LUSH Gorilla Perfume - Lust

3.9

71 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/24/2012 11:25:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I think Lush are too generous with the essential/ perfume oils in their Gorilla Perfumes!

I recently bought the Gorilla perfume set that contained: Vanillary, Imogen Rose, Tuca Tuca, Lust, The Smell of Freedom, Orange Blossom, Breath of God and Karma. After a happy opening and smelling session with my daughter and a friend I felt seriously nauseous. I went online to see if anyone had developed the same reaction. Itís been really good to read the mixed reception to these scents on your Blog.

Iíve loved buying both synthetic scents and essential oils to use and experiment with since the 80ís, when I worked in the Body Shop. Since then Iíve often bought concentrate essential oils that should only be handled wearing rubber gloves. Cedarwood, Pine and Petitgain are wonderful oils when diluted in a bath or massage oil, but they smell as harsh as toilet freshener when encountered as concentrates. Some rather frank descriptions online of the Gorilla Perfumes encouraged me to don the rubber gloves and dilute my Lush Gorilla concentrates. I filled a 500ml spray bottle with water and added 1/5 of a phial of Orange Blossom. The transformation was a very pleasant surprise; I would now describe Orange Blossom as containing a very generous helping of Neroli. As someone who enjoys Neroliís cologne like qualities, this provides a very refreshing backdrop to the less dominant scents of Ylang Ylang and Orange flower which slowly emerge through a screen of Rosewood.

I will continue to explore the Gorilla Perfumes. They arenít imitating fashion scents - which I like, but they do appear to contain a high percentage of essential/ perfume oils. Iíd urge anyone who buys the Gorilla Perfumes to dilute them first (while wearing rubber gloves) because the concentrate scents linger on your hands for several hours.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 10/31/2011 9:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

phwoar. i love this perfume so incredibly much. i fell in love with godiva (solid shampoo) first and decided that i wanted my whole body to have that lovely jasmine scent all day long, so i bought the lust spritzer. it's the second strongest of the three lust perfuming options, and that suits me just fine. it lasts throughout the day and i can easily carry it around with me in it's little tubey bottle. (just make sure you put it in a secure spot in your handbag as it's made of glass) the assistant even said that if i ever bought the bigger bottle i could fill up my little one! how handy and environmentally friendly (of course)!
all you need to do is spray a little bit on your neck and rub it with your wrists. it's quite a dark orange so you have to do this.
people keep commenting on the colouring and i'd just like to mention that the reason it isn't clear is because it is natural. it may be a bit irritating in the solid - which i haven't tried - but in the spray you just have to rub it in and it's gone!
it's best to put this on half an hour to an hour before you plan on smelling delicious because it takes a while for it to develop. when i first tried it on in the shop the girl told me to go for a little wander and come back a bit later. naturally i bought it and just could not stop sniffing myself. honestly, i am addicted. i sometimes just put a bit on even if i'm at home alone in my jim jams. one night i sprayed a bit on a piece of card and popped it under my pillow. that's how good it smells. and i'm not the only one who finds it irresistible! every time i wear it i get complements from both men and women.
it's sophisticated, but flirty, and sexy, but not overpowering. it's just that whiff that makes you want to get closer.......i highly recommend it! it gives you a great confidence boost. and you just smell so pretty all day long. :)
only slight problem is that i think because i have quite sensitive skin and i'm also hayfever prone and such, and because it's so concentrated, it gives me a slight rash on the sensitive area on my neck. a shame, but i don't even care. i love jasmine too much to care!

ps. even with my addiction, i still haven't finished my little spritzer tube. i think i still have quite a bit left actually!
and i know that people are saying that they think it's kind of a "dirty" type sexy, but it's really not. it's really quite feminine and lovely. i have even worn it to job interviews and got compliments. it's actually a really lovely fragrance and i don't see why everyone is making it sound so nasty!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2011 10:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

I used to really enjoy this perfume, but I can't say it's one of my favourites any more. It's very strongly jasmine scented, but has other under-notes as well, like vanilla. When I first bought Lust I thought it was a very sexy scent, but the more and more I wore it, the more the scent reminded me of something a pornstar would wear.


on 9/20/2011 12:39:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My BF brought this over a few nights ago (along w/ vanillary--see separate review). This is the lg. black bottle--strongest concentration. BTW-- the SP told him not to buy the solid since the red color seems to be staining clothes. He said the solids smelled a little "off"-- waxy. This bottle also has some color but I sprayed it directly on my skin, not my clothing. She told him they would pay for dry cleaning if it stained any clothes -- so far it has not.

You have to like jasmine in order to like this one!! It's one of those loud, cleavage scents. It mellowed nicely after an hour into a jasmine, brown sugar, boozy kind of scent on me. It reminded us of our vacations to India and Bali where jasmine grows amuck. Needless to say, a keeper.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2011 10:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For those who love Jasmine-scented products, Lust Gorilla perfume is the way to go. You only need a light spritz and it WILL last all day. The solid perfume, meh, it's not as great in the lasting department but if you don't want to commit to this scent and you just want to try it out, the solid perfume is great and it's only $12 CAD for us. I bought the tube/vial and I still have tons left.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2011 3:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

i bought this in solid perfume form a while ago, i love the scent of jasmine, however the push up tube packaging is very poor. As others have mentioned, it's a mess when you push it up, you have to push it back down with a finger (messy) or just replace the cap (also messy and just splodges the product all over the lid). I thought i'd pop it in the fridge to see if that helped, but it didn't. Another downside is the red pigment, it stains!! I would buy this again, but only in spray form.


on 6/8/2011 10:04:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Nice "jasminey" scent and very cheap, but rather ruined by the strong colour which I imagine would stain (I was for-warned by other reviewers (thanks), so I avoid wearing good clothes near it) and also poor packaging which means you push it up, then have to squidge it back down with the top which tends to melt it all over the top.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/3/2011 12:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this in the solid version to use as an everyday, carry-around-in-my-handbag pick-me-up.

I love the smell of it - it is very jasminey, which I like, and to me, it smells sweet. Sometimes it almost reminds me of tinned sweetcorn (which sounds mad, but it is nice!). The dry down is still sweet (corny), but also very slightly smoky and very feminine. The scent lasts a long time, and I love that I can occasionally catch the scent of it - normally I can't really smell what I'm wearing after a certain amount of time. I find it quite versatile - I wear it for daytime, but it would also be appropriate on a sexy night out.

I've taken one lippie off, because it has a sort of reddish dye through it, which does show up slightly on application. Can look a bit like a weird neck rash if I have my hair up. Would much prefer something relatively colourless.

For £4.50 though, I think this is an excellent purchase. Love the smell, it's really portable, and the quality of the product is good. Will totally repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/22/2011 8:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I thought to give this solid perfume a go since I get zits and bumps from spray perfumes. This product is very versatile as you can carry it in your purse, rub it in your hair, dab on any spot on your skin etc. It has a nice conditioning effect on the dry ends of my hair. I have to say that I really like jasmine and this sort of scents in general so it's perfect for me. It doesn't really smell "dirty sexy" to me, but finding this sort of scents isn't easy so I give it a definite thumbs up. The downside is the packaging as you can't push the stick down so you have to be careful with that. Also, I think it could do without the red dye although you can fade it by rubbing in the balm. Other than that I find this product really nice, the price good and the scent a perfect deep floral.


on 4/4/2011 10:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I canít say I adore this scent in the least. I tried it on several occasions and still canít get myself to like it. The nose behind this scent is, Mark: ďI think what you're good at is what you like to do. I do believe that I'm good at jasmine. I wanted to do a really, really sexy, dirty, lustful fragrance and that's what I've done.Ē I have to give credit to the creator, he didnít lie about what he was creating, he had a plan from the beginning.


The main notes selected for this fragrance are Jasmine (very concentrated), ylang ylang, Vanilla, and Sandalwood. When I first spritzed this on, I thought the Jasmine note was heavy, but still sexy with the vanilla overtone, and sandalwood undertone. However after half an hour, the notes collided to create a very smoky jasmine with no distinction of the other notes. Other reviewers are correct in comparing it to Flying Fox and Godiva. That said, I must admit that these are my least favorites of the Lush line, so now you understand where I am coming from. Furthermore, if I had to portray what feelings or thoughts this fragrance brings to mind- itís sex and cigarettes, dirty smoky, and musky. I am not saying smelling sexy is wrong, in fact I think itís great and gives women a sense of confidence. However, I found this one made me smell cheap and sexy at the same time- an unfortunate outcome for me.


Overall, I have rated it a 2, not out of disdain for the scent, but because I honestly think it could have been a lot better. Concentrating the jasmine was a bold choice, but I honestly found it was too overwhelming- the subtlety, sophistication, and sheer complexity of jasmine was completely lost in the making of this fragrance. I suppose on certain skin types- this might smell really amazing, but on me it was rather disappointing.
Happy Shopping!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated LUSH Products

image

Dorothy

29 reviews
Back to Top