September 21, 2014 | 2091 users online

Skincare - Body - Weleda - Sea Buckthorn Body Oil



image 0

rated 4.7(64 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 92% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/12/2006 8:35:00 AM More reviews by zeebrat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love this!!! It has saved my superdry flaky scaly legs! Yes that's gross but I no longer have it!!! For some strange reason the driest part of my body are my knees downward and it got so bad that I could just flick my nails over my legs lightly and get a shower of dry skin! It was horrible, disgusting and there was nothing I could do. I tried everything but nothing seemed to work until I read the reviews for this and decided to be a MUA lemming and try it for myself. That was two weeks ago and I have to say I AM GLAD I BOUGHT IT!!! It's the start of winter here and getting colder by the day but I HAVE NO SCALES! My knees, shin, calves and feet and soft and smooth with no sign of any dry flaky skin at all! Incredible? Yes, and I am eternally grateful! Will be buying a couple more bottles soon as it looks like this will last 2-3 months tops. I also have not had a problem with the packaging. No slick bottles :P BUY IT!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/11/2006 9:26:00 PM More reviews by MermaidMinxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I absolutely love sea buckthorn oil and could literally bathe in it. This oil is wonderful. I makes my skin so moisturizer and super soft. I even use this on my scalp to encourage hair growth and in my hair as an overnight conditioner. I love this stuff sooo much I bought 12 bottles for half the price on ebay so I'll never run out. the only thing I don't really care for is the smell, it's not unpleaseant but i don't like anything to compete with my regular perfume. However, the scent fades pretty quickly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/24/2006 5:23:00 PM More reviews by furiousjen

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Great product for anyone but especially if you have skin problems like psoriasis. Smells wonderful, sinks in well...it's "happy" smelling and great for winter. The only problem is the packaging, which looks cute but is prone to spillage. The bottle gets a film of oil on it after you pour it into you hands which is kind of gross and you have to clean it constantly. But the glass bottle and metal tubes associated with Weleda ensure that the product keeps well so I won't complain too much. Another great Weleda product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/28/2006 7:46:00 AM More reviews by travelhi

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is both a plus and a minus for me, depending on which part of my body it is applied. On my neck, shoulders & chest, its wonderful as I have eczema and it reduces redness and even causes those "sweat acne" that develops as a result of exercises or hot weather to disappear within 24 hrs of application. I only used it on those parts of my body as my eczema is pretty bad on those spots. I also tried it on my Face. The results are good for the papules & pustules arising from rosacea, in fact miraculous cos it disappears within about 3 to 5 hours. I was very Impressed by the therapeutic properties of sea buckthorn oil. I also applied it all over my Face. This is where the problem sets in. At first, my face was very well moisturized. After about a week, my face got very dry. I know sounds odd becos its supposed to be moisturizing. I stopped applying on my entire face. I suspect I may be allergic to sesame oil on my Face only. But for my body, sesame oil is OK. Not sure whether my theory is correct. Don't want to risk further dryness so am sticking with the remainder of my precious oil on my neck & chest. This is a very pure sea buckthorn oil as you can see from its bright orange color. That's what the sea buckthorn berries look like, bright orange. Next purchase, I will drop the oil and purchase the lotion instead which is cheaper and may perhaps may not have such an adverse reaction on my face as it contains less sesame oil.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/3/2006 1:46:00 PM More reviews by information3

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

UPDATE: 02/26/08 I just burned by hand by accident with hot water from the water heater (oh, ya know, I only had the water at 195C) and naturally it stung and the skin on my fingers and back of the hand went all *red*. The only other time I've gotten burnt was when I was a kid and touched a hot stove. Vaseline? that's what I had on my hands when I was a kid. But this time I rubbed on some of this oil and 20 mins later my hand is back to NORMAL and no more stinging sensation. Awesome stuff!
ORIGINAL REVIEW: I am loving this oil. I was a bit afraid of the color it might leave my skin but reviewer jiney below didn't have any problems with it so I went ahead and so glad I did, even tho there were only 19 reviews (I only purchase based on MUA reviews if the rating is high AND if there are many many many reviewers). 19 must be lucky number because I was also able to find it for $19! (I did take off one lippie because it would be nice if it were always 19$ instead of the regular $25 which I think is a bit steep). Except skin food, I did not think I would find anything else in the weleda line that I would love. Tho I found many good contenders in the department of creams to battle dry skin, this oil wins hands down. The citrusy smell (oranges) does fade and is not strong at all (not that it's unpleasant). It absorbs really well, especially after a shower, and doesn't feel greasy. It leaves my skin noticably smooth and flake free all day. Also just as important, it also doesn't seem to give me any bacne! whew!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/30/2006 7:25:00 PM More reviews by oaski

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

i use this body oil daily, morning and night. i think it's wonderful. i saw a vast improvement in my skin texture and tone within just a week of using this oil all over. i also use the matching hand cream, which i am addicted to applying!
the scent of this line from weleda smells of sweet fresh oranges, which isn't overpowering, and fades nicely. it's very refreshing yet relaxing. this is a thick orange colored oil, it calms my skin wonderfully without build up. it's helped even out the color of my skin, and leaves no oily residue after application. the oil is best applied whilst the skin is slightly damp, after a bath or shower. this seems to help the oil to spread nicely and disappear almost instantly into my skin, leaving it soft and smooth all day long.
any dry patches i had have cleared up, too!
very good, natural, organically grown, and not tested on animals!
i find this oil to be a much easier product to use than buying oils and mixing my own. the only problem i have with this product is that i find the application to be quite messy - as with all weleda oils, i end up having oil all over the bottle and my makeup/skincare shelf, oops! i think the dispenser on the bottle may need rethinking, or maybe i should just improve my technique!

i hiiiighly recommend this product to even those of you with sensitive skin.
i have quite dry, extremely sensitive skin. i use shea butter on my dryer areas, after applying this oil and they seem to work very well together.
xxxxxx

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/15/2005 9:10:00 AM More reviews by jiney17

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I took a lippie off for the packaging. The oil is in this thick, dark brown glass bottle that looks like it came from an apothecary and is rather awkward to handle--maybe it's designed to keep the oil 'fresh' for longer, but it's a wonder the heavy thing hasn't yet squirted out of my oil-slick hands. In any case, the product itself is lovely--a thick, marigold-colored oil that somehow feels luxurious and velvety rather than greasy. It sinks in easily enough with a bit of rubbing; skin is left soft and smooth. The scent--spicy blood orange? Orange syrup? It's something like orange peel and is somehow warm and cozy as well as fresh. It's not too pricey, though the bottle isn't very big. I think I'd run out quickly if I used this all over, everyday. But the scent is wonderful and different (though it doesn't last particularly long) and is the main reason I'd buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/6/2005 11:31:00 AM More reviews by makeupmavenn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for about a week now, on my forever scaly,flaky,lizard-like legs, and I have seen a huge improvement! The packaging is not that great (a pump is a must for any kind of oil for me) but the product is wonderful. Smells like fresh oranges to me...yummy! I apply this fresh out of the shower, and my skin is so soft and silky!! This oil is like a dry oil, it absorbs right away, and doesn't leave an oil slick on your body. Again, HG, and I love Weleda!! No animal testing, and all natural ingredients...what more could a girl ask for?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/20/2005 8:13:00 PM More reviews by Ms_Bobbalina

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is behalf of my own scaly, ashy dry skin, and my father's. First me, it soaks in quickly and leaves my skin looking healthy. I only use it on arms and legs and very dry patches when I'm in a climate like that. Amazing. Really some of the best heavy duty moisturizing I've ever used. Now my Pops, he's had some chemo that's left his skin miserably itchy. This gives him some relief too! Excellent oil.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/19/2005 4:35:00 PM More reviews by Angelic80

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I bought a sample of this first and now I'm hooked. The scent is so fresh and uplifting, and the oil seems to have a warming effect. It makes my skin glow and it's a real pick me up in autumn and winter. The only reason why I didn't give it a 5 is because my lower legs seem to need a little more moisture than this oil can provide. Other than that it's perfect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No