MAC Satin - Orb

4.4

129 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/22/2010 12:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

When the SA picked this one out for me I was a little wary of trying it out, but I'm glad I did! I wanted something a little more exciting than my everyday Blanc Type (not that Orb is particularly exciting). This brightens up my eyes with a slight sheen. I'd buy it again.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS: Good pigment amount. Somewhat creamy and soft texture that's easy to blend cause it's a "satin." The wearing power was fine. Pinky beige highlight with no shimmer. MAC calls it "Soft Peachy-Beige."


CONS: For me, personally (I'm N15, leaning toward NC), this is a little too pink for a highlight. Reminds me of an old lady's compact powder, but maybe it's good for someone who isn't as pale or "neutral" as I am. Probably better a cool-toned person.


ALTERNATES: I prefer "Blanc Type because it's not as pink.


******This looks a lot lighter and somewhat pinker than this pic. shows, IMO.******

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2010 3:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I really love this. Depending on my look is use either this or brule as a highlightcolour (this is more pink, brule more yellow). Also pretty as a lidcolour for neutrallooks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2010 2:47:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Orb was the first MAC eyeshadow I ever purchased (along with Quarry). It is a very nice light, slightly peachy-pink skin toned shade on me, which is why I bought it. It's almost like a powder form of Painterly. I will often use it on its own, just with some liner, to make myself look more awake and fresh without looking like I've actually done anything or applied any makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2010 10:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

if you're debating between blanc type and orb, orb is "warmer." it's not as harsh looking as blanc type, which looks a bit chalky on me.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 8/11/2010 10:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Wonderful eyeshadow, I love it! since vanilla doesn't really work for me, neither does naked lunch. This one has quite a bit of peach, which looked too dark in the store but ended up being just perfect!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2010 1:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a wonderful colour for your eyelid if you are going for a natural look. I love this shadow and think it helps me a lot when it comes to any form of shadow application (dramatic, natural or funky). It's a very bright fleshy colour and gives a nice matte finish when applied. I use bare canvas in the paint pots from MAC to help hold my shadow colour so combing the two makes for a nice flesh tone on your lid (kind of like a bare canvas!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2010 3:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The MAC MA recommended this as a highlight (admitting that she doesn't like an obvious frosty highlight). At first I thought it was a little too natural for me, but it fast became my HG e/s. I use it as a wash to achieve any look. I use Kid in the crease when I go thick on the liner and it looks AMAZING. It can also be used when doing a smokey eye with Cork and Handwritten or Twinks and Sketch. The texture is amazing. I use it every day and it's definitely a permanent addition to my palette. Will repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2010 5:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Orb is a matte, very very light beige-peachy-pink (but mostly beige). This is hands-down my FAVE e/s to wear as a base underneath my e/s, and the texture is great, and goes on my somewhat oily eyelids very smoothly :) Although this is not an exciting shade at all, it is high necessary for me to always have available in my makeup stash :D I also use this to hi-light under my brows for a super subtle clean look, or to dust OVER more dramatic e/s to soften it to the perfect degree :) I love it!! For reference, i'm an NC30, asian, brown hair'd girl, w/ yellow/olive undertones :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 5/3/2010 5:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

lovely, i use this almost every day. very versatile eyeshadow, lovely all over colour, nice as a neutral highlight. if i could only have one mac eyeshadow i think it would be this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top