Caron Farnesiana

3.9

66 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/10/2005 3:41:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Farnesiana is a doughy, bitter almond pastry with just enough sweetness to make it "edible" but not so much that it's like rubbing sweet almond extract on your skin. Gourmand but sophisticated. It's nice but doesn't excite me for some reason, even though I typically love this particular fragrance genre.



on 11/6/2005 8:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I so wanted to love this, the reviews sounded great. I got a decant of the Parfum, and contrary to the reviews that indicate that its is almondy-marzipany, it is just full blown Parma Violets on me for the first hour. After an hour it does mellow and sweeten, but the first hour of dry, dusty violets makes it SO hard to wear. There is a slight similarity to Jour de Fete, both are bitter, but JdF sweetens to almonds within a few minutes, whereas Farnesiana sticks to bitter dusty violets for too long, and is hard work for me. damn skin chemistry! continued >>

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2005 8:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I haven't had a chance to try the EDP yet, but the parfum is extremely addictive. There are some days when it's nearly all I can think about. The opening of this scent is almost offputting to me, but after about half an hour, I get the softest, headiest almond-like scent. It's like being drunk on an almond liqueur. There is a similarity to Jour de Fete, which I also love, but this is more molten and less foody to me.


on 9/19/2005 12:58:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The sharp spicy/powdery opening of this felt like a slap in the face, so I almost wrote it off from the get-go. I'm glad I didn't succumb to the urge to scrub, though, because the drydown that occurs an hour or two later is simply heavenly. Carmelized almonds with a touch of ambery spice - delicious without actually seeming gourmand. It's cozy and comforting, but still grown up.


on 8/17/2005 7:09:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was under the impression that I *loathed* Farnesiana. I had heard rave reviews of this wonderful marzipan scent (slightly confused by the description of "crisp, floral" on the site). However, when I tried the edp it was neither a marzipan scent nor a crisp floral. To my nose it was an unspeakably foul artificial chemical concoction. The only possible similarity to marzipan would be something that a photographer had molded out of some sort of fake clay for a shoot. After my Caron conversion I realize that there can be a universe of difference between the parfum extraits and edps with many of the Carons, but some last vestigial instinct for financial self preservation still kept me from trying the parfum extrait of Farnesiana until recently. Fatal (financial) error. I am a committed addict of honey notes in fragrances and this is an absolutely exquisite honeyed almond, mimosa scent. It definitely is related to POTL, Rahat Loukhoum, L'A's Jour de Fete (far more interesting) and Mazzolari's Alessandro (less perfumey than Alessandro). It's an exquisite multifaceted fragrance. As it dries down different florals emerge - violet, iris and lily are most apparent to my nose, but the honeyed almond accord remains dominant throughout. Crisp it is not. For me it's the ultimate delicious gourmand fragrance. Gourmands often lack a certain sophistication and complexity - this does not. It's pure luscious, edible comfort, but doesn't make me feel like I've awkwardly reverted to being a teenager.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2005 5:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I purchased a sample of the extrait after smelling it on the wrist of the lovely mercurygirl. On me, however, it smelled as if I had decided to bake bread from scratch, only to abandon the starter for a couple of weeks in a swamp. Sigh. Off it went to MG but as I put it in its envelope I said "it's not you babe, it's me." Ah, my first George Costanza fragrance moment. 4 stars because it's Caron and they are top-notch artisans!


on 6/1/2005 8:48:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is absolutely fascinating because it's reminiscent of other Caron fragrances - I can smell hints of Fleurs de Rocaille, Nuit de Noel and Narcisse Noir - but it also has the whole POTL cherry almond thing going on. And it is powdery but for once it's good powder. I feel like a slightly louche baby who has been rolling in danish pastries! Only 4 lippies because it is so sweet it will probably attract wasps but it really is interesting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2005 6:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I didn't like this at first--but I gave it some time and now i am liking it very much. Very warm, sweet and sophisticated. To me it smells like a doughy, powdery vanilla extract--somewhat like jour de fete, but a nicer version of it.


on 2/25/2005 8:58:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Farnesiana... what can I say about it? Hmmmm, I haven't disliked a scent so much in a long time. Maybe this is what cyanide smells like, since some say it smells like almonds? Yikes! It smelled medicinal and chemical all at once on my skin. I bought it because I love almond scents, but this smells like a poisonous almond plant or some kind of chemical cleaning solution. I love L'Artisan's Jour de Fete so much, but I don't find this similar to it at all. I don't get much almond from it, to be honest. I'm sorry, but this is not something I could ever consider wearing on myself. It was harsh and I had to cover it up with lotion to stop smelling it. I don't know if it's the mimosa that is getting to me, but this is the second Caron after Nuit de Noel that has rubbed me very much the wrong way. So sorry I bought a whole bottle of this, and I had a sample too, and I still bought it based on the reviews here, believing I would try hard to like it, like I need more scents to love. Carons and Chanels are just not me, so maybe I don't like classic scents.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/16/2005 9:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

One of my 2 favourite fragrances (L'heure bleu being the other). It reminds me of marzipan, but the perfume has much deeper notes. A heady, warm, powdery fragrance. Ilove it


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews


Back to Top