July 31, 2014 | 1922 users online

Lip Gloss - Almay - Pure Blends Lip Gloss - All Shades



image 0

rated 2.0(74 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.0
  • 20% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 1/2/2010 7:17:00 PM More reviews by amarna_princess

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I'm really on the fence about this. I purchased Petal, and in the tube it looks like a beautiful shimmery milky pink. On the lips, under ideal circumstances, it is beautiful shimmery milky pink! No complaints about the color. Price is to be expected for a drugstore gloss. Wonderful tangerine scent/taste. BUT, in order to actually squeeze out a gloss, rather than a "grease" as the other reviewers so accurately called it, you must give the tube a massage first. A good one. Texture after that is really pretty good, and it lasts. I give it a four because it is inconvenient. At least it is a hygienic application and it is eco-friendly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/19/2009 4:49:00 AM More reviews by mirrabelle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this lip gloss as an alternative to this pricey natural lip gloss I purchased from Aveda. I actually prefer the Almay organic version much more. I've noticed other reviewers have commented on the scent. When I first opened the tube, it smelled like orange creamsicles to me (?) so I don't know, perhaps we all have different sensitivities to smell. I use Peony, which is a great, light pinkish color. I like that it is not sticky, and lasts pretty well. I wear it over Dr. Bronner's lip balm, and it works fine. The one thing though, is that it does have a tendency to separate like other reviewers have mentioned. That's probably the only downside to this product for me. I will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/14/2009 9:54:00 AM More reviews by val445

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Literally the most foul lip gloss I have ever purchased...smells so chemical-ey which is ironic considering its marketed as "pure blends"/"Natural"....DO NOT BUY THIS!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/21/2009 1:45:00 PM More reviews by Marla20

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wouldn't buy this again b/c I'm 100% positive that there are better products out there... however the color in Petal looks GREAT on me (but again, I can find it elsewhere). I was really disgusted (like the other reviewers) when I first opened this and NOTHING BUT GREASE oozed out of the tube (I'm serious, I had to squeeze out about a 1/4 tsp. of grease just to get to any pink colored pigment in the product.) so I tried it after all that and felt gross all day... but then... the next day I decided to give it another shot... and somehow the formula thickened b/c I squeezed all the grease out (again, it's gross - I know) and it felt like a thicker lip gloss with better coverage and natural tinting. It's a pretty good nude shade for my lips! I like it a lot now - but the quality is sub-par and I can find better when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/29/2009 3:17:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

D-I-S-G-U-S-T-I-N-G. I only got this because it was free, thank God. This stuff is gross. I bought it in Nutmeg which was supposed to be a dark rosy brown. There's nothing dark and rosy about it. It's just brown. The product seperates in the tube, goes on runny, and smells gross. It makes my entire mouth taste like I've been chewing on plastic and cardboard. This is hands down the worst product I have ever tried. I'd give it negative lippies if I could. I'll be writing a letter to Almay to express my disgust in this product. This product is so bad I'm almost embarassed for them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/28/2009 1:55:00 PM More reviews by Grets

Age: Unknown Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I purchased this in Fig, because it was recommended by Allure magazine as being a natural-looking rose-colored gloss. Even though it looked brownish in the tube, I assumed it would appear rosy on my lips. Wrong! Thereís nothing rosy about this shade at all. Itís brownóand not a very pretty or natural looking brown either. I didnít have any problems with the gloss separating, but it looks more opaque on me than I expected. Also, it has an extremely strong plastic/chemical smell and taste thatís really offensive. Iím not exaggerating when I say itís absolutely sickening!! In fact, until I read the other reviews here, I thought I had purchased a bad or expired tube. This gloss seems to last a little longer than most, but the smell and taste are so repulsive, that I have to give this the lowest rating possible. I canít help wondering... how did the disgusting smell/taste get past the marketers at Almay??? Iím glad I bought this on saleóbut even at the sale price, this was a total waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/14/2009 2:30:00 PM More reviews by YummyRN

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Heather bruyere is my color and I really like this lipgloss, actually it's one of my favorite lipglosses. It goes well with brownish nude lip pencil. It's definately better than my MAC lusterglass I think.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/31/2009 8:52:00 PM More reviews by krumrill

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Good thing I got this for free. Target had Almay and L'Oreal HIP glosses on clearance so cheap, that with coupons I think I paid 20 cents for both. This is horrible. The first thing I noticed was the smell. It's so strong and discusting, it's like sour chemicals on your lips. The color wasn't all that great either. I think mine was called Nude, and it didn't show up at all on my lips. It was pretty clear, but made my lips look inflamed and red, when I prefer a soft, nude lip. Forget this stuff. It's not even worth buying on clearance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/31/2009 3:50:00 PM More reviews by SnapesLove

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

The color name is on top of the lid, not on the tube, for those who are saying that the color name isn't given anywhere on the package. I have this in Fig. I love the color, but, as others have mentioned, the smell is extremely off-putting. The product does separate, which has also been mentioned. When I first opened it and squeezed, nothing but clear oil came out, but after the clear, the color began to show, and I've not had trouble with it separating after that initial first use. It does feel nice on, and this color imparts a very pretty reddish/brown neutral that is nicely versatile. I took lippies off for the terrible smell. I would repurchase if I could not find another lip product with this same color, but if I could find another comparable color, I would not get this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/29/2009 9:33:00 AM More reviews by treschic101

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

this is the worst lip gloss i have ever used!! so a few months ago, i bought this in the peony shade. first of all, no color what so ever showed up. and don't get me started on the smell. it is horrible! not to mention the fact that i paid 9 bucks for a stupid lip gloss???! and about the packaging: it's cute, but the gloss is really hard to squeeze out. overall, worst lipgloss i have ever used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No