:00 AM More reviews by alyola

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

it's hard to use and although it's for dry hair i did not soften my hair .Atotal disapointment for me.It makes my hair impossible to brush

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/23/2010 1:21:00 PM More reviews by violet_avalon

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Probably my least favourite LUSH shampoo. To be fair, my hair is normal and not curly or unruly, so it isn't the hair this shampoo is destined to. However, out of curiosity, I decided to try a small chunk and there were Pros: It lasted a long time because it lathers quite well, in a creamy and thick sort of way.
I tried different conditioners after using it to see if the results were due to the shampoo or the conditioner but many times I ended up with dull hair and, the worst part, a film of residue in my hair so I could barely run my hands through it. As much as I rinsed this happened a few times, very unpleasant. As for the smell, well it's coconut and I'm not a fan, but that's highly relative.
All in all, not as good as the other solid slabs from Lush. continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/13/2010 1:49:00 PM More reviews by linseyp

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Can't get this to work right for me just yet. I love the smell tho, so I'm experimenting on how to do this. I break off a sliver and use it but it doesn't spread well and crumbles. Maybe I need to just use the large piece and really rub. Right now, not sure if I'll buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/12/2010 10:59:00 PM More reviews by puggyxisxbored

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Other Eyes: Brown

I absolutely LOVE this shampoo bar!!!!! It has a lovely creamy coconut scent and it does wonders for my hair. After I used this (along with Jungle conditioner) my hair felt clean, soft, and moisturized.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/28/2010 3:30:00 AM More reviews by xxxanity

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I've used Trichomania on my hair a few times, and the solid shampoo experience does have a learning curve that I don't necessarily want to mess with. I have temperamental naturally curly/wavy hair that isn't cooperative at all, and the few times I used Trichomania I honestly didn't notice that much of a difference from my regular shampoo (typically v05- not fancy at all), though with repeated use (and practice with the solid) maybe I would have. The texture of the product isn't exactly helpful, either- I know it's a solid, but it's very crumbly and dense. It's hard to cut into small chunks without it breaking into pieces.

I don't mind the smell. It's mostly coconut to me, with some other notes in there too. Some stuff from LUSH can smell god awful (and a lot of it smells REALLY good too) but this isn't really notable to me in either direction on the scale.

However, I do absolutely love Trichomania for one purpose, and it's the one I buy it for exclusively. The salesgirl at LUSH and I were talking and she mentioned that it was good for shaving your legs with. My skin does not like shaving AT ALL and I generally spend days scratching scratching and scratching every time I use a razor. Because I don't shave that often (due to the horrible itching) I also have to deal with trying to get a close shave through the stubble, and I've found that Trichomania gives me the most comfortable, close shave that I can get, far superior to any of the shaving creams or gels (Skintimate, etc.) and it works better than liquid hair conditioner, too. I just get the bar slightly wet and rub it between my hands until it makes a very creamy... lather, I guess you could say, though it doesn't really bubble. It's more time consuming, but totally worth it for me. So if you hate Trichomania for your hair but you have a big chunk of it left, try shaving with it.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/20/2010 11:44:00 PM More reviews by AnthaPanther

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I received this as a sample in one of my MO. I have to say that I absolutely HATE the smell if I am not in the shower; when I am in the shower, it's bearable. The smell aside, I LOVE what it did to my hair. Usually my naturally curly hair gets weighted down by other products after I shower (and let it dry naturally). This allowed my hair to remain its bouncy, curly self. Although I did have a bit more frizz than usual, I attributed it to the fact that it allowed my hair to curl more than what most shampoos allow my hair to do.
The smell wasn't that bad in/after the shower, and after a few hours, I couldn't smell it anymore.
I do agree that it was awkward to work up a lather and it shrinks incredibly after the first wash. It just wouldn't at first. I felt like I was spending a good five minutes in the shower just trying to get enough suds to put into my long hair. Also, after my first usage of the sample, it shrank to half its size!

In all, I may consider buying it in the future just because I loved the results, but I wouldn't use it as an everyday shampoo since it was awkward and shrank so quickly!

Is this review helpful? Yes No