August 1, 2014 | 1318 users online

Liquid - Clinique - Stay True [DISCONTINUED]



image 0image 1

rated 3.4(117 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 1 of 5 on 3/22/2008 8:43:00 AM More reviews by xxxlor241xxx

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I have oily acne prone skin and this makeup just caked and looked like an oil slick after 2 hours. If you have oily skin stay away from this, this did nothing for my skin and I think it broke me out.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/2/2008 11:40:00 PM More reviews by samanthaes

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

    I really really love this foundation.... I have tried EVERYTHING... I break out with MAC, and either look like a ghost or a orange yuck... hated Mary kay, wore revlon for years, BE, all of it, and this is amazing, it melts just melts into my skin, there is not much evidence I am wearing anything. At first I did have trouble with this staying so the lady suggested loose powder instead of pressed, and VIOLA.. all day coverage, no oiliness, no breakouts.. I LOVE IT.. i will repurchase. I am wearing stay beige. Only thing I would change is the package.. I don't really like the bottle. but i will get over it...:)

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/25/2008 1:21:00 PM More reviews by gagirl08

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I had high hopes for this foundation. I had researched it and it seemed to be perfect for me. So I finally tried it and it feels good on the skin and makes the skin matte (hence 2 lippies), but it did not cover anything! It looked like I hadn't even applied any make-up and I was left with ugly marks that needed to be covered. It is great if you don't want coverage and doesn't make you break out, but I need coverage and this was nothing of the sort.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 2/21/2008 5:53:00 PM More reviews by kei_fujo

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

    i was using revlon colorstay. i loved the coverage, but it was clogging me pretty badly. this offers medium to full coverage but feels much more breathable than colorstay. i don't like the bottle it comes in. it is kinda expensive compared to some, especially once you pair it with a powder, but over all i think it is so worth it. i love the coverage. hasn't broken me out or clogged me. the color matches me better than most that i have used. i will venture to say that i will make this my HG. i use it in stay neutral.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/6/2007 10:13:00 AM More reviews by bestscreennameever

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

    Sigh. I really really wanted to like this product. I have combination skin and am very fair (a cool toned PPP). Often the lightest shade in many lines is still not light enough for me. I purchased this in Stay Ivory, the lightest shade, and although I am pink-toned, this is WAAAAAY too pink on me. The color is very similar, in my opinion, to the lightest shade in Maybelline Pure and Maybelline Instant Age Rewind foundation. Now here's the strange thing about this foundation; it is supposed to have a matte finish. It DOES last many many hours and does not slide around; however, my skin looks totally shiny after a few hours. I don't know how the oil can poke through and yet prevent the makeup from sliding around, but that is what it seems to do on me. It did not break my sensitive acne-prone skin out, but it also didn't really cover any of my old blemish marks. I am going to try Superbalanced next because I have heard the shades are better (though I've also heard it's even worse at controlling oil--we'll see!).

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 7/31/2007 11:15:00 PM More reviews by Vac513

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

    At first when I tried Stay True in Stay Ivory, I thought it was perfect. I even ran out and bought a second bottle. But after a few weeks, I noticed that it was turning orange on me by midday. I've had other Clinique foundations do that as well, which I found to be strange. Plus, this makeup dried out my dry areas, but also didn't do much for my oily areas. I really felt as though the makeup on my nose was sliding off. This just won't work for me anymore - I never wear it and have instead switched to a lighter foundation that looks more natural. Needless to say, I won't buy this again.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 7/14/2007 1:43:00 AM More reviews by browneyedgirl80

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel



    Let me start by saying I have very fair skin and was guilty of the foundation line. Once I tried this product, I loved it because it blended in completely and looked natural. I have oily skin and this product goes on nicely without adding oil. Overall, I enjoy and its worth spending a little extra for.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 5/23/2007 12:10:00 PM More reviews by Passive

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I have mixed feelings about this product. Since it's my second foundation, I obviously don't have many experiences in this department. My first one was Shiseido's stick foundation. It hadn't much staying power, so I was on a seach for a new one. I went to the Clinique counter and was matched with their Stay Sunny (I have no experience with MAC so I can't really tell my shade). At first, I thought that this was perfect - colour and texture-wise.
    At home, I discovered that the shade is really pinkish naturally. I put some powder on top of it, and it was all good. I really like that smooth, dewy finish it gave my face. The coverage is also fairly decent, it almost hides my dark undereye circles. Although, when my undereyes are really dark, I need to put on a bit of concealer on top of it. It also is pretty blendable, although not that much - I have to put it all over my face though I really don't need it. It also covers my slightly pink cheeks. But from what I've read from MUA, I kind of expected more.

    After a couple of hours, maybe three or so, some of the product was gone. I wasn't really bothered then, I just dusted on some powder and off I went. Now, it's starting to bug me a bit. Staying power could be better.

    As for the price, i think it's not worth it. Then again, I live in a country where Clinique products are considered high-end, and so, the price is high. ;)

    I don't think that I'll buy it again, but it is a decent foundation, with a nice coverage and finish. But when you have oily skin, it tends to slip off your face. :)

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 5/11/2007 8:15:00 PM More reviews by chillo7

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I wore Clinique Stay Neutral...it was a good match for my skin. I could hardly ever feel it on my skin, and it seemed to do a reasonable job of covering redness. I stopped wearing it because I got tired of rubbing cream into my face. I was never very good at it and a lot of times it would come out uneven. I originally stopped using it because I wanted to try powder foundations in hopes that they would take less time/effort. Now I am trying to stick with more natural cosmetics, so I doubt I would go back to it. Truthfully, I am not sure how many synthetic chemicals are in this one, but based on other Clinique products I am sure its full of them.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/5/2007 6:45:00 PM More reviews by iberian

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

    I love it! My skin is light olive, very yellow and very warm (but I flush bright pink!) and Stay Sunny is absolutely a *perfect* match. It's impossible to tell I even have makeup on, and my hubby is astounded at my skin when I wear this stuff. It has a touch of pink undertone that somehow works on my weird colour. I know many reviewers have a hard time with Clinique's colours but so far this is the only moderately priced cosmetics line that matches my skin perfectly. I have decent skin to begin with, so I don't need full coverage but TM and sheer foundations just aren't enough sometimes. I have a few acne scars and sometimes redness on my nose and chin and this stuff covers it all very well. I only need to brush my t-zone with Clinique's Superpowder Double Face Powder in Matte Beige (another perfect match) and use Clinique's All About Eyes concealer (03 Light Petal), just a touch, under eyes and on a couple of prominent scars and I'm good for the whole day! My skin is quite dry, but my chin and nose get a little shiny after a few hours but at 33, I like the dewy look that gives me. So far, so good with this stuff not giving me any reactions. As I said in my review for the Superpowder, I've fallen in love with Clinique's makeup again, after not using it since I was a teen! My only gripe about this product - the bottle. I wish it came in a squeeze bottle, not a glass one with a screw top, but you can't have everything. **UPDATE** So this weird pinky colour is just too far off the mark for me. I noticed it makes my face look darker than my neck and chest - not good. I still like the foundation, so I will try a different colour and see how that works.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No