July 23, 2014 | 1991 users online

Mascara - L'Oreal - Double Extend Mascara with Lash Boosting Serum

rated 3.5(117 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/4/2011 9:05:00 PM More reviews by kahillrn

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I know that not every formula works for every woman. With that said, HOLY COW does this work for me. I purchased the lash serum as well as the double-end mascara. This is my HG mascara. I used to use Lancome definicil and really liked it but was tired of paying upwards of $25.00 for mascara. I've seen all the commercials for the lash growing/boosting serums on TV in the last year and wondered if any of them worked. I was unable to pay for the prescription formula's so I thought I would give this brand a try. Not only did the lash serum grow longer and thicker lashes, the primer seemed to make my lashes in much better health. I don't loose nearly as many lashes when I remove my makeup and I've even started using the serum on my eyebrows. Toward the outside of my eyebrows the hair has thinned over the years from plucking and waxing. Not only do I have new growth, my eyebrows seemed thicker than before. I also love, love, love the primer that comes with the mascara. It makes my lashes thicker and longer. I put on 2 coats of primer, wait about 1 minute and then apply the mascara. The mascara itself is ok, but nothing compared all three components together. I also like the brush on the mascara, it makes my lashes thick as well as long. I have purchased 6 back-ups in case they discontinue it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/31/2011 2:45:00 AM More reviews by wendigrl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've been using this duo for about 3 months now and all I can say is wow! My eyelashes are pretty average normally so I use whatever product I can to really give them that special 'oomph'. Being a hardcore voluminous fan, I decided to try this since its made by l'oreal as well. Plus my mom uses the red one (Beauty tubes?) and raves about it.

Well I'm a fan. It works well as far as thickening my lashes. Lengthened a little. But when I put on the mascara is when I notice a big difference. My lashes just look so much fuller. Because they ARE fuller! There's just more lashes to coat! But if you're impatient or are expecting miracles you might not like it. It takes time to apply and perfect your mascara, and the nightly ritual of applying the serum might be tedious for some. I love my p.m. routine of removing makeup, washing, brushing and moisturizing. The serum is the last thing I do before bed. Its lasted me a long time too! I originally bought the mascara/serum pack but have recently just bought the mascara because I still have a good amount of the serum left! Overall I would definitely recommend to any one willing to put a little extra effort into their appearance and anyone who has the patience to really give this product a good shot! You wont be sorry!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/12/2011 3:48:00 PM More reviews by dinyell

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this duo on sale and got an even better deal after coupons at Rite Aid. So FULL PRICE it's a little pricey, but I got it for a good deal..

It DID make my lashes a little bit longer, as long as I didn't skip a day using it (used it for about 3 months straight),and I had no problems with clumping. I think it worked better than my Tarte Multipleye mascara as far as clumping goes.
It got a 4 out of 5 because it seemed to RUN OUT kind of fast! I would buy it again if I got it for a great deal again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/24/2010 1:43:00 PM More reviews by smoxy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Only one good thing about this product-- it made my lashes longer... a LITTLE bit thus giving this a 3 star. Other than that, this product is terrible. It clumps your lashes SO bad that you probably need to brush it down! As another reviewer said, it made you look like a "drag queen." If the serum absolutely did not work at all, this review deserves a 1..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/7/2010 3:13:00 AM More reviews by musicxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Other

I actually do like this mascara quite a bit. I've tried mascaras like Rimmel Sexy Curves and Lash Blast, which have the tendency to give me very sharp, hard lashes. This mascara gives me almost full, lush, "fluffy" sort of lashes, I can't really explain it. I think it does a good job with both length and volume. I don't let the primer dry all the way, because it does make it hard to apply the mascara, but using it slightly damp works just fine. With those hard plastic wands, again like on Lash Blast, I always felt like they almost ripped through my lashes....the wand on this mascara is soft and fluffy, and it just brushes through my lashes.
This isn't a mascara you'd want to use if you were in a hurry in the morning, the two step process does take a few minutes.
It is not perfect, but I would say it's my current favorite mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/4/2010 6:23:00 AM More reviews by boredtotears1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've got short wayward lashes & am constantly on the hunt for mascaras that extend & give volume at the same time. I was intrigued by this as it claims to have lash extending serum as a primer..

3 weeks in & I'm throwing it away in disgust - the primer sticks to your lashes so that when you add the mascara on top its dried out so the overall effect is clumpy dried out looking "drag queen" lashes. Its incredibly difficult to put on as a result - and the only way I could get any kind of good looking effect was to comb through the lashes immediately after application to separate the clumps (thus removing great chunks of mascara & flaking all over my cheeks)

Hideous hideous hideous stuff!!! .... & so my search continues...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/3/2010 7:51:00 AM More reviews by lola88

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

this did not grow, strengthen, or change he condition of my lashes. the mascara in conjunction with the primer serum did not volumize my lashes--it only lengthened. i'll stick to lash blast or voluminous carbon black.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/29/2010 3:18:00 PM More reviews by MichieKrum

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

The serum is wonderful. I feel it really works well. My lases are almost non existent and the serum really does make my lashes more noticeable. The mascara with the base is horrible. I find it to be very clumpy. It dried out very fast as well. I will buy the serum again, but not the mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/19/2010 10:56:00 AM More reviews by suzyqz1970

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

To be honest, the only reason I've tried this product is that it was free, lol. Personally, I want my mascara to be 1 step and not 2. My lashes are decent by themselves but this mascara may be worth it for people who have very short stubby lashes. Even though I probably wouldn't buy it for myself, I do have to say that it definately gives me longer lashes but I think that's at the price of taking more time to get those longer lashes. It also is harder to get good separation between my lashes. Some people might not care and think that longer lashes are worth it but I've been in the applying cosmetics game for a looonnnggg time and i want my routine to be quick and easy. I do think the primer helps make my lashes longer though. Not the worst but certainly not my favorite.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/25/2010 12:53:00 PM More reviews by Cassylicious

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loved it!!! It conditioned my small lashes and made them thicker and stronger!!! But I paid mine 12.49$ + tax cnd at shoppers drug mart and the same price for the serum which I think its ridiculous 4 what it gives but I definitely recommend. I guess im gonna stick with my imju fiberwig mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No