July 25, 2014 | 1018 users online

Sunscreen - DERMAdoctor - DERMAdoctor Body Guard Exquisitely Light SPF 30 [DISCONTINUED]



image 0

rated 4.1(68 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/20/2006 7:34:00 AM More reviews by foxxxy

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    Yes.. I love this stuff. Does not make my acne-prone skin break out, and leaves a matte finish which my oil-prone skin needs. Dries quickly, so it's perfect for under makeup. And at the price of $25 for 4oz, I would use it for my arms and legs in the summer as well.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 4/5/2006 10:08:00 AM More reviews by peacefulheart

    Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

    I got this in a trial size and must say I love it so much, it is almost gone! As a 51 year old, fair complected, cool-skin person, I always need protection from the sun and everything I have tried has always left oilyness. Not this! I use it on my face and neck. Wonderful!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/29/2006 10:46:00 AM More reviews by alohadiva

    Age: Unknown Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Finally! A broad spectrum sunscreen gentle enough for the face and with oil-control properties too. I don't think that any product can completely eliminate excess oil production - as if a topical application can alter that portion of your DNA, but this certainly helps. $25 for 4 oz is not a bad deal at all.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 3/18/2006 12:25:00 PM More reviews by molie

    Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    Good sunscreen, but full of parabens!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/9/2006 4:38:00 PM More reviews by Labelladiva

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS SUNSCREEN!!!
    I just recently started using sunscreen and this is the only one that stands by its promise. No oiliness, No white streaky residue, No irritation. I am acne-prone no oiliness and no irritabiity is huge plus for me when buying products. But I definitely recommend you moisturize before putting it on because I did notice it can be a little drying but hey I am not complaining. I would definitely buy this again and the packaging is so cute. very girly.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/1/2006 4:17:00 PM More reviews by dcbroom

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I really like this sunscreen. I have skin that is kind of dry and flaky after I cleanse in the morning, but it gets oily throughout the day. This sunscreen offers just the right amount of moisture for me, without making me oily. I have had a lot of sunscreens breakout my skin, this one has not been a problem. Nice smell, texture, finally a sunscreen that I will repurchase!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/13/2005 1:06:00 AM More reviews by divafx

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

    I really like this sunscreen. The first time i applied it i was left with a shiny face despite the fact that i didn't feel like i had anything on my skin. The second time I figured out to use much less (you only need 3 pea sized amounts on your three middle fingers). Once i got the dosage correct this sunscreen was a miracle worker. Not only did it feel like i had nothing on but it created a nice base for my makeup. It seemed to work as a makeup primer, combo skin moisturizer, and sunscreen in one. I kept getting compliments on how smooth and even my skin looked. Once i learned to lower the amount I applied i got the semi-matte finish that is advertised with this product. The greatest thing about this product is the fact that it soaks up extra oil in my oily spots without leaving my dry spots parched. My skin tends to be super sensitive and very acne prone but I haven't had an sensitivity or acne problems with this sunscreen. This is quite possibly the best sunscreen i've ever used. I love that it also has antioxidants to protect my skin in addition to the sun protection. I also love that this really feels like there's nothing on your face, you aren't left with that heavy greasy feel. I really love this line and i love this product!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 12/10/2005 4:45:00 PM More reviews by bumblebeezer

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Well i was excited to try this but was let down. Doesnt have stable protection (but i was willing to compromise if the finish was really good) and it gave me this really greasy finish for some reason. Like right after i rubbed some all over my face I would have to use an oil absorbing sheet, and the oil or whatever from it would fill up the whole sheet! and i noticed I have to blot more during the day when I use this. Not the silky matte finish I was looking for.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/27/2005 11:45:00 PM More reviews by sll74

    Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

    this is a nice sunscreen. it feels pretty good. it's not as mattifying as they make it seem but it's nice and leaves no white cast. it's a spf 30 which is good for me since i use a lot of products that recommmend a sunscreen daily. i like that i can buy it at sephora. the first time i bought it was on-line because i didn't know i could get it at a store. i hate paying shipping so if i repurchase i'll go to sephora. i say if because i've used kiehl's sunscreen and it's water based and works pretty good and is cheaper but pretty much the same ingredients. i like that this is formulated by a dermatologist. oh and the key to it working is to use a little bit...if you use too much it is greasy (like any other product would be)

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 7/10/2005 6:03:00 AM More reviews by poprocks86

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    IMHO, Body Guard is probably the best sunscreen out there. I previously used Clinique brand sunscreens, but switched over to Dermadoctor's permanently. I found that Clinique's sunscreens are extremely think and made my skin very greasy feeling and I did not feel clean...sort of like when you're standing around humid weather and you get this yucky, sticky, filmy feeling on your skin. yuck! I found that BG was extremely light. On my body (I sort of have dry skin), it worked great and felt like just a normal moisturizer, which is good. You don't get that yucky sunscreen lotion feeling on your body. Glides on easily and absorbs quickly. On my face, worked great as a moisturizer. I sorta felt greasy on my combination skin, yet left a nice glowing effect on my face because the product leaves your skin sorta shiny. And other great thing is that it did not make me breakout at all. Supposedly, BG helps w/ acne (or so I have read). But holy! VERY expensive. $25 for only 4 oz. Although pricey, worth every penny. Wish they'd come out w/ a bigger size.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No