November 28, 2014 | 1830 users online

Polishes - OPI - Black Onyx

rated 4.1(75 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 72% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 3/18/2008 11:40:00 PM More reviews by lilgraci

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this because I saw it applied on someone else and I loved that it was a perfect black creme that had a lot of shine! However, when I got my own-- I realized how GOOPY and THICK it was. Yuck.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/27/2008 2:50:00 PM More reviews by listenlikethieves

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I suspect the people who are really excited about this polish aren't black polish conoisseurs, because though I normally love OPI, Black Onyx is mediocre at best. A good black polish should go on opaque in one coat and look like black PVC with two and a top coat. Try Bloody Mary's black polish (or the one from the health food store line No Miss, really) for a black polish that doesn't go on watery or streaky. This is a disappointment, because I love the other black from this line, the more or less hematite-grey Black Satin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/26/2008 11:44:00 AM More reviews by Lv2Cheer81

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I am a bit of a nail-junkie, so I know what i am talking about here! I only buy OPI polishes, because it's worth the money to me. Black Onyx is a great, pure black. If you love the dark nail trend, go get this color immediately (although it is tough to find). It does take 2 coats to achieve the bottle color, but that is the case with all brands. It lasts forever with a top coat, like all OPI polishes. I have already repurchased this because I broke my first bottle!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/5/2008 10:35:00 AM More reviews by spamdy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Love this nailpolish, goes on smooth (maybe a little liquidy), I need about two layers of polish to get the colour I want , but I've had it on for about 4 days and I only have one chip. Lasts way longer then the cheaper brands I've tried, will defintely buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/10/2007 9:36:00 PM More reviews by PerfectManicure

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

Creamy, opaque, true black; dries to a shiny finish. You'll need at least 2 coats (or 3 really thin ones) to achieve the colour of the bottle -- so don't despair when your first coat results in transparent charcoal, it does build to a true rich black. Glides on without streaks; lasts for days without budging. I won't repurchase because it's just too much; it'll look fine for a night out dancing but for everyday it's just too...well, black. But if that's what you're looking for then this is your shade.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/10/2007 12:15:00 AM More reviews by bonita29

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a black nail polish and while some people may think that all blacks are the same it isn't true. This one goes on so smooth and streak-free. The new wider brush really does make for a flawless application. I cannot comment on how long it lasts w/out chipping; but I just painted them yesterday and so far so good. I love it and highly recommend to any female that likes black nail polishes other than on Halloween. I would and probably will repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/29/2007 6:11:00 PM More reviews by Cymbaline

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I had this color done for a pedicure this weekend and I love it! It's such a deep, rich color and it looks very sophisticated. I admit I had it done mostly for Halloween but I think I'm going to buy it to use for now on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/14/2007 11:43:00 PM More reviews by shutupk

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I agree with the below review. I thought it was incredibly thick, and took forever to dry. Once it did dry it looked horrible on my nails. After I was done I ended up noticing a bunch of smudges on my fingers of the polish. I doubt I'll go back to Black Onyx, it just didn't do what other OPI nailpolishes do for me. :(

Also - It took me FOREVER to get my bottle open, Ugh I had to use one of those nutcrackers to get it open and by the time it did get open the cover is all chewed up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/24/2007 10:38:00 PM More reviews by blackeyedgirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Black Onyx is a glossy, true black but it has a horribly thick, gloopy texture. Maybe I bought a bad bottle because my other OPI polishes have a thinner consistency and are much easier to apply, which is a shame as this is my favourite and most used colour. It also seems to take longer to dry than the others.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/23/2007 1:59:00 PM More reviews by Chucky76

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Pure black cream, and love the ProWide brush. I don't really wear black polish, but I love painting my nails with a certain color and then paint black diagonally. I wouldn't repurchase this, as I found out that China Glaze Liquid Leather is blacker and shinier.

Is this review helpful? Yes No