October 22, 2014 | 1141 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Great Lash Lots of Lashes

rated 3.5(359 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2014 5:20:00 PM More reviews by lakshana1

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loveeee this mascara!! I wouldn't recommend if you don't like wet mascaras. It darkens, volumizes, and lengthens with just two coats. I fond it holds a curl well and lasts throughout the day. The bristle is great for lower lashes too. Plus, at most stores its only 4-5$!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/18/2014 9:07:00 PM More reviews by xxxkatiexxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I'm really surprised that there are so many negative reviews on this. This was recommended to me by a friend an I'm so glad she did! I really like it. I've never tried the original great lash but I've tried great lash curved, which I didn't really like. The wand is a bit awkward at first but once you get the hang of it it's really good! I have kind of small eyes so extremely large brushes get mascara all over my eyelids which is really annoying and this brush is small so I didn't have that problem. The brush might be too small for someone with super long lashes. I have pretty straight somewhat long and thick eye lashes. They are like translucent at the ends so they look super short without mascara.This makes my eyelashes pretty long and full and isn't to clumpy (especially if you use a lash comb) The price and packaging is also great (no pun intended) it didn't hold curl very well (maybe the waterproof would be better?) but other than that it's a very good mascara! I might repurchase but I get kind of ADD when it comes to mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/12/2014 9:13:00 AM More reviews by the_duckie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

It flakes like crazy! I am Asian and have short, straight eyelashes. The tiny brush was extremely helpful in getting all the tiny lashes on the corners of my eyes, but the formula is extremely wet. My lashes start out looking very long and thick (spider-like - it tends to clump lashes together), but not even halfway through the day, the mascara has settled onto my face, causing unsightly raccoon eyes. :( Any sort of moisture would cause the formula to flake or melt.

After two months of use, the flaking has gotten so bad that I started noticing that my sclera (the white parts of my eye) was consistently red and itchy. I wondered if it was from the mascara flakes getting into my eye, so I went to school without the mascara one day, and my eyes felt a lot better. Verdict: flaking is bad and causes eye irritation.

Too bad the formula is so wet and flaky, because I like the mascara brush/wand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/2/2014 2:33:00 AM More reviews by Shellziebellzie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

As an asian woman with extremely short, sparse and unyieldingly straight lashes, this works better than most drug store brand mascaras that I have purchased. It certainly does a good job of lengthening and thickening my lashes, but be prepared to purchase a high quality lash curler, as this product did nothing at all to give my lashes a flicker or curve. Despite that little con, there is little I have to complain about it. The brush is a little unusual, but is perfect for lower lashes and those stubborn little lashes at the edge of your upper eyelids. The formula is slightly less viscous than most mascaras, but given ample amount of time to dry, works absolute wonders. Would definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/25/2013 3:53:00 AM More reviews by graceybaby8

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was surprised I actually liked this mascara. I hated the maybelline great lash original because it did diddly squat for my eyelashes. But this one with the heart shaped brush really separates and lengthens my lashes. It keeps my lashes curled as well. I bought mine on sale for $3.99 CDN too!! It won't replace my ysl babydoll but at least now I know I have a drugstore mascara I can buy when I'm in a pickle. Also people thought I was wearing fake lashes when I had this mascara on. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/26/2013 5:45:00 PM More reviews by haleyhay

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I really like this mascara. I've tried a lot of different mascaras and this one's real good. The brush is an odd conical shape; at first I was unsure about it but now that I'm used to it I really like it. The shorter bristles give really nice volume and the longer ones on the outside give length so it makes really beautiful fanned out lashes. This has never clumped on me, and never runs or flakes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/8/2013 10:45:00 PM More reviews by TheMickster

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This was a pointless purchase. I used it a few times and it's been laying in the bottom of my makeup bag untouched ever since. I found this strange brush to be difficult to work with. The formula was very wet which I usually don't mind but this seemed like it never dried. Smudgy. I'm a pro at applying mascara and I just couldn't manage to get this one right. It clumped if I added a second coat before waiting for it to dry and so next time I waited. It was still clumpy when drying between coats. I would not repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/29/2013 11:16:00 PM More reviews by zayntomlinsonx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I love this. I have really short and thin lashes and I find that if you use this mascara the proper way it gives you huge lashes and it really separates your lashes nicely. I find that it looks a lot thicker and longer. I find that if you build this mascara up it looks really defined and I also like that fanned out kinds look so I would buy this again for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/25/2013 3:06:00 PM More reviews by inthemindsofangels

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm on my second tube of this mascara and I think that tells enough. The rubbery type of mascara wands always seem to work better for me; they seem to separate my lashes more. The Great Lash mascara has been on the market for almost forty years now and has been an American favorite for just that long, but I was never too impressed with the wand and formula. It's way too wet.

This mascara has exactly the same formula but the wand is different, and that really influenced the application. When I first tried it, it was very wet and clumpy and I didn't like it one bit, so I set it aside for a week or so. Upon revisiting it, I had long, separated, fluttery lashes that gave almost a cat eye effect. The volume wasn't super intense, nothing like the drama of Dior Show or Falsies, but it's a really nice mascara to pair with your favorite everyday eye look. My personal favorite is to pair it with a bit of brown eyeliner, CC cream, and a nude-pink blush and lipgloss.

I think this is a mascara that works best with girls and guys who have short but plentiful lashes; it really coats the lashes and almost extends them to give fluttery, playful eyes. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/23/2013 9:33:00 PM More reviews by itsiliii

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

So I was shopping one day and decided I wanted to try a new mascara, I look over and saw this little thing. Was going only for about 3 dollars. Yep, the price is what drew me in.

When I first used this I ABSOLUTELY hated it. The formula was way too wet and as a result would make my lashes clump like there was no tomorrow. Not to mention I was not accustomed to the brush.....the brush on this thing is very, very different from a lot of mascara wands. It's heart shaped, and on the outer corners the bristles are longer and in the center they are short. As a result I was completely confused as to how to use it and hated it.

Anyways I've been trying it and after about 2 weeks, the formula has gotten much better to work with. Still pretty wet but better, and after a couple more practices i've also gotten the hang of how to use the wand. As such, I absolutely love this mascara now. It's super black and gives lots of length and moderate volume only in about two coats.

AWESOME, i would recommend but only if you like wetter formulas and if you're down to try such a dramatically different wand!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No