Annick Goutal Ce Soir Ou Jamais

3.7

107 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/3/2006 8:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love the name. I love the idea. I love the first few minutes of what is a pleasant, light rose scent. Then......jam. It turns inexorably into rose/strawberry jam, sweet and cloying. I think of CSoJ as 'Ce Soir ou Jammy', so pronounced is this disappointing effect on me (other rose frags do the same, so it's a chemistry thing, I suspect). On others, I think this would be a delightful summery scent. Alas.



on 2/3/2006 7:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Another one I reviewed as snakeskin, but my opinion changed enough to warrant another review, since I can't edit the previous one. On my second attempt at Ce Soir ou Jamais, the sour wine/ashtray accord was absent, and the soapiness was within acceptable levels. I do agree with many reviewers that this is not a glass-smashing, ultimatum-giving rose, but a fresh, cheerful pink rose.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Like Northender, my nose detects wine and roses. I love it!
I would wear it in the evening, perhaps to a romantic dinner.


on 10/25/2005 4:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This one was extremely heavy & heady on me. I really can't describe it now since I tried it long ago and didn't want to try it again. It was an 'old', musty, almost dirty scent on me. Not alluring at all. NOTES: Turkish Rose, Jasmine, Ambrette Seed.


on 9/28/2005 1:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Mmmm. This smells like rose attar and honey. I know it's not listed in the notes and no one else has mentioned it, but I get a *lot* of honey from this.


on 9/20/2005 8:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Non merci!, not tonight or any other night - JAMAIS. Le yuk


on 9/2/2005 11:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff smells like wine and roses. Magnificient on hot day. I'm not crazy about the bottle, which looks a little old-lady.


on 7/24/2005 11:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A nice pink rosebush sent with a weird winey-animalic base note. Not for me since I'm not a rose fan, unfortunately. And for the price, I think I've found better rose scents (try Les Parfums de Rosine). Average. Some notes: rose, jasmine, ambrette. EDIT: This is better than just your average rose scent, and in fact it rivals anything in the Rosines collection. It's lovely and sparkling, not old or musty in any way. I like it!


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

In spite of the all-or-nothing ultimatum this perfume's name asserts, the declaration made here is not that of a high-heeled demand, one that would think naught of throwing a crystal glass at a wall, shattering with a shriek and icy shards. Instead, Ce Soir is a cool, green-toned rose that mercifully avoids the brimming nosegay nostalgia that is the ruination of so many other rose scents, that lace handkerchief-and-blush reference that is apparently meant to convey wistful femininity. Ce Soir remains aloof from these mistakes, sunning itself in close proximity to a leftover glass of decent Merlot into which the heat of the day has wilted so that the vapors of the alcohol blow warmth and a slight indecency over the pattern. Underneath, a sly fox hides amidst the bramble, unfazed by the presence of a few thorns.
Do not tarry with the EdT; the EdP is the only formulation worth pursuing here.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2005 2:31:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wearing Ce Soir in EDP for the first time has had me in a sensuous swoon of dark,luscious rosiness all day,inducing deeply feminine feelings. I may even have tossed my hair at one point. If I start stroking the side of my neck all is lost.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
340 Reviews
Light Blue
1409 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top