December 21, 2014 | 1682 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Great Lash Lots of Lashes

rated 3.5(367 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/19/2014 4:15:00 PM More reviews by Judeanna

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I like the Great Lash Lots of Lashes for several reasons. With the small brush it is easy to apply to every lash. I tend to not like large, thick brushes, as I have sort of puffy eyelids and the large brushes poke me in the eyelid at the lashline. I apply my mascara after my eyeshadow (and liner if I'm wearing it that day) and before my tinted moisturizer and blush.

I like the formula, as it's neither too wet nor too dry. It's probably a bit thicker and not quite as wet as the original Great Lash. It smudges less than the original Great Lash and also makes my lashes look both long and thick.

It also comes in black brown, which I prefer to ultra black or blackest black or carbon black or whatever version of darkest black they sell.

I've bought this several times. It works very well for me (naturally curly, thicker, longer, light colored lashes). I'll buy it again as long as Maybelline keeps producing it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/10/2014 8:13:00 PM More reviews by AJ3141

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm almost done with my second tube of this and am planning on buying a third soon. The brush on this mascara makes my lashes look so long and lovely. One coat makes for a flattering natural look and two makes a slightly bolder look for nightlife. When using the trick of looking down into a mirror and then applying this mascara with long strokes, it looks like I'm wearing false eyelashes! For $5, it is absolutely perfect.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/10/2014 12:05:00 AM More reviews by vic3toriac

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the ONLY mascara that I tried that works on me! I am born with thin, striaght, barely there lashes and this has the tiny brush needed to coat every one of them without turning my lashes chunky. Remember, this mascara is for those with thin short lashes like me. People with the opposite are much better off with a mascara that uses a bigger brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/9/2014 1:23:00 PM More reviews by Angelseleena

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

HG. Honestly my FAVOURITE. Packaging: the same hot pink & green tube. It's super cute & definitely catches the eyes. Price: super cheap and his is great considering the products is amazing. Product: the formula is wet but this works for me. I have thick black lashes, and this lengthens and volumizes like no other in 2-3 coats. It doesn't clump on me at all and it holds a curl really really well. Everytime I wear this I get asked if I am wearing false eyelashes. Definitely going to repurchase. I'm on my third tube.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/5/2014 10:27:00 PM More reviews by aknakano

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

First off, I have thick, black eyelashes. I also have somewhat oily skin. I know I am allergic to Elf's liquid eyeliner and Revlon's Lash Potion mascara.

To me, there are two major things when it comes to mascara:
1) Formulation
2) Packaging/Brush

1) Formulation: I actually had no huge issues with the formula. I was able to curl my eyelashes, and then use coat them in this. (I do not use any sort of primer.) I was surprised that I didn't end up with dark raccoon eyes. The smell isn't anything remarkably good or bad. I do feel like it does take awhile to dry, so I can imagine if you didn't have crazy-thick samurai hair like me, that this formula might be too wet for you.

2) Packaging/Brush: Okay, here's where I docked off a star. (Very few products deserve 5 stars in my eyes, so 1 off of four.) The tube itself is the standard, square prism hot pink container that the older Great Lash tubes were. Nothing exciting or innovative or bad. But this brush is not a traditional spiral wand. Let me describe it before I comment. The brush in conical in overall shape, and the bristles are of uneven length. If you look down the wand (with the tip pointed at your face), you'll see eight lines of longer bristles (four on one half, four on the other), and in between these two "sets" of long bristles, there are lots of SUPER short bristles.

I guess I'm a little old school, but I cannot really manage this rubber wand. I can understand that the conical shape would ideally let me get my inner eyelashes with the tip, and the longer eyelashes with the broader part of the cone. In practice, I kept ending up with too much product on the tip. So my inner lashes are heavy, and clumped together. And then I get mascara on my inner eye, so I have to let it dry and go back to square one.

I have experienced some allergies with liquid eye makeup, and I like the formula, so I don't want it to go to waste. Lately I have been using a cleaned-off spiral brush to apply this, however there is really something to be said about being able to use a product with the applicator is came with. :/ Once it's gone I think I'm going to try something new.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/24/2014 1:56:00 PM More reviews by rhody

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Horrible mascara. It should be called Lots o Clumps instead. It clumps, and flakes like no other mascara I've ever tried. Flimsy wand, weird brush. I used this maybe 5 or 6 times and threw it in the garbage - it's that bad.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/24/2014 1:05:00 PM More reviews by SamJoRand

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For the price, you can't beat it. For everyday lashes, it gives you volume & length and doesn't clump very much. It's the only mascara I've bought since it came out

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/20/2014 10:00:00 AM More reviews by stewartmolly

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite mascara! I have tried so many. even high end ones but nothing compares to this and nothing can beat the price

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2014 5:20:00 PM More reviews by lakshana1

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loveeee this mascara!! I wouldn't recommend if you don't like wet mascaras. It darkens, volumizes, and lengthens with just two coats. I fond it holds a curl well and lasts throughout the day. The bristle is great for lower lashes too. Plus, at most stores its only 4-5$!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/18/2014 9:07:00 PM More reviews by xxxkatiexxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I'm really surprised that there are so many negative reviews on this. This was recommended to me by a friend an I'm so glad she did! I really like it. I've never tried the original great lash but I've tried great lash curved, which I didn't really like. The wand is a bit awkward at first but once you get the hang of it it's really good! I have kind of small eyes so extremely large brushes get mascara all over my eyelids which is really annoying and this brush is small so I didn't have that problem. The brush might be too small for someone with super long lashes. I have pretty straight somewhat long and thick eye lashes. They are like translucent at the ends so they look super short without mascara.This makes my eyelashes pretty long and full and isn't to clumpy (especially if you use a lash comb) The price and packaging is also great (no pun intended) it didn't hold curl very well (maybe the waterproof would be better?) but other than that it's a very good mascara! I might repurchase but I get kind of ADD when it comes to mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No