April 19, 2014 | 1564 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Volum' Express The Colossal Waterproof

rated 3.7(477 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 9/12/2009 9:31:00 PM More reviews by DivineL

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i gave this a shot because some MUAers rec'd this when i complained about voluminous (at first no volume, then second use clump-o-rama). previously, i was using MF 2000 calorie, an old fav. but decided to look for something better.

i find that wp always holds a curl. so i get this and when i tried it the first time i was in love! i love the brush, i love that fact that the first use was perfect, unlike other mascaras where you kinda have to wait for the product to thicken up. i really like the brush...i like this out of all the maybelline mascaras. i have tried many from the volum' express line, and they have always failed to do anything right. this is the only one from that catagory that is good. i can't believe that i waited this long to try it! it removes easy with eye mu remover (currently using walmart's version of neutrogena dual) yet it does not smudge or flake. i'm talking 8+ hours of wear. i don't mind the packaging...i'm a lil bummed that the non-wp is purple and yellow, bec i have wp, which is turquoise and yellow.

i will rebuy this again, when the time comes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/7/2009 5:06:00 PM More reviews by niamhh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I like this for a natural look, but for a product called Colossal I would expect more va va voom. It lengthens my lashes but doesn't thicken them, and if I rub my eyes while wearing it, my lashes clump together and look like spiders legs!

Don't like the bright yellow packaging either.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/6/2009 10:14:00 PM More reviews by adara260

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

LOVE this mascara. I have been on a search to replace my favorite mascara of all time, L'oreal Le Grand Curl since they discontinued it.

I have short, sparse, stick straight Asian lashes. So they will not hold a curl for nothing. I always have to use waterproof so when this version came out Bingo!

I find this formula to thicken, and hold a curl without smudging all over my face due to the heat, my oily complexion, Asian shaped eyes etc.

Also this isn't ridiculous to take off like Lash Blast is. I like Lash Blast but it is too ridiculous to take off. When I combo these two mascaras its a total false lash effect for me.

Definitely give this mascara a try!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/31/2009 2:11:00 AM More reviews by Angelamakeup

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I decided to give this mascara based on the percentage of who would buy again on makeupalley. And I am pretty impressed with this mascara, it holds the curl pretty well and separates the lashes very well while giving it curl. I also didn't notice any black under eyes. I'll write an update if I find otherwise.

****
This is generally still a pretty decent mascara as mascara's go. My update is not really to change my opinion on it but to point out that this formula seems to clump and dry out rather fast.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/29/2009 9:16:00 AM More reviews by tam23

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

i love this mascara. my lashes look so full and long. i use it with the shiseido mascara base and my lashes always look great.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/20/2009 12:52:00 AM More reviews by shindyl

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I do not know why people are so disappointed with this mascara because I love it a lot! It holds my curl throughout the day and it looks almost like I have fake lashes on. I find that my lashes are pretty long for an Asian girl, but I wanted to find a mascara that would give me more volume, and this worked pretty well. The volume was decent enough for me, but I loved how it held my curl up for practically half the day (about 12 hours from 10-9). It didn`t smuge or flake for me, however the brush might be hard to work with the bottom lashes. Also, it doesn`t dry fast so it could get on your lids when you look up, so you should let it dry first before opening your eyes fully after applying it. I got it at walmart for about $6/7 CDN which is pretty cheap. Overall I really love this mascara and I`ll definitely buy it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/17/2009 12:43:00 PM More reviews by jgw

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i was disappointed with this.. i found that it had a really chemically smell and it only looked good when i teamed it with my regular mascara for a bit of extra volume. i also didn't really like the packaging because i found the tube a little too fat and unattractive.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/12/2009 10:23:00 AM More reviews by Impetuous

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

What initially drew me to Colossal was the packaging, but I'm not going to wear the packaging on my lashes, so I did some investigating.


Having previously purchased Maybelline Great Lash and Define-A-Lash Waterproof, and being seriously underwhelmed, I was hesitant in buying another Maybelline product. The reviews didn't class it as highly as other mascaras (i.e., L’Oreal Voluminous, Lancôme Hypnose, Cover Girl Lash Blast aka Max Factor Fake Lash Effect in the UK) and because I've never used any of those or this, I was curious to try something new.
I was debating which mascara to get, when I saw a review on YT. The things she liked are the things I like, so I though I'd try it out and so far, I have to say that I love it. From the initial application, this mascara does everything that I wanted a mascara to do for me.


First off, I have naturally long lashes to begin with and that I was after dramatic x7 volume. Ok, after removing the wand I noticed that the brush was full, thick and filled with bristles. Not overly so, but it mimics my lashes if that makes sense? So it seemed to 'lock' onto my lashes very well, similar to how two sides of a zip will lock together. Generally I find wands and bristles to be sparse, small and thin, and this was the complete opposite. The consistency of the mascara is great. I love the formula. It isn't too thick or too thin, it's quite sheer but a good black (rubbed a little on my hand to see, and it wasn't too dense or gloop.) After applying one coat it gave me a nice natural full appearance. Lashes are separated, not clumpy. Two coats went to dramatic. Still not clumpy. It seems really buildable, I prefer dramatic, so I slathered it on ;D


My lashes still feel soft and natural to the touch, not dry, flaky or crispy. They're flexible. I rubbed my eyes a little and no smudging. Haven't cried or got caught in the British weather yet, so I don't know how waterproof it is.
What I can say though, is that I love this mascara. I have to try other mascaras I've mentioned above after this one to truly test its HG potential though!


Good:
Lovely full, natural feelings bristles / wand.
Cute, fun packaging. Nice to hold and use. Ergonomic.
Great formula, not clumpy, not crispy. Nice consistency. Deep, rich black.
Reasonably priced at £6.84 for 10ml.


Bad:
Smells a bit funky if you put the wand very close to your nose. But lashes aren't close to your nose, so..
Doesn't really add much volume. It's more of a lengthener and definer. 4.5 because of this.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/26/2009 11:00:00 PM More reviews by Beautyxxxrox

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I like this mascara alot. It gives tons of volume and legnth. It doesn't really seperate that much but it's okay. I wore this in the morning cuz I knew I was going to the pool. I went on the diving board jumped in got my face wet and I felt it... ALL the mascara was running down my face. I rushed over to my friend and asked if I had mascara on my face and she said "Emma, I think I need to tell you something. You have mascara ALL DOWN YOUR CHEECKS AND UNDER YOUR EYES! She also said go to the bath room and wipe your eyes. When I went to the bathroom to see she was right, It was!! So this is NOT for the pool! But just a everyday going to work or school this is a great mascara it gives TONS of volume and legnth but doesn't really seperate so if you are looking for seperation this isn't for you ={ But this really is a real "false effect mascara" But I will repurchase

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/20/2009 1:26:00 AM More reviews by ilystephaniiee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I have this and the non-waterproof one, and I like the non-waterproof a lot more. This doesn't give as much volume as the other one and it smudges more then the other one. The formula is wet and it undoes my curl. It separates pretty well though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No