April 19, 2014 | 1611 users online

Polishes - Chanel - Le Vernis Nail Colour in Vendetta #483



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.2(53 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 81% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.5
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 2/3/2009 1:04:00 PM More reviews by SiennaX

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'd love to jump on the bandwagon and love it, but as far as Vendetta goes--I have luke warm feelings. In the bottle it is a rich, velvety, deep purple shimmer, this beauty DOES NOT translate onto the nails. You'd have to have your own personal ray of sun, shining on your hands constantly to see the shimmer of Vendetta. As with the new Chanels, the formula of this applies like butter--its fantastic. With that said, 1 coating this polish might cause it to be less dark, letting the shimmer come through. (I'm a 2 coater by nature) For me, the wear is also great. The price, well, its Chanel after all, what else would it be but expensive.
If you are on the fence about purchasing this, look at people's blogs and other pics carefully--indoor light vs sunlight for this one are quite different. And at this price, you don't want it collecting dust in a drawer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/2/2009 1:35:00 AM More reviews by caligirl3

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This product was a bit expensive for a nail polish, but totally worth it! It's reallllly beautiful and does come out almost black. It has a really great staying power. If this is too expensive, you should look into Essie's Sexy Divide. It is very similar!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/29/2009 3:16:00 AM More reviews by scivolare

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Chanel Vendetta is one of 2 polishes released for their Spring 2009 collection. Purple is probably my favorite color, and when I saw the rich, velvety purple in the bottle up close and personal - I had to have it! I applied it a few days ago, and used a basecoat, 2 coats of vendetta and a single topcoat. After the first coat, the color really caught my eye, but I decided to go ahead and add a second coat - big mistake! Not only was the 2nd coat slow to dry (meaning it knicked VERY easily), but rather than simply intensifying the color, it was almost BLACK. While the darkness may appeal to some people, I already own quite a great many dark colors, and could barely distinguish this from Vamp or Black Satin.

I really wanted the purple to shine through, so I removed the polish tonight, 3 days later, and started again. This time, I used a basecoat, then one single coat of Vendetta. I really noticed this time how smooth and sleek application was - completely streak-free, and was able to see the intense and luxurious violet shade on my nails. The blue and red shimmer were visible, and the polish dried very quickly (a quality that I'm quickly able to appreciate in a nail polish). I decided to add a single coat of azur on top, and wow - that really makes the violet stand out even more. The color and shimmer of this polish are very unique! Vendetta is a lovely blue violet polish, that is elegant and unique. And it provides an intense color in a single coat, making this an even better buy!

I have removed one lipstick from my overall rating however, because after handwashing a few dishes tonight (more like soaking a few bowls), there were some very obvious chips in the 2 coats after only 3 days!

I'll try to update on the quality after this go-around. And I would still totally buy this color again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2009 7:56:00 AM More reviews by jimmychoordam

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Black

Hi all,

Pffff, what can I say other than SUPERB. Vendetta is in the new collection and it's gorgeous. I have several Chanel nailpolishes, so I'm already familiar with the quality. For those of you who don't know. Chanel polish dries fast, no top coat needed and depending on your intensity wish maximum 2 coats needed. This colour is stunning, without light it looks black untill the light shines on it then it's a deep, sensual purple. Very sexy yet sophisticated looking, simply a stunner! Don't hesitate, go out and buy this one!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/26/2009 8:15:00 PM More reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Costly but nothing out there comes close in color trend or quality. I find Chanel polish is bulletproof and would but more if they weren't so pricey. Two coats is preferred for impact and durability. I had been wearing Baby It's Coal Outside by OPI and thought I finally got dark goth nail shades out of my system. Vendetta relapsed me all over again and I couldn't be happier. This is a celestial color, an elegant color that projects no negative image. I am very fair and against my skin this is the richest deep purple with a blue sparkle. Not for fearful faint of heart types. I love this with winter white clothing or a classically tailored crisp white shirt. Chanel has yet another hit on their hands with this color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/18/2009 2:29:00 PM More reviews by ekelur

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I missed the boat on the Black Satin and Blue Satin, but I had to cave for the purple. I haven't been this taken by a Chanel polish since the original Vamp came out. Dark purple-black with teeny tiny blue and red glitter. It's more of blue purple than a red purple, which makes it even better (I'm pale with blue undertones). It costs too much for nail polish, but in terms of Chanel, it's a bargain, no?

ETA 7/18/2009 -- I took this in for a pedicure at Bliss, and everyone who worked there wanted to know what it was and when I got it. It was deemed one of the best darks they'd ever seen. Went on like a dream, and lasted for over 2 weeks. I will be bringing it back for this month. I love it so much, nothing looks as good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/17/2009 2:18:00 PM More reviews by dunkv

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

beautiful colour , chanel have a nak of just making the most beautiful dark shades, that are full of colour , dry quickly and have the most amazing shine , beautiful so rich in colour ,,, you cannot go wrong with this colour it would suit nearly everyone xxxxxxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/9/2009 3:03:00 PM More reviews by luluhalabaloo

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Chanel does it again. A gorgeous deep deep purple, almost black. I like Blue Satin a bit more - I put Azure on it and it is gorgeous - but this is deep with a ton of pigment so in fact, one coat is truly enough. I did one coat today with a top coat and it seems enough, two just seemed almost like a waste of nailpolish! But I always put a third (this time second) coat a couple of days after the initial manicure to refresh it and we'll see if that changes anything. In the meantime, very classy, maybe I would have liked it to be a bit more purple than black (hence the one lippie off, also for price), but otherwise, definitely a winner!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/6/2009 6:05:00 PM More reviews by JuliaLee67

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

Since Chanel raised their nail polish price to 20 bucks a pop, I had to see an actual bottle of Vendetta to make sure it wasn't a dupe of any other shade I already had. I bought it, and I'm very happy with it. It looks frostier in the bottle than it does on my nails; a deep blue-purple with a lovely shimmer that really pops in sunlight, flashing with the tiniest blue and magenta sparkles. The shimmer is still visible under regular lighting, very subtle, and in low light this polish appears black. There are other dark purple shimmers out there (OPI's Lincoln Park At Midnight springs to mind), but none like Vendetta, at least that I've seen. One coat provides enough opacity that you could get away with just that, but a second coat adds a surprising amount of depth to the color. I would definitely buy this shade again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/31/2008 8:29:00 PM More reviews by luuserosy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I looove Chanel nail polish. I'm so excited to hear that they came out with a new dark color: Vendetta. Vendetta is a beautiful dark purple with a slight glimmer to it. I adore all of Chanel nail polishes because of the consistency. Just one coat of the polish is enough for sexy dark nails. It's so shiny that a top coat doesn't seem necessary.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No