July 28, 2014 | 2041 users online

Treatments (Eye) - The Body Shop - Fragrance-Free Elderflower Eye Gel



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.2(76 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/19/2008 12:55:00 PM More reviews by seramadis

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I used this a few years ago and I didn't like it at all, but maybe I just wasn't using it for what it was meant for. I was looking more for a rich moisturizing eye cream to take away fine lines and prevent wrinkles, and I didn't notice any difference in that with this cream. It tightened the skin and had a cooling effect, but that wasn't what I was looking for. Probably a good gel if you want something to tighten and firm your eye area and calm, soothe and cool and refresh, but it definitely is not a moisturizer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/13/2007 12:33:00 PM More reviews by gingerrama

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Other, Fine Eyes: Green

One of the Body Shop classics. A great thing to keep in the refrigerator at all times, just in case. It's a light gel, to pat around the eyes, and is super refreshing. Great after a day at a computer. The small tub lasts for a very long time. Many other companies make similar refreshing gels, but IM humble O this is the best. And one of the cheapest. The other best and cheapest is St Ives Cucumber & Elastin gel.

Best kept chilled; another tip - precede this with cold teabags. Take two teabags: of the round variety and containing normal caffeinated black tea; either old pre-used ones or fresh. Run them under the cold tap, so they are cold and wet. Place on closed eyes, and keep them there for about 5 minutes. Remove, and pat the elderflower gel around eyes. Even more refreshment.

Note: this is an eye gel, for soothing and tightening; it's not a moisturising cream. At all.

Costs around EUR 7.50 / GBP 5.00 / USD 8.50.

INGREDIENTS: Aqua (Water) (Solvent/Diluent), Hamamelis virginiana (Witch Hazel Distillate) (Astringent), Sambucus nigra (Elderflower water) (Natural Additive), Alcohol Denat. (Solvent/Diluent), Glycerin (Humectant), Triethanolamine (pH Adjuster), Carbomer (Viscosity Modifier), Imidazolidinyl Urea (Preservative), Methylparaben (Preservative), Denatonium Benzoate (Denaturant). continued >>

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/13/2007 3:04:00 AM More reviews by JemmaM

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is a great product for calming eyes and reducing puffiness! I don't use it to fix dark circles etc, but it does a great job when your eyes are tired or irritated. Reasonably priced too!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/16/2007 12:45:00 PM More reviews by Flahh

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Omigod! I really think this product has made my lines disappear. I have been using it for 2-3 months and am almost at the end of the pot. I was 33 yesterday and I had noticed a fan of fine lines forming. I applied this gel liberally day and night, and I swear my lines have gone. AMAZING PRODUCT! I used to use Clarins, Este Lauder etc - all the expensive makes - but science now says they don't make much difference and no smoke or sun is your best bet. I have never smoked or sunbathed, and now I reckon your best bet is saving money and trying reputable cheaper products, whilst not letting ANY sun at your face and definitely no smoking - or sitting in smoky atmospheres!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/5/2007 8:44:00 PM More reviews by mbwest

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I know lots of people did not like this product, but I LOVED it! I am 27 so no wrinkles, but have horrible dark circles and this really helps to soothe the area and has definitely helped with the circles. It is not a miracle product, but nothing is and even Hylexin does not help with circles (I have tried it). This does not cause milia, really hydrates, and is so cheap - I will buy it as long as it is available! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/4/2006 7:53:00 PM More reviews by est_elle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Very refreshing and light, makes my eyes slightly less puffier. However, it did nothing to my dark eye circles.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/29/2006 3:22:00 AM More reviews by abcuio

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This hydrates lightly, does not cause sensitivity, and is fastly absorbed. However, for those of us who has dark circles or other concerns, this is not even worth trying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/1/2006 12:03:00 AM More reviews by eurydice

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

On its own this isnt a bad product for the morning puffies. However, I've discovered a little secret that makes this product the best de-puffer of all time. I add about 15-20 drops of anti-histamine eye drops to the pot. In Australia, that means Visine (anti-histamine version). So, the routine goes like this: two drops in each eye of Visine, then I dab some 'new-improved' TBS elderflower gel with Visine under the eyes and over the eyelids. Wait 3-5 minutes. Voila! De-Puffed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/7/2006 10:42:00 AM More reviews by pupster

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've been using this product for more than 20 years now. It really is the best and cheapest eye treatment I've found. I use it at bedtime and don't have puffy eyes in the mornings when I wake up. It's also soothing for allergies, my eyes are very dry and get itchy and irritated. Keep it in the fridge and it feels wonderful:) Compared to Clinique's All About Eyes, TBS does not burn my eyes or leave a greasy film. Will buy it till they stop making it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/13/2006 9:23:00 AM More reviews by waterlily26

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It immediately refreshes and rehydrates the eyes, and seemingly brightens them up too (perhaps it is more a psychological effect here, but anyhow). It has an alcoholic scent, which I am not too keen on, and I donít think it does any thing differently to the much cheaper eye gels that you can get.

Is this review helpful? Yes No