April 19, 2014 | 1784 users online

Conditioner - Trader Joe's - Balanced Moisturizing Nourish Spa Conditioner



image 0image 1

rated 4.4(75 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 84% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/18/2009 3:31:00 PM More reviews by NuMama

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have fairly healthy hair which I dye regularly. This conditioner works well, it moisturizer my hair and keeps it soft and shiny. As others have mentioned, it does contain parabens...I may not repurchase because of this. Too bad, it's a great conditioner at a great price ($3).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/28/2009 3:38:00 PM More reviews by juicycouture

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

the price on this conditioner is spectacular [$2-3] for one that contains so many natural ingredients. ironically, it contains methlyparaben & propylparaben at the end of the ingredients list. if you anti-parabens this may not be for you. for reference my hair is around 12" long, tightly coiled and prone to dryness and tangles. this conditioner is marvelous for detangling sessions. i dampen my hair, slather this on, and get to combing. with this, the comb/brush glides through my hair. i then rinse and continue on to my regular wash & condition. when i'm done my hair is moist and nicely detangled. this conditioner is also good for conditioner washes/no shampoo routines. i love this stuff and would most definitely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/7/2009 3:49:00 PM More reviews by eoifemacbeth

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I've waited until I've nearly finished a bottle of this conditioner to really give a solid opinion on it. And that opinion is---I LOVE IT! Potentially my HG conditioner. The texture is amazing; it feels thick and creamy, and sinks into your hair like butter without weighing your hair down or making it greasy. It rinses cleanly and makes my hair shiny, fluffy and frizz-free. It smells delicious, like a spa treatment (hence the name, I think!).


All that for $3/500ml? Yes, PLEASE!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/5/2009 9:07:00 PM More reviews by Momma2myQTZ

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Green

This did nothing at all for my dry thick hair. While this isn't drying it's also not moisturizing for me either, not anymore than the cheapest Suave would be anyways. I have been boosting by using L'Oreal nature's Therapy 3x a week also and I swear that this paired with the matching shampoo suck all of that moisture right back out. Maybe the key word here is "balancing" and with dry hair you just need straight up moisture, not "balance". I noticed that it contains citric acid, certainly not something that my hair needs on a regular basis. Maybe once a week while deep cleansing my hair, but this will certainly no longer be my daily conditioner. I will give this 3 stars only because it may be better during the Summer, or for dry hair w/ greasies, or fine hair, but certainly not for dry, thick hair in Wisconsin Winters.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/4/2009 3:38:00 PM More reviews by aneffigy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Loooove this stuff. I co-wash, so I use a VO5 conditioner to co-wash and then this as my conditioner. It smells delicious, contains tons of good stuff for your hair, and leaves my hair silky soft and moisturized. I had been having problems with my hair being weighed down by too-thick conditioners, but this never weighs my hair down.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/18/2008 5:30:00 PM More reviews by maddykins

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loved this stuff! My hair is long, and often gets dry, frizzy and damaged... I have to leave conditioner in my hair for about half and hour every time I wash it. I had tried the whole "not using shampoo/conditioner" for a month and instead using baking soda and apple cider vinegar, but that didn't seem to do so much... my hair just got frizzier and more tangled.
I didn't want to use products with any chemicals/sodium laurel sulfate so I decided to try this stuff out when I went to Trader Joe's, and I love it so much!!! It's probably as good as the bumble&bumble I used to use, and no chemicals....
My only complaint is that the smell is a little plain. Not bad, just not as yummy as some shampoos/conditioners. But at least nothing obnoxious, and it smells very clean.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/30/2008 3:15:00 PM More reviews by KingTaco

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I've been looking for 'cone-free conditioner, but they all cost a fortune. This however costs $2.99! And it does the job, although it's not super-moisturizing. That's okay, though, nor were any other other 'cone-free conditioners I've tried.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/23/2008 8:59:00 PM More reviews by Rapunzelle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

FINALLY!!!!!!!!

I found my HG conditioner!!!!!!!!

I used to have the most beautiful waist-length golden blonde hair. Unfortunately, because of stress, it started changing texture (from thick and smooth into brittle frizzy cotton candy texture) and breaking off in chunks. I was eventually forced to chop it off at chin length, but even then it continued to break off. I've spend the last few years trying to get it to stop breaking so it can start growing my hair back.

I've tried everything. EVERYTHING: drugstore, high end salon brands, natural stuff, essential oils, even a horrible green mask that left my hair smelling like garlic for over a week. Biolage, k-pak, purology nanoworks, tigi, redkin, etc etc etc. None of them did much of anything. I used ShiKai for a while, which finally gave me very positive effects and made my hair stop breaking and I've been able to grow it to just past shoulder length so far, but after a while my hair started feeling dry and brittle again.

I've recently found that my hair likes silicone free products so I decided to try Trader Joe's Nourish conditioner after reading all the positive reviews. WOW!!!!!! I can't believe how soft and touchable my hair is! The ends don't look parched! It doesn't break off at the slightest tug!!! I was tempted to review it after the first time using it, but I like to wait a few weeks before I review anything. Several weeks later, this is still as wonderful as it was the first time I used it.

I use it in conjunction with the matching shampoo, which is also wonderful (and free of harsh detergents btw). It's white coloured, thick and creamy without being heavy. It smells like heaven! I don't usually care for fruity scents, but this is so light and pleasant and refreshing. It's rather melon-scented with a touch of green and an aquatic finish (i know that sounds a little weird, but i could seriously sit around and just smell this stuff).

It provides a wonderful slip, especially considering it's silicone free. It has plenty of wonderful natural ingredients and leaves my hair looking and feeling moisturized, soft, bouncy, and shiny. my SO can't stop touching it and neither can I. I haven't had touchable soft shiny hair for years.

I have a lot of hair so it feels thick, but actually the strands themselves are medium-fine and I'm amazed at how this conditioner doesn't weigh my hair down in the least.

I only wish TJ's made a deep conditioning treatment for this line, and maybe a leave in spray as well.

I use a touch of coconut oil on the ends if I need an extra touch of moisture (also a miracle product). I will continue to use this and update if there are any changes.

plus, it's only $3 a bottle!!!!!!! Definitely a refreshing change from the $50 a bottle for nanoworks.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/9/2008 2:38:00 PM More reviews by liznewark

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This conditioner is wonderful! It's inexpensive, moisturizes my dry, kinky-curly hair! I washed my hair and used this conditioner, because I didn't have time to deep condition. My hair was super soft and moisturized!! Definitely an HG conditioner and it has nothing but good for your hair ingredients!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/26/2008 2:03:00 AM More reviews by ruqayya33

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

This is my HG co-wash conditioner!!!! I love how it cleanses my BSL curly hair and adds moisture. Only drawback... it doesn't work for me as a leave-in too, unlike Elucence MBC does. Price is grrrrreat at $2.50!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No