December 19, 2014 | 1549 users online

Cleansers - Desert Essence - Thoroughly Clean Face Wash with Organic Tea Tree Oil and Awapuhi



image 0image 1

rated 3.6(291 reviews)

Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/14/2011 12:28:00 PM More reviews by mcthc

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

HG face wash. I have oily skin and you can't beat the cleaning power of this cleanser. Really good for acne - the tea tree oil really dries it out. I like that tight, squeaky-clean feeling afterwards. Yes, you have to follow up with a moisturizer but you should be doing that anyway.

This is a liquid cleanser, so if you're not careful you'll spill it. I like to put it in a foaming pump bottle which makes it easier to use.

Others don't like the scent of Tea Tree Oil, but it's fine with me.

By the way, you can get the economy refill size (946 ml) for a little more than the price of a regular pump bottle (250 ml).

Have tried other more expensive cleansers but keep coming back to this one. Definitely buy again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/10/2011 7:32:00 PM More reviews by jiegao8

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Although it's now summer and my skin is more oily than usual, but this cleanser dry my skin pretty badly; even more so than anything I used before. For those with very oily skin, I can see how this might be a good one, but like most people already pointed out, it's definitely not recommended for dry, or perhaps even normal skin. A moisturizer is a MUST after cleansing with this product. It will take off everything, and I literally mean everything on your face, which is bad because it stripped your skin of natural oil. Unless you feel that it truly balances your skin, again I would not recommend anything that make your face feel tight and dry. Regardless of skin type, the best cleanser should be gentle and not irritating.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/30/2011 1:03:00 AM More reviews by alauha94

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I like this face wash. I don't like it as much as my Giovanni D:Tox system facial cleanser, but I use this if my face is drier than usual. It works great with my clarisonic classic. The oil and whatever else comes clean off. The smell is kind of weird but not bad, and it doesn't break me out at all! I use a moisturizer after this, but I don't think it's drying like other reviews said. I don't like the pump because it clogs and starts squirting all over the place. This cleanser is a LIQUID - not a gel or anything. I just put it in a newer bottle and it's fine!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/18/2011 9:05:00 PM More reviews by chloeavalon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

loved the smell and clean feeling of this cleanser but just too drying on the skin. Makes for an awesome foundation brush cleaner though :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 11:04:00 AM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really love this stuff and use it after my regular cleanser at night to remove the oil and dirt from my face. I like the clean feeling I get from using it. It can be a bit drying at times, but nothing a bit of moisturizer can't fix.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/14/2011 2:54:00 AM More reviews by shortea

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I used to use this product all the time (because I was on some sort of organic craze) anyway, it worked really good! Though it can be a bit drying (especially for my already dry skin) so be sure to moisturize after using. I don't use this face wash anymore, though I let my friend use it as a body wash when he got poison oak and it helped get rid of it! Way to go TTO! This product tends to coagulate in the dispenser, causing it to spurt out so be careful and do NOT point this at your eyes in case that happens!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/18/2011 7:13:00 PM More reviews by saraarod

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this product because I absolutely am obsessed with their daily facial lotion. Unfortunately this made me break out. Complete let down.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/6/2011 10:57:00 AM More reviews by vapplegate9

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My favorite face wash of all time. I've been using this for 3 years, and don't think I'll EVER find a product this good.

You can see the difference after one use. You can either leave it on for a deeper clean, or use quickly for every day. It cleans EVERYTHING off your face and heals acne soooo quickly. The only downside is that it can be hard to find these products. Anything made by this company is incredible. I just turned my best friend on to this wash and she will never go back as well. Seriously...try this stuff.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/23/2011 5:54:00 PM More reviews by mambrose

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

My face has never felt cleaner than after using this cleanser! I mean its really squeaky clean although it is a bit drying. I would take the advice on the bottle and avoid use on the eyes, it definitely stings/burns. I've been using another cleanser as a makeup remover at night and this in the morning with good results.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/16/2011 6:53:00 PM More reviews by ncdc83

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Have purchased this several times, usually switch around on face washes but will sometimes go back to this one. Dirt cheap, a little goes a long way and natural. Downside is that it is drying on your skin, and my skin is oily, be sure to moisturize afterwards. Helps my breakouts and I get that squeaky clean feeling. I don't think it smells the greatest but it is tolerable.

Is this review helpful? Yes No