Bobbi Brown Beige Shimmer Brick Shimmerbrick

4.3

184 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/1/2007 10:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For reference: very light PPP (lightest foundation shade, cool, pink undertones with redness on the cheeks and nose), blonde hair, hazel eyes.

I've owned the Brownie, Beige, Apricot, Rose and Pink shimmerbricks, and this is my fourth favorite.

As a pure highlighter, this is very nice. I find that it adds a nice sheer layer of finely milled shimmer, so it will work nicely over your favorite blush. However, it is NOT pigmented enough to wear on its own (like the Brownie shimmerbrick), or even add an extra punch of color to your favorite blush (like the Rose or Apricot shimmerbricks).

Compared with other sheer highlighters I've tried, I would rank this over MAC's Pearl Blossom beauty powder (too frosty), and NARS Albatross (too chalky and white).

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 11/23/2007 12:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Great natural highlighter, I use this at the top of my cheek bones and as eye shadows. Looks really nice when applied as eyeliner with a small smudge brush on the inside corners of eye. The beige colours go with anything, I intensify with deeper shadows for a more smokey look. I've had mine since 2005 and have almost used it up will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2007 12:03:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This product makes a lovely highlighter for my PPP skin ... I dust it along the top of my cheekbones, along the edge of my jawline, and down the bridge of my nose. That said, I've not found that the darker "brick" shades work particularly well as an eyeshadow as they just don't seem to have enough pigment for that purpose.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2007 10:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Finding the right color for you skin is really important for shimmer bricks. I tried on the other shades, and beige really blends into my skin (NC30) whereas the others looked as though they were just sitting on top of it. I only use this at night, and even then I use it sparingly. It really does make you glow as if you're in candlelight. Looks great alone or on top of a matte blush, like MAC Prism or BB Rose. EDIT: I like Smashbox Soft Lights much better and I won't repurchase this.


on 9/24/2007 1:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love, love this!! I bought the BB Beige Shimmer Brick Compact 3 years ago and it was my first highlighter. It gives such a nice glow to the skin and it's also beautiful used as e/s.
I'm an NC15 - NC20 and the Beige shade is perfect for my skintone.
I agree with what Queenofdisaster wrote about the MAC MSF, they contain a lot more heavier shimmers than the Shimmer Bricks: that's why I prefer BB products for daytime and use my Msf with a very light hand for the night. Would I buy this product again? You bet!!


on 7/28/2007 2:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Another lemming of mine, only to be disappointed. I love BB SB's, but this Beige one was way too light for me to justify keeping it, as I find it less desirable than my MAC Shimpagne and BB Sandstone SB. The color payoff was way too light for me, as was the Rose and Pink SB's. I'm not looking for a face full of shimmer, but this did nothing as far as highlighting for my skintone (NW30) to warrant me keeping it. It is beautiful to look at, but just not for me. Luckily I received this in a swap, but if it did show some color payoff, I wouldn't have minded paying the $38 USD for it. As with all SB, they will last a long time, so investing in one is well worth it, if you find a color that works for you... IMO :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2007 3:07:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I just bought 2 of these a few days ago, and really love to use this shimmer over my Bare Minerals makeup for added glow. I do confine the shimmer to my eyes and cheekbones for a nice sunny look in the daytime, but at night, I brush it very lightly all over my face. Wow! It makes me look like candleglow! I thought the brick was pretty small (compared to Lancome's, for example), but now I see that it should be used sparingly. You don't want to stop a deer in its tracks, you just want to glow "delicately". Because of the small size, I bought 2, so I guess I won't run out anytime soon. I'm a green-eyed blonde with light skin, so I'd rather avoid a heavily made-up look, but I don't tan very well and need some light color. The Bare Minerals and this beige shimmer brick help cut down on my usual summer "ruddiness" and cool down my skin tone beautifully. I love Bobbi's Stonewashed Nudes eyeshadow palette and bought 6 of them, just because I knew they'd sell out and I wanted to make sure I never run out. I will probably go back to Nordstrom's and buy a couple more of the Beige shimmer bricks for that very reason. I've found a great look and want to have it for awhile! Major thumbs up for this gorgeous, neutral shimmery powder, and hats off to Bobbi's fab neutrals and nudes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2007 8:55:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I LOVE THIS STUFF! It makes my skin look absolutely radiant and gives it a soft candlelit glow... it's amazing. I can totally tell a difference when i'm not wearing it... my skin doesn't have that dewy glow! My shimmer brick actually broke into a million pieces.. but i'd still buy it again despite the fragile packaging... each brick is quite thick so it's got a lot product for your money.... Definitely HG status for me!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't think I will run out of this anytime soon, but I'd like to say that I would repurchase since I also don't see myself getting tired of it either. I was using MAC's Mineralize Skinfinish in Shimpagne as my highlighter, and decided to try this instead. The shimmerbrick gives a more beautiful and flawless glow, whereas the MSF is more of a heavier shimmer, and it's definitely more shiny than the shimmerbrick, it can look a bit gawdy. The shimmerbrick is a bit expensive ($38 USD) but I'd say far worth it compared to other similar highlighters. It blends wonderfully, and really finishes off the face, IMO.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2007 8:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

While I loved using this product, it crumbled and broke apart (and I didn't drop it or otherwise handle it roughly). It's a shame because I think it's really pretty, but it became unusable.




Back to Top