December 17, 2014 | 1769 users online

Skincare - Face - Avene - Thermal Water

rated 4.2(521 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/29/2005 8:54:00 AM More reviews by twinkley88

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this product. A friend of mine recomended it for me and I decided to buy it. I am very glad I did! It's a great product and really makes skin less red and flacky. Works great for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/27/2005 1:26:00 PM More reviews by rupster

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Hmm... how to start? Yeah, so this is water-in-a-can. Pretty expensive water-in-a-can too. However, in certain situations, I would rather sacrfice my right arm than go without it. I do not us this product on a daily basis, so I cannot testify to how it works as a regular part of a beauty regimen. However, as an essential part of a carry-on bag, I can speak from first hand experience. Anyone who frequently travels by plane will understand the effects that pressurized cabin air can have on ones skin. After a flight of 5 hours or more, most people come out looking like a corpse. However, when lightly sprayed on the face, neck and hands, Avene Thermal Water replenishes the lost moisture leaving the skin soft and refreshed. That is why I walk off the plane looking ready for a night on the town, whilst everyone else looks like they need 14 hours of bed rest.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/26/2005 2:04:00 PM More reviews by minicapybara

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm prone to skin rash, and when it's on my face, I'll have to suffer through a peeling stage before everything goes back to normal. A charity fundraiser walk under the hot sun (even with a baseball cap) triggered some lovely patches of rash around my temples. I was at a loss as to how to put a stop to it. At my local London Drugs, all Avene products were and still are 20% off. Out of desperation I bought the 50ml size for $6 CAD, feeling pretty stupid about having to pay for WATER. So after washing my face, I sprayed the water on, let it sit for about 10 seconds before patting dry, then applied a bit of my usual moisturizer. Strangely enough, the redness and itchiness went away next morning, and after a couple more applications, the rash disappeared. Normally such rash would not go away for at least a week. The only thing I've done differently was adding that extra step of Avene water. My fickle skin is also calmer overall with continuous application. Even though I STILL don't want to think about buying water, I went back and bought a larger bottle. Don't know why it's working, but while it's working, the skeptic in me will just stay quiet.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/25/2005 12:44:00 PM More reviews by Violeta

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green


I got this together with Avene Recovery Cream, it was a "package deal" and it was in my bathroom for months before I decided to give it a try. If I just spray it on my skin and that's, it doesn't work for me at all, no moisture, nothing. So, now I wash my face, dry it with a towel then lightly spray some Avene water all over my face and right away use some face cream (Avene Recovery). First of all, the face cream spreads on sooo much better and I am using very little product compared with how much I was using before and the results are also great, my skin has alot more moisture, looks supple and glowing. I have't try this with other water or toner but I bet it would be the same , next I want to try the same thing with PC's normal / oily toner because I have the huge 16 oz bottle of it brant new. If i fnd Avene Thermal Water on sale I will buy it again but I don't know if I would pay the full price for it ...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2005 2:37:00 PM More reviews by monvai

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Had lots of acne. Skin was red and bumpy around chin area and upper lip. Sprayed on my face everyday, and after a week, plus using Diacneal anti blemish treatment, my face is all smooth and not irrtated again. Beginning to believe in this Thermal Water thing..........................

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/26/2005 8:29:00 AM More reviews by meru

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

i really like this product. at first i did not see much use or difference to my skin but after a while of using it everyday my face got a lot softer and smoother! i use it whenever i want now since the weather is getting hot!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/25/2005 5:17:00 PM More reviews by Tanny

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Great to use on my sensitive skin after I cleanse. I find that toners make my skin feel dry and tight and this does the perfect job of "toning" my skin. I love it's multiple uses: after shaving my legs, on rashes, and to set makeup. I will certainly buy this product again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/16/2005 3:26:00 PM More reviews by siobhan5

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Great stuff. As I have hypersensitive skin this is the perfect Toner after cleansing for me. It's so refreshing and calming and my skin was soothing within some hours after using it the very first time. Will surely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/15/2005 10:39:00 AM More reviews by 3926sarah

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was having a really bad bout of Acne Rosacea and nothing I was putting on my skin seemed to help with the extreme redness, ithching or dryness of my skin.
I was starting to feel depressed when I picked this up at Boots for 5.25 a bottle. After using for about 2-3 days I noticed a drastic improvement in the redness especially, but the cooling formula also helped with the itching.

Im not saying this product will work like this for every rosacea sufferer but I do recommend anyone to try it, especially as its quite cheap over here. To get these results though I did use quite a large amount everyday such as spraying the area every 2 hours and not being stingy with the product

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/26/2005 10:37:00 PM More reviews by moorkitty

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I tried this product after reading a medical review of a double-blind study of patients using retinoid creams. The patients who used the Avene cold cream soap-free cleansing bar and spritzed this on throughout the day were much more likely to stay on the retinoid therapy because the thermal water eased skin irritation. This particular water is high in selenium. A container lasts ages as you don't use much. I was told not to let this air dry - the best way to use is to spritz on and gently pat into skin with fingertips till dry, then moisturize. Sometimes I moisturize without waiting for it to dry. I am a minimalist as far as beauty products but find I can't live without this. Even if I don't use it every day, it's sure nice to have on hand. Especially good for out on the road, camping, etc. when you want to freshen up. They say this sets makup but haven't tried it for that. When a pharmacist recommends a line you have to take notice. I have not been disappointed with any of the Avene products. The entire 'cold cream' line is wonderful, esp. if you're on retin-a and have irritated skin. The co. makes it easy to try new products as they are generous with samples. UPDATE: I had chemical peel and pulled this out from the back of my medicine chest and began using. It is a lifesaver for my poor sore face.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No