December 18, 2014 | 848 users online

Top/Base Coats - Essie - Matte About You

rated 4.4(110 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 89% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/27/2011 10:42:00 AM More reviews by Luster

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this product...i use it over dark shades (OPI-Give me mooor, My private jet and Lincon after dark) and it looks so interesting.but i noticed that after 3-4 days the effect starts dissapering and it's kinda annoying.and i must aplly one more coat for the effect that i want.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/24/2011 5:31:00 PM More reviews by r0semarysays

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Other, Other, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is an ok matte top coat.

Two complaints:
1. Doesn't dry as fast as my normal glossy Seche Vite topcoat.
2. Now that I have had this polish for a few months, it has started to deposit little hard white bits on my nails. So irritating and extremely obvious over dark colors like purple. I think they must be bits of hardened nail polish that have gotten mixed in. I just don't understand why they don't re-dissolve like most nail polish would.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 6:08:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I like to use this product over my black polishes because I don't like shiny black nails. I think the matte makes it more interesting. I have noticed that this does make polish chip quicker than normal.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/9/2011 11:49:00 PM More reviews by xomegs

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this product! It is my only mattifying polish and the only one I have ever tried but it is absolutely fab! I have it on my nails now. I painted my nails Onyx Black by OPI and mattified that and then and have my tips in Lincoln Park After Dark OPI just regular and shiny. It looks really cool and vampy. The product dries really quickly and it looks really good over dark to medium colours. I'd also suggest a colour thats really opaque.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/31/2011 8:27:00 AM More reviews by luxferi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Granted this is my only mattifying nail polish but I'm very pleased with this one. I surfed around looking for recommendations and one blog said this is the best out of the others she'd tried. It's easy to apply, love the brush on this one and dries within minutes. Not completely dry, mind you - let it sit for 20 to 30 minutes just to be on the safe side. Like other reviewers have said, the plus side of having Essie MAY is that it doubles your nail polish collection, but not every nail polish color looks good mattified. Like holos - the holos just disappear! It also starts to get shiny/satiny at the tips around 3 days later... but you can always apply another layer. Personally I find it looks best with medium shades - medium to dark red, blue to navy, green, gray (LOVE the industrial matte gray nails) and of course, glitters. And you can mattify your nail polish and maybe do a shiny French? That would be a lovely play of textures. I would definitely buy this again. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/30/2011 8:27:00 PM More reviews by cinnamonpink

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this stuff! I have read it only looks good on dark colors, but I have used it on my Revlon Posh Pink color that is not very dark but a nice pink and it looks great with it
The only teeny tiny thing I don't like is that you have to be careful when it's drying, it's very easy to mess up.

EDIT*** I have noticed that when I have this on my nails for more than a few days the nice matte finish isn't there anymore. It only really lasts for like a day- on my pink nails it looks amazing when I first apply then the next day its a dark pink with tints of blue and it's not matte but like a dull shine...
It's weird, I just noticed it when I re-applied to one nail compared to the nails I had from days before !

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/21/2011 7:24:00 PM More reviews by bookishkali

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Going to have to get a backup of this! I love the look of matte nail polish and having this is like doubling my nail polish collection. This is also great for people who might not want a whole bunch of matte polishes hanging about, but want the look.

I also use this as a top coat over my actual matte polishes (wierd as that may seem) as I don't like not having a top coat on.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/10/2011 11:32:00 AM More reviews by MARmaladeJay

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm a little late on the matte polishes as I wasn't too interested. So lately, I've been experimenting and researching what the best matte top coats out there. I stumbled across a blog that suggest Essie's Matte About You (MAY) top coat. I ran out and bought it since I think this is a better deal than buying matte polishes. You can transform any polish you've already got into a matte. So I got the idea from the blog post and applied MAY to just my tips for a muted look (pictured above in red). I LOVE it! Before doing this, I did experiment with the whole nail and love it just as much.
You must work fast with this top coat because product closer to the ferrel of the brush will dry pretty fast and dipping it back into the bottle will only make the rest of the prodct a bit goopy.
Other than that, top coat dries within seconds. I did notice that after 2-3 days the mattiness begins to fade into a more satin finish. You cannot use lotions because if you do, it will ruin the effect. So apply and use with caution.
Overall, I will definitely repurchase this top coat, unless I try a different brand.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/8/2011 11:53:00 PM More reviews by Raeoni

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

AUSTRALIAN REVIEWER: Matte top coats are trending a lot at the moment and I love them. This one is great, don't put it on too thickly though because it can get messy quick. Also, make sure your polish underneath it is PERFECT before you put the matte top coat on or it'll point out all the flaws in your polish. The Essie Matte About You has a nice enough feel and isn't too thin or thick for my liking.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/31/2011 3:23:00 AM More reviews by xleahcarx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is so much fun. I was on a matte nail polish kick but, it's hard to find matte nail polishes in the color I like. This made that all easy. I now wont go out of my way to get a matte polish. I like that fact that I can buy a shiney polish and make it matte or leave it as is because of this cool top coat!

Is this review helpful? Yes No