August 29, 2014 | 1836 users online

Cleansers - Desert Essence - Thoroughly Clean Face Wash with Organic Tea Tree Oil and Awapuhi



image 0image 1

rated 3.6(289 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/30/2011 1:03:00 AM More reviews by alauha94

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I like this face wash. I don't like it as much as my Giovanni D:Tox system facial cleanser, but I use this if my face is drier than usual. It works great with my clarisonic classic. The oil and whatever else comes clean off. The smell is kind of weird but not bad, and it doesn't break me out at all! I use a moisturizer after this, but I don't think it's drying like other reviews said. I don't like the pump because it clogs and starts squirting all over the place. This cleanser is a LIQUID - not a gel or anything. I just put it in a newer bottle and it's fine!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/18/2011 9:05:00 PM More reviews by chloeavalon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

loved the smell and clean feeling of this cleanser but just too drying on the skin. Makes for an awesome foundation brush cleaner though :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 11:04:00 AM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really love this stuff and use it after my regular cleanser at night to remove the oil and dirt from my face. I like the clean feeling I get from using it. It can be a bit drying at times, but nothing a bit of moisturizer can't fix.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/14/2011 2:54:00 AM More reviews by shortea

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I used to use this product all the time (because I was on some sort of organic craze) anyway, it worked really good! Though it can be a bit drying (especially for my already dry skin) so be sure to moisturize after using. I don't use this face wash anymore, though I let my friend use it as a body wash when he got poison oak and it helped get rid of it! Way to go TTO! This product tends to coagulate in the dispenser, causing it to spurt out so be careful and do NOT point this at your eyes in case that happens!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/18/2011 7:13:00 PM More reviews by saraarod

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this product because I absolutely am obsessed with their daily facial lotion. Unfortunately this made me break out. Complete let down.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/6/2011 10:57:00 AM More reviews by vapplegate9

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My favorite face wash of all time. I've been using this for 3 years, and don't think I'll EVER find a product this good.

You can see the difference after one use. You can either leave it on for a deeper clean, or use quickly for every day. It cleans EVERYTHING off your face and heals acne soooo quickly. The only downside is that it can be hard to find these products. Anything made by this company is incredible. I just turned my best friend on to this wash and she will never go back as well. Seriously...try this stuff.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/23/2011 5:54:00 PM More reviews by mambrose

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

My face has never felt cleaner than after using this cleanser! I mean its really squeaky clean although it is a bit drying. I would take the advice on the bottle and avoid use on the eyes, it definitely stings/burns. I've been using another cleanser as a makeup remover at night and this in the morning with good results.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/16/2011 6:53:00 PM More reviews by ncdc83

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Have purchased this several times, usually switch around on face washes but will sometimes go back to this one. Dirt cheap, a little goes a long way and natural. Downside is that it is drying on your skin, and my skin is oily, be sure to moisturize afterwards. Helps my breakouts and I get that squeaky clean feeling. I don't think it smells the greatest but it is tolerable.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/28/2010 11:42:00 AM More reviews by lesca

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I desperately wanted to like this product: a) super cheap, b) a little goes a long way, c) TTO! How could I go wrong?

Oh, how wrong. First off, this is a Castille soap, which makes it very, very drying to begin with. Add some TTO, you've got overly dry and irritated skin. Awapuhi is a Hawaiian species of ginger; great for soothing stomachs, not so great at soothing the skin. Basically, a recipe for disaster, at least on my combination skin.

I will say this for the soap: it cleans everything off. I mean seriously everything - long-wear mascara, waterproof eyeliner (of the UD 24/7 or MUFE Aqua Eyes caliber, even), etc. Once I realized I couldn't use this on my face comfortably, I started using this to clean my makeup brushes. Best decision ever.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/21/2010 11:52:00 AM More reviews by lianegraham

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I will start by saying that I do not use this cleanser every day. I used to have stubborn adult acne that I have pretty much entirely cleared up thanks to my beloved HG Avene Cleanance Soapless Gel Cleanser. However, I do still get the occasional hormonal or stress related breakout, and when that happens, I turn to this. My old benzoyl peroxide cleanser/mask stopped working and is too harsh for my skin, now that it is no longer covered in hideous pimples. The first time I washed my face with this cleanser, I was unsure. It's so runny and the smell is so pungent that I worried the tea tree oil would be too harsh. However, after I rinsed, dried off and applied moisturizer, my skin felt like butter. I've seriously never felt my skin so soft in my entire life. My face was glowing!
In short, I really like this stuff as a blemish treatment, but unless your face is super oily I would not recommend using this daily. Definitely better than that worthless salicylic acid!
The packaging kind of sucks, though. I would recommend dumping it into a foaming bottle.
The price is right, and it's really effective, but I want to stress that NO product is for everyone, so if it didn't work for you that doesn't mean the quality of the product is poor.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No