September 2, 2014 | 941 users online

Treatments (Face) - Clinique - Anti Blemish Solution



image 0

rated 2.9(92 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 46% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/28/2011 4:16:00 PM More reviews by Sambalina82

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

This review is for the Clear Blemish Gel. I have a lot of bumpy acne on my chin and jawline, under the skin NOT full blown spots! I gave this a try, it actually helped to flatten these bumps within a couple of days! Whether you think its expensive it not depends on your budget, I think this was 12 and although its a small bottle you really don't need very much, I think this will last me a year. Working for me so far!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/22/2011 1:16:00 PM More reviews by hriz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Spot Gel - totaly useless and causes extreme dryness.

Clearing Moisturizer - very nice. I used it on morning and evening. It actually worked. It took 2 days for my skin to adjust to it. Also there was soft water and high humidity. Idk how it will work in winter.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/10/2011 2:20:00 AM More reviews by LisaOrestea

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This product is absolutely awful.

I am pretty angry that I spent so much money on it.

I have acne prone skin, but nothing too awful - it has always been manageable and easy to cover with foundation.

Whilst I was finishing my dissertation my skin started breaking out loads (I guess from stress) so I decided to try this stuff.

They said it would get worse before it got better.....well they got the first bit right! My skin has never been so bad, not even when I was in my teens!

I thought it was my new primer causing me to break out at first so I switched it out of my routine, but that didn't help so I tried stopping using the 3 step system instead and my skin started to clear up in less than 2 days!

What a massive waste of money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/1/2011 10:13:00 AM More reviews by jjapples

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Grey

I've has acne since I was 13, a smallish amount of cystic acne on my cheeks, chin and neck and smaller bumps/whiteheads on the rest of my face. While it was by no means the worst case of acne in the world, anyone whose had it knows that it doesn't matter how mild people tell you it is, you still feel bad. Between my parents and I we've spent a small fortune on all manner of lotions, potions and medication to try and clear it up. In the last year I'd finally (after almost 12 years!) really noticed an improvement and had cleared it up to the point where I only had 2 or 3 small pimples at a time, which for me is a massive improvement. I'd heard that Clinique was good and the anti-blemish range had won some magazine awards so I gave it a shot to try and get my skin over the line, so to speak.
Worst decision I ever made.
Within 2 weeks my skin had broken out everywhere. Dozens of small bumps and some larger cystic acne on my cheeks. My entire forehead, which had been clear for 7 years, was covered in little pimples. I went back to Clinique and they assured me my skin was just 'purging' and within a few more weeks I'd see a noticeable improvement.
Wrong. I waited it out, stuck with it, did everything I was supposed to do according to the Clinique SA's and it didn't improve. Not at all. After almost 4 months I finally called it quits and threw it in the bin.
It's not the most expensive thing out there, but for the price I'd have expected some level of control or suppression or even an improvement in the appearance of the clear parts of my skin, but it did nothing positive at all.
I cannot stress strongly enough how awful this range is. I am only now, after 7 months, getting my skin under control, and I still have 6 or 7 cystic bumps appearing each week. It must work for some people or I guess they wouldn't keep selling it, but it was awful for me and a huge step back for my skin.
I suppose a quick note about the system; its got a foaming cleanser, a toner and moisturiser. I went through two and half bottles of the foam and two of the moisturiser and still had a third of the original toner left when I threw it all out. It doesn't smell unpleasant or leave your face feeling sticky or anything, but the foam doesn't wash all your makeup off and considering I have fairly oily skin that rarely feels tight, it did leave my cheeks feeling taut and uncomfortable one more than one occasion.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/10/2011 3:32:00 PM More reviews by girlsailor

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was seeing a reduction in my acne for the first few weeks of using these products and then all of a sudden it just got progressively worse. Since i've stopped using this and started a new routine my skin has improved again. Wish i'd never used this product in the first place! Wrecked my skin

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/30/2011 8:57:00 PM More reviews by Elliemathews

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have been using the ABS line for nearly a year. I have used all of the products available in the UK
Foaming Wash: I really like this, as it feels like it's cleaning the skin without tugging, itching, pulling and exfoliating the skin harshly. I also love the fact it is anti-bacterial.
Clarifying Lotion: I also like this product as it sweeps away all the dead skin cells and flakiness. Despite this, it can leave my skin painfully dry and tight (I have acne prone combination skin).
Spot Gel: I find this stingingly painful. Super harsh, and not particularly effective. Tis deffinately ruins under make up too.
Moisturiser: this is not moisturising enough. I have to use two 'coats' of this to gain any softness to my skin after all the above products,
Soap: not too drying, but also not as effective az the foaming wash.
Foundation: although this is a really good concept, I feel the colours are too orange based, and the product sticks and clumps on any primer that you use. Unfortunately there is no primer in the ABS line, so this product is very disappointing.
Concealed: too oily, doesn't blend well. Feels and looks heavy, too pink based so emphasises redness,

Hope this helps xxx

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/30/2011 7:46:00 AM More reviews by kay786

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

had a massive breakout so decided to buy the clinique anti blemish solution. For the first two weeks my face cleared up so fast and i was just in love with the product and then surprise surprise i started to get severe acne all over my face, like painful cysts. this really put me down. so i took it back and got my money back. worst product EVER.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/22/2011 11:34:00 PM More reviews by CamiChicken

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used this for 1 month , The first 2 weeks I didn't feel any difference between using this and my previous cleanser ( Vichy's Normaderm) I liked the toner until I read that it EXFOLIATES the skin I got worried about that because you're not supossed to exfoliate your skin everyday .

Then i noticed my face was getting so RED specially on my acne scars ! I don't know but I think It made my acne scars more pigmented.
According with others reviews this might have happened because these products are too harsh. I wasn't worried about trying harsh products because my skin is not sensitive, but with the time you really see the difference.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2011 10:22:00 AM More reviews by marieirvine

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I'm 43 and never had great skin. For the last year my skin has been the worst it's ever been and I'd resigned myself to the fact that it was hormones (I'm going through an early menopause). I've been using Estee Lauder Double Wear to cover up my poorly skin. Unlike the usual acne (forehead, noise and chin) mine was on my cheeks - horrible huge whiteheads that would erupt into spots, at one stage I counted well over 25! ES Double Wear was always great at covering up but I always hated the way it made my skin feel and after a 15hr day when I took it off my cotton pad was full of foundation - how can something that sits on your skin for that good allow your pores to breathe. Anyway I'd heard that clinique had brought out the anti blemish range and in desperation when I caught my reflection with the winter sun on my face I headed to the clinique counter.
The consultant sold me the whole range - foam, clarifying lotion, moisturiser and foundation -a pricey wet Saturday afternoon. She told me that I might experience more problems for the first few weeks as the the impurities were coming to the surface - and boy did I. My skin was the worst it's ever been and I almost gave up and threw in the towel and skulked back to ES Double Wear and my usual cleanser and toner. I stuck with it though and today is week 5 of using the range.
My poorly skin is the best it's ever been. All the whiteheads have gone and the product is even healing the red acne scars. I use a small amount of the foundation now and in a few more weeks I can imagine a day that I never thought I'd see - going out the house without make up on.
I love this product, I'd really really advice you to stick with it if you're experiecing break outs in the 1st few weeks it's the product healing you're poorly skin. I've never been so confident about the way look.
Good Luck x

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/30/2011 6:38:00 PM More reviews by sarah0717

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I have mixed feelings with clinique's anti-blemish set. Although, it doesn't cure my acne and I still have minor break outs it still helps control them from coming back which is good but, I wish it still had that solution to get rid of acne once and for all as I've been suffering since high school and although every new product seem to work they turn my skin to worse through a few months time.


This is my second set and because, of the VAT rise the product is getting quite expensive and by that time it does I won't be purchasing anymore as this only helps control my acne.


I won't recommened it for super-dry skin I have little eczema on my face and it'll dry out the skin but, the moisturizer is not bad. I think it should be looked into more to keep skin looking less flaky especially in the winter.

Is this review helpful? Yes No