Yves Saint Laurent Nu

3.8

91 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/20/2005 7:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This has the best packaging, and the fragrance is pure sex appeal. Smells classy and very sensuous.



on 7/13/2005 3:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Cedar City.


on 7/2/2005 5:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Ten years ago I would have loved this fragrance. That was during my femme fatale phase where I wore nothing but heady orientals. Since then my taste has become a little more broad and, dare I say, sophisticated, and Nu no longer appeals to me. The idea of it does- cedar, spice, incense, pepper, orchid, leather- but there's just something in it that I don't like. At first instance I detect something really stenchworthy, like dog poo and sweat, then it softens and becomes something else repellent- like a musty, locked-up old house- so that's probably it. At any rate, I'll not be rebuying this.


on 6/23/2005 1:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

well, i am not usually wishy washy, but i keep going back and forth about this. it has many moods, some of them downright cheap. when you initially put it on, it is SO strong - and i am not a shy perfume girl, i love chyphre, woods, orientals. i think it is the cedar that is somehow offensive. there is a smell that is just dirty here. and in the middle there is some odd chemical that wakes me up, like a hum/buzz in the background.

but when it warms up, i smell vanilla, and that smoky incense. i love cardomom, and was hoping i'd get a very clear hit of that, but the spices are enveloped in something sweet.

this is the most androgynous scent i've used, and it is new to me - i just got it today. i'll wear it tomorrow with the proper attire and see how it grows.


on 6/10/2005 11:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

IT'S A MORE GROWN UP SCENT, I BOUGHT IT FOR ME BUT GAVE IT TO MY MOM, IT SMELLS NICE ON HER SINCE SHE LIKES OPIUM.THESE ARE PERFUMES WITH CHARACTER.


on 5/19/2005 5:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I found this at Marshall's today for a really good price. The only problem is I bought it before I sampled it.

I left the store, opened the package and spritzed a tiny bit on. I then turned right back around and returned it!

On my skin, it reminded me of a 7th grade guy that goes overboard with Drakkar or something.


on 5/4/2005 5:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This review is for the edp (I also love the edt and plan to get it for layering). This is the most gorgeous tainted incense scent I have ever smelled. Merely the mention of wild orchid describes the mood for me. Apologies for not writing a more content based review, but this one makes me emotional:)
Super sexy, weird packaging which somehow fits, keeps my nose glued to my wrists...reminds me of the hottest nights out I've ever had.
Presented by a Serge Lutens/ Shiseido SA at the Berlin Galeries Lafayette, it was like being given a jewel. Nursed a sample and bit the bullet buying the purse size spray (30 ml), even at a discount I find it slightly pricey for a non-niche or a mainstream perfume.
It seems, and I hope, it is here to stay. Mysterious, alluring, brooding, spot and bang on IMO, a bit heavy handed and brash, but sweetly, like a swath of dark blue envelopping satin silk.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this EDP at Marshall's for about $11 and all I have to say is, this is the best buy of 2005 for me. Starts out with a sort of in your face peppery cardamom leather and has the most gorgeous dry down, but I all get is a creamy sandalwood, which is fine by me. I didn't get the sweat or anything vile. I can smell the sandalwood the next morning. The bottle is way cool, super easy to tote in a purse, not that you need to touch this baby up very often. If it's discontinued, I'll weep.


on 4/29/2005 3:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Awesome, awesome scent here. I am reviewing the edp. It goes on with a very heavy pepper and leather/cedar smell. The drydown is probably the best i have ever smelled in a perfume. It's very smooth and creamy. I guess its the orchid in it. This perfume truly evolves the longer you have it on and thats what i love about it. This is a little similiar to DK's Black Cashmere but the drydown in Nu is MUCH nicer. I consider this to be unisex scent and could be a men's scent even. I have heard that this is discontinued but i hope its not. I would be very disappointed if it is. Oh, one more thing, be careful with the trigger on this one because a torrent of juice comes out when pressed!!!!


on 3/26/2005 11:43:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Heavy on the cedar. Smells a bit like cedar shavings from a gerbil terrarium, which may not be a bad thing in someone's mind. Only a wee bit sweet. You get a carrot-cakey overtone to the cedar. You have to love the wood scents to go for this. The bottle is wild -- unique. Four weeks later: this stuff on drydown is pure dynamite. I have ha dmore compliments. On drydown it is cold, woody, a tad mineral-like and it has that Passage D'Enfer aura.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Light Blue
1410 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top