July 28, 2014 | 1243 users online

Lotions/ Creams - Palmer's - Palmers Cocoa Butter Formula



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.3(962 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 84% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 5/17/2013 2:28:00 PM More reviews by Reality9

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Palmers Cocoa Butter is very nice. It has a nice smell and is about £3 from Bodycare or £5 in Boots, England for a 400ml bottle. It stains your skin slightly though and when you take a shower it comes off as a slimy film on the skin.

I bought it as a cheap all-over body moisturiser, but prefer the Vaseline version which comes in a tub. The Vaseline version seems closer to being actual cocoa butter and doesn't seem to stain my skin and is much more effective as a moisturiser. Both of these brands are refined which means they've been processed a lot so the actual goodness of genuine cocoa butter has been lost somewhat.

Palmers are generally good for avoiding the use of Parabens and Phthalates, but this product smells a bit 'chemically' compared to the Vaseline Cocoa Body Butter. The colour and perfume are added in there. The other downside is, there's always a build up of what looks like grey dust (like when you rub a pencil eraser on pencil) on my skin which I never get with any other product, even after washing this dirt appears. I actually took the first bottle back to the store and swapped it for another and it's the same thing. I don't know what the conditions are like where this is made, the first one I bought had pubic hair around the opening of the bottle but I thought that was probably a one-off.

Overall, a good value product. If you moisturise your whole body every day a 400ml bottle probably won't need replacing every week and because it's cheap you don't need to use it sparingly. The other thing is, you can buy 100% pure unrefined cocoa butter, so if you'd rather splash out on that you only get the thing you want, really concentrated without all the other stuff added in there for marketing, like the skin dyes. You can get pure, unrefined cocoa butter on Ebay for less than £10 for 250g.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/27/2013 7:51:00 PM More reviews by misterandry

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I started using this recently and I love it. It's rich, it's incredibly moisturizing and thick, without being greasy or unspreadable. I have to admit though- I hate the smell, which is why I gave this a 4 instead of a 5. It's a nice chocolatey smell and by itself it's fine, but I hate smelling like food and unfortunately, the smell lingers. I only use this on nights I'm not going out, and in the morning I'll use my BBW body cream after my shower. Between this, the body cream, and dry brushing, my skin is soft and glowy and wonderful, and if you like the smell, you'll love this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/23/2013 1:49:00 PM More reviews by PaleBrunette

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Grey

I love to slather this creamy cocoa butter all over my skin right out of the shower. Very moisturizing and it's really cheap. I have a friend who complains about the fragrance when I wear it, but I like it. However,I don't want to gag my friends so I only apply it before bed now.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/22/2013 12:00:00 PM More reviews by Sugarzone17

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Green

I had a nasty dry patch on my arm from having drying skin...i also had bumps...ALL OVER MY FACE!!! yeah i'm 17 and its puberty but like come on gross , so i went to the beauty supply and bought Palmer's Shea butter and cocoa butter. When i first stuck it on i did a little dance like if i was in a commercial. :) I love it, my skin tone looks evened out finally!! and my bumps are no more! The nasty dry patch is gone to. I use Dove sensitive skin and Dove Shea butter when i shower. Then i apply cocoa butter all over. If i run out of cocoa butter i open the bottle of Palmer's Shea butter. Either way there both amazing and works for every skin type. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/18/2013 10:00:00 PM More reviews by barbraella

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This is one of those popular beauty products that is worth the hype,out of most body lotions this is the most moisturising and best one you can get,it really leaves your skin soft and smooth and is great for after shavinng your legs since it will replace the moisture you have lost,it also has the most gorgeous chocolate scent but if you do not like scented cream palmers also has this in unscented as well,i would highly recommend this body lotion to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/16/2013 1:46:00 PM More reviews by lac66

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

i cant love this any more! it is the best body lotion ever. people have complimented me because of the smell (which i love so much). It moisturises so well and it lasts a long time. the smell lasts about 3 days for me xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/1/2013 7:54:00 AM More reviews by ilovepeterrabbit404

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Blue

I really like the idea of this product and the fact that it is paraben free and hasn't been tested on animals , smells like chocolate but I really don't see the moisturising effects and it hasn't healed my scars.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/27/2013 6:35:00 PM More reviews by RosieMiranda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I had weight loss surgery and was so concerned about saggy skin. I've been using t original lotion, the firming butter, and the stretch mark cream 2x daily and it's totally working! I had the driest skin post op and now my skin is softer than ever. Everyone notices. They say I'm glowing all of the time. I will probably never use a different lotion again. This is just amazing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/22/2013 8:45:00 PM More reviews by lucypearl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff. I mean LOVE. It is the best. I've used it for quite awhile and it just makes everything better. I can even use it on my face and I have super clog-prone skin. Say what? Yep, it actually seems to get rid of some of the clogs. It also keeps me clogged pore free in the bikini area. I thought that was impossible! I love you, Palmer's. Never change.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2013 1:18:00 AM More reviews by 236lex

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this product. I've been using this as a body moisturiser for the last 10 years. My skin is smooth and soft.

Is this review helpful? Yes No