August 1, 2014 | 1254 users online

Lips - Burt's Bees - Rose Tinted Lip Balm



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.8(82 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 2/25/2012 10:25:00 PM More reviews by courtenayg

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I like the consistency of this product, nice and slippery on your lips. The flavour is good, subtle. The colour looks like I bit my lips, which is rather natural looking. HOWEVER, I don't think it's moisturizing at all. As soon as the product has absorbed, which only takes a few minutes, my lips were dry again. And once my lips were dry, the tint settled into the lines in my lips. Overall, I wouldn't re-buy something that involves so much reapplication.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/28/2012 3:46:00 PM More reviews by aljeca

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I like this! I read about this particular lip balm and colour in Glamour magazine (or possibly Women's Health?), it was rated as a readers favourite lip balm. I have purchased Burt's Bees shimmer lip balms in the past, but I never really loved the shimmer in them, lol, and they weren't very moisturizing. I get VERY dry lips in the winter and normally rely on the Blistex blue tubs to get me through the season. This is nice, though. I find it's moisturizing enough that I don't need to use anything with it. The colour is subtle but I can still notice the difference between it and my natural lip colour. It's very natural looking but healthy looking. I don't really like wearing lip gloss or lipstick (find they don't ever last and are therefore not worth it to me) but this I like and will continue to wear.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/30/2011 7:00:00 PM More reviews by theinfinitepet

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

The rose color for this lip balm is not too pigmented, but not too sheer. It is also a very nice, neutral color to wear during the day. The lip balm itself is very moisturizing. Overall I was pretty satisfied with the product, but I think that the price is a little higher than it should be.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 12/10/2011 6:38:00 PM More reviews by trickmaus

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I kept hearing amazing things about this, so I was really excited to try it. I ended up paying over 8 dollars for what I thought would be a chubby little lip balm - it ended up being the size of my regular chapstick. I tried applying it, and looked in the mirror - nothing. I couldn't tell any difference between my natural lip pigment, and where I had applied this. On top of this, it wasn't moisturizing at all. Like many Burt's Bees products, for me, the best part of this was the scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/30/2011 9:55:00 PM More reviews by ready2wear

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Other Eyes: Blue

This is quite a horrible lip balm. I gave it two stars because the color tone and pay off was more or less what I was looking for (it is very sheer, almost unnoticeable on the lips but it evens out the tone of my lips). However, it is terribly drying. After wearing this for an hour my lips are screaming for moisture and are peeling by the end of the day. I missed the period of time to return it, so just to use it up (since it was not as cheap as I would have liked) I have been putting it on over another balm, and even over a good balm this makes my lips DRIER than when I started. A lip balm should not dry out lips at all! Not buying this again and I probably will throw out the tube I have even though there is plenty of product left in it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/25/2011 7:06:00 PM More reviews by majanet

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Of the five I tried, this is my second favorite (after Pink Blossom) - and I think the reason is because of the production. Color is not uniform in the tinted balms - I am as pale as they get, and Rose should have had deeper, more uniform color than Pink Blossom. It did not. What color it did have was lovely. You should be able to put on tinted balm the way you'd put on chapstick, but the uneven color in the tube means you have to stop and check. As someone who can put on lipstick and stay in the lines without a mirror (Dave Letterman? I have your Stupid Human Trick of the Year!), I am not interested in stopping for something I bought at Fred Meyer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/16/2011 10:35:00 AM More reviews by amarna_princess

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I would have been mislead by the size of the product had I not shamelessly peeked before buying. >< This shows up as a pretty tint on me, some actual color! I wanted a rosy red balm, and here it is. Not too bright or warm, just rosy and healthy. Just a small amount of gloss, looks very natural. I wouldn't call this the most moisturizing balm, but it does add some moisture, I usually carry another balm with me just in case. The price is kind of ridiculous ($6.99 I think?) but I'd pay it for this color. Really. I would. Also has a light and pleasant sweet smell.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/5/2011 8:46:00 PM More reviews by dumpling

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I agree about the misleading packaging- you think you are getting a jumbo, chubby balm and instead you get a rather small, chapstick sized tube. However, that said I love this balm as it adds just the most most subtle hint of rosy colour to your lips - it is not a lipstick after all. If you want a more pigmented balm like product then try the Bobbi Brown or Laura Mercier equivalents, of course they are more expensive. I find that even though I have quite pigmented lips naturally, this just makes them look and feel so much better. I like that this very discreet and doesn't look like you are wearing make up , it isn't as gloosy as the Fresh balms and the colours are more muted perfect for days when you want a very low key , not quite made up look .

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/4/2011 10:29:00 PM More reviews by Loopachu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I was looking for a red or rosy balm that would add some moisture in the winter. On me, this hardly shows up, even if I pack it on, which is odd because it looks so red in the tube. The packaging led me to believe it was a much bigger balm than it is (it's chapstick sized).

It feels pretty moisturizing on, and has some kind of a fruity scent (I want to say cherry?) but I feel kind of silly paying $6.99 for glorified chapstick. If you want an appreciable red tint, give this a pass. A very light one, it might be up your alley.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/3/2011 12:19:00 PM More reviews by Chickadee

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this in a set with one of the Lip Shimmers in the skinny packaging. This is nothing like the original Burts' Bees lip balm. It's not minty, and it is somewhat drying on my lips. I much prefer the ones in the skinny packaging, they are nothing like this. The color is very pretty and natural, but what's the point if it messes up your lips and makes them dry?

Is this review helpful? Yes No