November 26, 2014 | 1390 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Great Lash Lots of Lashes

rated 3.5(365 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/10/2014 12:05:00 AM More reviews by vic3toriac

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the ONLY mascara that I tried that works on me! I am born with thin, striaght, barely there lashes and this has the tiny brush needed to coat every one of them without turning my lashes chunky. Remember, this mascara is for those with thin short lashes like me. People with the opposite are much better off with a mascara that uses a bigger brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/9/2014 1:23:00 PM More reviews by Angelseleena

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

HG. Honestly my FAVOURITE. Packaging: the same hot pink & green tube. It's super cute & definitely catches the eyes. Price: super cheap and his is great considering the products is amazing. Product: the formula is wet but this works for me. I have thick black lashes, and this lengthens and volumizes like no other in 2-3 coats. It doesn't clump on me at all and it holds a curl really really well. Everytime I wear this I get asked if I am wearing false eyelashes. Definitely going to repurchase. I'm on my third tube.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/5/2014 10:27:00 PM More reviews by aknakano

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

First off, I have thick, black eyelashes. I also have somewhat oily skin. I know I am allergic to Elf's liquid eyeliner and Revlon's Lash Potion mascara.

To me, there are two major things when it comes to mascara:
1) Formulation
2) Packaging/Brush

1) Formulation: I actually had no huge issues with the formula. I was able to curl my eyelashes, and then use coat them in this. (I do not use any sort of primer.) I was surprised that I didn't end up with dark raccoon eyes. The smell isn't anything remarkably good or bad. I do feel like it does take awhile to dry, so I can imagine if you didn't have crazy-thick samurai hair like me, that this formula might be too wet for you.

2) Packaging/Brush: Okay, here's where I docked off a star. (Very few products deserve 5 stars in my eyes, so 1 off of four.) The tube itself is the standard, square prism hot pink container that the older Great Lash tubes were. Nothing exciting or innovative or bad. But this brush is not a traditional spiral wand. Let me describe it before I comment. The brush in conical in overall shape, and the bristles are of uneven length. If you look down the wand (with the tip pointed at your face), you'll see eight lines of longer bristles (four on one half, four on the other), and in between these two "sets" of long bristles, there are lots of SUPER short bristles.

I guess I'm a little old school, but I cannot really manage this rubber wand. I can understand that the conical shape would ideally let me get my inner eyelashes with the tip, and the longer eyelashes with the broader part of the cone. In practice, I kept ending up with too much product on the tip. So my inner lashes are heavy, and clumped together. And then I get mascara on my inner eye, so I have to let it dry and go back to square one.

I have experienced some allergies with liquid eye makeup, and I like the formula, so I don't want it to go to waste. Lately I have been using a cleaned-off spiral brush to apply this, however there is really something to be said about being able to use a product with the applicator is came with. :/ Once it's gone I think I'm going to try something new.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/24/2014 1:56:00 PM More reviews by rhody

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Horrible mascara. It should be called Lots o Clumps instead. It clumps, and flakes like no other mascara I've ever tried. Flimsy wand, weird brush. I used this maybe 5 or 6 times and threw it in the garbage - it's that bad.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/24/2014 1:05:00 PM More reviews by SamJoRand

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For the price, you can't beat it. For everyday lashes, it gives you volume & length and doesn't clump very much. It's the only mascara I've bought since it came out

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/20/2014 10:00:00 AM More reviews by stewartmolly

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite mascara! I have tried so many. even high end ones but nothing compares to this and nothing can beat the price

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2014 5:20:00 PM More reviews by lakshana1

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loveeee this mascara!! I wouldn't recommend if you don't like wet mascaras. It darkens, volumizes, and lengthens with just two coats. I fond it holds a curl well and lasts throughout the day. The bristle is great for lower lashes too. Plus, at most stores its only 4-5$!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/18/2014 9:07:00 PM More reviews by xxxkatiexxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I'm really surprised that there are so many negative reviews on this. This was recommended to me by a friend an I'm so glad she did! I really like it. I've never tried the original great lash but I've tried great lash curved, which I didn't really like. The wand is a bit awkward at first but once you get the hang of it it's really good! I have kind of small eyes so extremely large brushes get mascara all over my eyelids which is really annoying and this brush is small so I didn't have that problem. The brush might be too small for someone with super long lashes. I have pretty straight somewhat long and thick eye lashes. They are like translucent at the ends so they look super short without mascara.This makes my eyelashes pretty long and full and isn't to clumpy (especially if you use a lash comb) The price and packaging is also great (no pun intended) it didn't hold curl very well (maybe the waterproof would be better?) but other than that it's a very good mascara! I might repurchase but I get kind of ADD when it comes to mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/12/2014 9:13:00 AM More reviews by the_duckie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

It flakes like crazy! I am Asian and have short, straight eyelashes. The tiny brush was extremely helpful in getting all the tiny lashes on the corners of my eyes, but the formula is extremely wet. My lashes start out looking very long and thick (spider-like - it tends to clump lashes together), but not even halfway through the day, the mascara has settled onto my face, causing unsightly raccoon eyes. :( Any sort of moisture would cause the formula to flake or melt.

After two months of use, the flaking has gotten so bad that I started noticing that my sclera (the white parts of my eye) was consistently red and itchy. I wondered if it was from the mascara flakes getting into my eye, so I went to school without the mascara one day, and my eyes felt a lot better. Verdict: flaking is bad and causes eye irritation.

Too bad the formula is so wet and flaky, because I like the mascara brush/wand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/2/2014 2:33:00 AM More reviews by Shellziebellzie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

As an asian woman with extremely short, sparse and unyieldingly straight lashes, this works better than most drug store brand mascaras that I have purchased. It certainly does a good job of lengthening and thickening my lashes, but be prepared to purchase a high quality lash curler, as this product did nothing at all to give my lashes a flicker or curve. Despite that little con, there is little I have to complain about it. The brush is a little unusual, but is perfect for lower lashes and those stubborn little lashes at the edge of your upper eyelids. The formula is slightly less viscous than most mascaras, but given ample amount of time to dry, works absolute wonders. Would definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No