April 23, 2014 | 1973 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Matte - Espresso

rated 4.5(184 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/28/2011 12:55:00 PM More reviews by MermaidTears

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I love polished eyebrows and use Espresso to fill mine. It's the perfect shade, looks natural, and lasts all day. It's also great as a natural liner and allover the lid. It's a medium/dark neutral brown.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/30/2011 1:27:00 PM More reviews by danimaria

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Great for eyebrows. Very natural and soft. I also use this instead of an eyeliner sometimes for a softer definition around the eyes. I really like this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/24/2011 9:08:00 PM More reviews by MaNDiiB00

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Perfect matte brown! I use this on my brows also and it looks soo natural! Very blendable. Great for a brown smokey eye!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/14/2011 4:48:00 PM More reviews by xoxmelissaa

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used to use this Espresso to fill in my brows until I got tired of seeing pictures of me looking like I have really light eyebrows or barely. I have black hair so it looked really weird. My eyebrows are a little bit sparse so that's why I filled them in, but it ended up looking worse when I filled it in. Wrong shade for my eyebrowss.

This eye shadow is perfect for a crease color or outer corners for perfect natural look.

I wouldn't recommend this eye shadow if you have black hair and you want to fill in your eyebrows (only if you have black eyebrow hairs). But just as a normal eye shadow to use on your eyes, I would totally recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/9/2011 5:00:00 PM More reviews by depczydo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is my go-to shade for filling in my brows. I've over plucked in the past so of course my brow growth isn't very even, but this is amazing for making it look like I have perfect brows. I recommend this shade to anyone with dark brown eyebrows...you won't regret it! Like others have said, it's a good crease color and also good for pulling off a daytime smokey look. Very natural looking and flattering. (I'm NC35 for reference)

ADD: The amount in the pot is very generous considering I use it every time I apply makeup and I've had this pot for about a year and a half (or longer...it's been a while!) and I don't expect to repurchase until the holiday season at the earliest. A little goes a long way!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/4/2011 7:47:00 AM More reviews by queenbee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love Espresso! One of the best eyeshadows I have ever bought! I am an NC42/44 and it looks great when I use it for neutral looks or even smokey looks with a little bit of black added on top. I used to have cork and it doesn't really show up well on my skin (thanks to the Sales assistant that recommended it to me). This eyeshadow blends well and I use for other things like filling in my eyebrows when I've ran out of my eyebrow pencil. Will re-purchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/7/2011 10:45:00 AM More reviews by realpeak

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Green

I use Espresso mainly to fill in my brows (works well - I have very dark brows) but I also occasionally use as a crease colour too. It is ever so slightly red but barely noticeable. It can be a little difficult to blend but with a bit of patience can work very well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/25/2011 3:44:00 PM More reviews by draginl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i wanted to like this. i really wanted a matte brown crease color, with the least amount of red tones. this is so non-red, it's practically grey when it goes on. a little too grey for me. im still using it but i'm on the hunt for something else. it's really hard to blend too! and once you put the color on, it's impossible to blend out so you have to apply this very carefully. i think i'm going to try mac's brown down next...or maybe a nars shadow. when i run out of this in a bajillion years, i wont buy another one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/27/2011 12:04:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Espresso is now a color I cannot live without. Back in the day matte colors did not appeal to me. I thought they were boring, chalky and unflattering. Since Espresso has been in my life my opinion is quite the opposite. I was given this shadow by an aunt of mine who swears by it. Hesitant to try it, I didn't touch it once until she saw that I hadn't used it. I let her put it on me and when I saw the results I was pleasantly surprised. She put a light shimmery white on my lid, Espresso in the crease and filled in my brows. I was shocked because brow colors are hard to find with my dark hair. It looked PERFECT. Now I use Espresso everyday, for my brows and my crease. If you're getting a few basic shadows from MAC I recommend this 100%.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/13/2011 11:11:00 PM More reviews by Bambie_Blonde

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Other Eyes: Green

I absolutely love Espresso as a crease color :) Its the perfect dark brown that can match with any lid color- anything from neutral to bright. I do admit though, that Espresso is slightly hard to blend. The only way I can get any rich pigmentation out of this is if I use a sticky base like NYX's Jumbo Pencil in Milk- otherwise, it goes on very sheer. I have tried so many other dark brown eyeshadows, but none of them compare to this color wise. Most of the darker brown eyeshadows I have tried tend to go on very muddy, or are just not dark enough. My favorite eyeshadows to pair with Espresso have to MAC's Club & Honey Lust- I still have to try some other combinations, but this is so versatile! I even love smuding this onto my lower lashline- it looks heavenly =) I would give it 5 stars if the pigmentation was slightly better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No