Chanel No.5

3.5

944 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/23/2007 12:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Worst perfume along with all chanel perfumes... I agree with the girl below me... I almost puked from the overwhelming scent of this perfume...



on 10/20/2007 5:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

The worst perfume I have ever smelt. I almost fainted from this! I hated this smell. It was way too strong. And it smelled a bit weird too.


on 10/19/2007 2:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

this perfume gives me all kinds of happy. i don't know what it is, but from the initial top note to the drydown, i simply love smelling this stuff on me and just putting it on is an instant cheer-upper! i live in tropical weather so i need to wear it (in EDP) in small doses, either a single spray on my throat or left wrist (depending on where i'm headed off to... and yes, i'm a lefty). this perfume is really complex and stands apart on its own, so those who keep bleating on and on about no. 5 smelling like an old lady/funeral home should at least give it a chance to settle on the skin properly instead of judging on the aldehyde content alone. i'm only 27 but i've been loving this since i was 18.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/18/2007 9:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ok - this comment is updated from the post below. I went back to Macys today with the "Pure Parfum" in hand. The Chanel counter manager was shocked at the lightness of the color and consistency . After applying it the scent was gone within an hour. She had just received the Parfum from the manufacturer. So we opened the other one as well - same thing ! Is this a manufacturing problem ? The manager was very apologetic. I ended up purchasing EDT and EDP along with a gift set to replace the Parfum. - I would be interested in hearing if this has been experienced by anyone else.

I have worn Number 5 off and on for years. My favorite version was the "Sheer Moisture Mist" which was cancelled two years ago. When I wore that I was complimented by everyone. I have since searched around and the only thing that comes close to the notes are the bath soap. Today I sprung for my first bottle of the pure parfum. The color in the bottle seems very light - almost greenish! For some reason I always thought it would be more golden. The packaging was awful. There was a string tied around the top and then a plastic sealer which was very difficult to get off. The bottle has no weight to it . It feels like I am holding a mini sample. I did purchase the .5 oz (15 ml) and it was over $150 at Macys.Its ok , but I am wondering if I prefer the freshness to the EDT . The dropper and bottle are so small it drips all over your fingers. I am sensing lots of musk and know that I won't be getting any compliments on this . Very dissapointing . I miss the freshness that I expeienced in the moisture mist and hope that eau premiere (their new version) resembles that and doesn't have the overly vanilla sugar tones their exlixer has. I am really in Limbo but don't want to wear anything else...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2007 2:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I always give perfumes a fair chance so although its dated, its not bad. I just didnt find that it was worth such an expensive price. I bought the EDT which was cheaper than EDP. Had this stuff been alot cheaper I might have purchased more. I shared the rest of my bottle with my mom and it smelled like a real pretty powder on her. White Diamonds which is my favorite seems to have a little simularity of chanel no. 5 and its alot cheaper!!!


on 10/7/2007 1:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I will always love Chanel No. 5. I have the refillable perfume bottle, which I also love. I definitely agree that this one really has to work with your body chemistry, and it does for me - so you absolutely must really test it out and give it an hour to sit with you before you decide.

Definitely the most classic of all of the Chanels I wear.


on 10/6/2007 11:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I realy wanted to love this perfume due to its notoriety but unfortunately it is not for me. It's way too heavy and matronly for me. It could be a body chemistry thing but I took one sniff on my wrist and grimaced! For me, it smells to "chemical", lacking any lighter floral notes. It would suit some but I'll stick to Allure if I feel like Chanel.


on 10/6/2007 8:01:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm in mourning for the former No. 5 scent - such a classic; reminds me of going to church with my mom, who passed away 25 years ago. It had become my signature scent, too. I just purchased a new bottle of the eau de perfume and it doesn't smell ANYTHING like it used to. After reading here about the reformulation, I returned it to Nordstrom and the rep totally denied that it had been changed, blaming my age (47) for my change in what I thought it smelled like - how insulting! I'm now perfume-less and am on a hunt for my new one. My old faves are Chance and Clinique's Aromatics Elixir, but I really loved No.5. I also have a hard time finding a fragrance that doesn't give me a headache and makes me feel nauseous. Sooooooo bummed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2007 5:41:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Too much aldehyde! Really does not work for me.


on 9/28/2007 1:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

smells like soap. it is not complex, fruity, floral, youthful, or groundbreaking. It smells like a strong soap your strict great aunt would have in her bathroom.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
No.5
No.5
944 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews
Back to Top