August 30, 2014 | 971 users online

Cleansers - Cetaphil - Gentle Skin Cleanser



image 0

rated 3.5(4921 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/9/2003 2:30:00 AM More reviews by iamabadfishtoo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've acne prone asian skin and I've been using this cleanser for almost about 5 years now and it did not give me any problems. After 5 years it gets boring so I usually try different products here and there but always end with Cetaphil. I have a very oily Tzone but even if i just tissue off this product before sleeping it doesnt cause my skin to be oilier or cause breakouts. I think this product helps maintain the integrity of the natural flora of the skin preventing further irritation. This definitely is my HG!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/7/2003 10:48:00 AM More reviews by hollywood

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I hate--repeat hate--this cleanser! I still do not understand how it receives all the raves and recommendations from dermatologists. I rinse and rinse and I still feel as though I have this nasty film on my skin. It does a terrible job of removing make-up. I threw this right into the trash. Yecch!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/7/2003 10:07:00 AM More reviews by shirfene

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have high expectations on this cleanser that I end up buying the 1 litre pump pack (au$23.95) after hearing all the raves. So, I agree that if you have dry skin/sensitive skin, this is your best option. For my combination skin, its way too gentle that I doubt it cleanse at all. I'm not repurchasing this anymore as its definitely not for my skin type (even though it says 'for all skin types' ).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/7/2003 1:08:00 AM More reviews by skkelber

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have tried many, many cleansers, and I always come back to the tried and true. My skin is so easily irritated by everything, but when I return to Cetaphil cleanser and cream, things calm down quickly. I do wish it made my skin feel cleaner, though. However, with a couple of shakes of baking soda added to a squirt, you've also got gentle, easy exfoliation, too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/4/2003 6:54:00 AM More reviews by ellouise_r

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Reccommended by my dermatologist, does not leave skin dry. Cheap! The best cleanser I have ever had

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/4/2003 5:14:00 AM More reviews by appleqn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a cleanser after the Johnson & Johnson one dried my skin out during winter and bought it based on a lot of recommendations. I'm pleasently surprised with the quality of this product and the price is definitely a bargain. It doesn't remove makeup well so I use a makeup remover before it if I'm wearing heavy makeup but it certainly does leave my skin really soft.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/2/2003 9:49:00 AM More reviews by wombat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Yes I'll buy this again (just bought 500ml bottle after I used up my 125ml travel sized bottle).

It's about $8AUD for 125ml bottle, $16AUD for 500ml. VERY cheap.

I had a bad reaction to it and totally clogged more pores when I first used this. Then I realised because it's such a mild product, you should really only use it in the morning or the days that you have really clean face already. I wouldn't recommend using this after you used your makeup remover, it won't take the residue off.

I use it about once a day in the morning if I didn't use some sort of treatment on my face the previous night (e.g. clarins lotus oil), at night time I'd use a foaming cleanser. I sometimes use this throughout the day when I sometimes wash my face one additional time. Very mild, think of it as something that cleans only a bit better than water.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/31/2003 3:18:00 PM More reviews by pinky0710

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This cleanser only works if you have DRY/SENSITIVE skin, and doesn't wear a lot of make up. I first used this 7 years ago when my skin was oilier and hate it.
Now that I'm in my 30's, my skin changes and it gets drier, and I remember this cleanser, and now I love it! I only use this when I don't wear make up, because it doesn't remove foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/29/2003 11:24:00 PM More reviews by flyingsnow

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i don't understand what the fuss is about this cleanser! it didn't get my skin clean, it left a nasty film on my face and it made me break out! it made me feel really greasy. but i gave it two lipsticks b/c it's ok when u use it without water for a quick cleaning. but i prolly won't buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/29/2003 2:08:00 AM More reviews by MakeupArteest

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Highly overated,unless you are Extremley oily..Like Purpose or Basis better,not as drying or irritating.

Is this review helpful? Yes No