October 1, 2014 | 1017 users online

Brows - Maybelline - Expert Eyes Twin Brow & Eye Pencils



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.0(212 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/19/2011 1:49:00 PM More reviews by beautyarcade

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I use this in Blonde to define my brows. I consider it HG. It's a perfect color match for me and I imagine it would work for most blondes. It doesn't have any red or grey tinge to it like some other blonde pencils I've tried. I find the consistency too hard for use as an eyeliner, but for a brow pencil it's great. Not too hard, not too soft. It wears all day on me. These pencil are cheap, widely available, and they've been around since at least the 1920s, so they're not likely to be discontinued anytime soon. I've tried Maybelline's Define-a-Brow also, but I prefer the Expert Eyes because the color is a better match for me and I can sharpen them to a fine point that I can't get with an automatic pencil like Define-
a-Brow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/25/2010 1:15:00 PM More reviews by elisie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Other

This is the only Maybelline product I own. Most of their stuff irritate my skin or eyes. However, I've used this brow pencil since I was 16 and still use it whenever I put on makeup. I have sparse brows that need just a little help so it looks natural. The wonderful thing about this brow pencil is that it is a hard waxy pencil which can be layered on for whatever intensity you want. With a light hand, it's easy to achieve the look I want without getting the 80's Madonna brow. As an eyeliner, it's useless, but as a brow pencil, it's completely indispensable. The black color match is perfect for Asian with black/very dark brown hair.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/9/2010 12:21:00 AM More reviews by dizzied

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I really didn't think I needed an eyebrow pencil until I got these. I have them in some kind of brown shade, medium, maybe? I read about them on a blog & for some reason decided to buy them. Now, I don't think that I can live without them. The texture is pretty hard, I wouldn't want to use them as eyeliner. They're perfect for filling in my brows & they don't look drawn on. Cheap too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/31/2010 12:21:00 PM More reviews by chicredress

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Ok, call me crazy, but this is an amazing product for nearly no money and is as good or better than any high-end pencil I've ever tried. I got it in blonde for my ill-definied mousy brows, and I feel like an idiot for not trying it sooner, because I now have the glamorous natural-looking brows that I have always wanted. The "Blonde" is a very neutral ashy color-- not red at all. It stays beautifully and is on the hard side. I'd been using Chanel "Soft Brown" for al long time and was never really satisfied with the staying power and the color was a little too unnatural looking on me. There's a reason this product has been around for decades, is all I can say, and better late than never for me finally trying it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/22/2010 10:52:00 PM More reviews by BBrazilian

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have tried so many products for my eyebrows and none of them have looked as good as this pencil. I purchased my twin pack in Dark Brown which was a strange choice really as I am a blue eyed blond with porcelain skin, but OMG, the pencil is so good!!!!!!! It draws so easily that I only have to use a very light touch to get the amount of colour needed and then I blend it with my eyebrow brush and it looks really natural. This is another one of those makeup items that has been around for a long time because it is really good. I just wish I had found it sooner!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/27/2010 12:49:00 PM More reviews by Poofyowl

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I found this when I was trying to find a cheap brown eyeliner. So I can only comment on the eyeliner use. The colour pigmentation is not that great when I try to apply on the eye. It's good for the lower lid for me because I just need a bit of a smudged light look. It did stay well.

However, when I try it on the upper lid with already eyeshadow on top, it hardly gives any colour as if it can't go on top of the eyeshadow, only to be used alone. I even tried swatching on my hand it the colour appeared but it just won't do when I put eyeshadow on! ><

It's not the most practical eyeliner but I guess good for the brows judging by the reviews.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/21/2010 4:49:00 PM More reviews by rvmc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I'm surprised these don't have a higher rating. I think they're great. I have been using them for years because the colour is right, the texture is great, and they're inexpensive. I use them lightly for brows and reasonably heavily on the eyes. I like having one product that can multitask and this is it. I don't forsee them discontinuing it considering it's a bit of a staple product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/12/2010 9:10:00 PM More reviews by cubancurls

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Charcoal Grey: this color is discontinued. i was buying them on Ebay till they ran out of stock now it's only availble on Amazon for $20. I decided to go out and search for a new HG. I can't beleive I found it, in fact I like it better: Anastasia Brow pencil in Medium Ash. This is not Brow Wiz automatic pencil which I hated because it was too dark and greasy.

For the record I have NO eyebrows, just 1/2" towards the front and nothing on the arch or tail. I'm not kidding, I didn't pluck them, it's heireditary from my mother. (she has hers tattooed) The texture of this pencil 'looks' like hairs on the skin. Also, everyone has tiny facial hairs, this pencil colors them brown. I can't express how happy I am to have normal eyebrows. You wouldn't beleive the impact eyebrows have on your face. All I need is my eyebrows a little lip gloss and I look great.

Anastasia pencil is WATERPROOF and SWEATPROOF: I went jogging here in Miami at noon, 105 degrees, 85% humidity and though I was dripping in sweat, my eyebrows completely covered in beads of sweat, it stayed on! As long as I didn't wipe or touch them. After I cooled down and the beads of sweat dried out (don't touch them) the color was exact, it didn't even fade, it did not oxidize into another color. I then jumped into my lake and swam around, go under alot, I came out and the color was still on! Again, I didn't touch it, I dried my face avoiding my eyebrows and when they dried the color was the same. I then took a shower and washed my hair, I tried not to get my face wet but hard to do in the shower and they color stayed on. In fact I carefully dried my face and I DIDN'T HAVE TO RE-APPLY!! sweating, swimming and showering the color stayed.

This pencil has a better texture then maybellines because when i layer, it does not build up and look waxy. The color is also better, just a tad bit darker which I prefer because maybelline's charcoal grey was a bit too light and as stated above it was hard to add layers without making a mess. I am sooooo thrilled to find this. It is MORE natural looking. I wish I would have found sooner. Go try it!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/11/2010 3:31:00 PM More reviews by XxPRINCESSAxX

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Other

I have found my eyebrow pencil. As soon as these finish I just buy another pack, as I'm not interested in trying anything else. The texture is perfect for an eyebrow pencil as its not too greasy and won't smudge as easily as an eyeliner pencil (which I was previously using) would. I love that it comes with two, perfect to take one to travel with, and such a great deal. Its very natural looking, unlike some eyeliner pencils which can look very harsh and tattoo-eyebrows like. I will continue to repurchase and hope they don't discontinue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/22/2010 2:19:00 PM More reviews by vampira428

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

It doesn't smudge or disapear throughout the day. after i apply it I go over it with a spooly and it doesn't look fake or drawn on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No