December 20, 2014 | 1631 users online

Cleansers - LUSH - Angels on Bare Skin

rated 3.9(888 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 6/7/2009 7:32:00 AM More reviews by Mireille

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I never dreamed I'd find a cleanser as horrid as this! Greasy, gritty, and it left a thick film of debris on my face. Glad I only had a sample.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 6/5/2009 12:13:00 PM More reviews by tuffins

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I recieved AOBS through the 'Night in for Two' package that came free with my order. I am not really into the chamomile-tea lavender smell but that is something I can get past. The product itself isn't exfoliating enough for me, I prefer Dark Angels. It does a nice job moisturizing as I have dryish skin and doesn't leave me greasy. I can see how people with oily skin would really not like this! It is really gentle so I might pass it onto my sister who would really love this. If you *liked* AOBS but it wasn't exfoliating enough for you - try Dark Angels. EDIT: This broke me out on my NECK! I have never had neck acne before in my life and this was the only new product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/30/2009 5:35:00 PM More reviews by islanderrootz

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am a fan of Lush, yeah but I've been using this cleanser everyday, twice a day for around 5 months and unfortunately it's done nothing for me. The previous lush cleanser I purchased (Herbalism) came in a container but this one just came in the paper packaging which is quite fragile so it's not that great for travel use either.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/29/2009 11:56:00 PM More reviews by elizaeliza

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love Lush products and I've used a lot of them in the past, but I had gotten away from their cleansers, mostly due to price.

After I developed rosacea, my skin started flaking terribly, and I was ready to pay more for skin care that made my face look better. I picked up AOBS and it has worked a treat. My skin does not flake at all any more, and the product doesn't make my rosacea flare.

I don't use this as a heavy-duty cleanser. I only use it as part of my morning routine. I use MAC Cleanse-Off Oil plus Cetaphil wash for removing makeup at the end of the day and I don't expect AOBS would take the place of them.

The packaging is not perfect but it works fine. I have to reach out of the shower and dry my hand off before I can get any of this out of the container but honestly, I'm so pleased to have non-flaky skin that I'll put up with a little bit of trouble from the container.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/27/2009 2:46:00 PM More reviews by sneakattack

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I liked this cleanser but it was a little too oily for my skin year round. I'd only use it in the winter when I get dried out. Love the smell though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/26/2009 5:56:00 AM More reviews by iKissingTheLipless

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

When I first started using this, about a month ago, I thought it was working nicely on my dry skin, and loved how soft my face felt after using it. About a week later, I noticed a pimple on my forehead and one above my lip (two places I never ever break out), and this was the only thing I had added to my regimen. Even though my skin is dry, I feel like the oils in this cause me to break out, and then the pimples get all peely and gross because of the dryness. I wish the lush lady had given me a sample size like I had asked for so I wouldn't have wasted $9.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/25/2009 3:58:00 AM More reviews by rvmc

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I prefer to use this as an exfoliant and then use a very gentle cleanser afterwards as I don't much like the slight film of oil. I generally mash some baking soda in for a little extra exfoliation. It's reasonably pricey in NZ too. Overall I suppose it's ok but nothing fantastic. Some of the oil leaked out from the paper when it was in my bag on the way home which wasn't too nice. I keep it in one of the black pots I had a fresh mask in, and that seems to work ok.

Probably won't repurchase seeing as it's so expensive, I'll most likely go for Trilogy exfoliant next.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/22/2009 6:11:00 PM More reviews by Lakiwahine06

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

LOVE this product! I have combination skin. This is used as my morning cleanser. The smell isnt great, but after awhile you dont notice it. A little goes a long way. Take a pea sized amount in the palm of your hand, and rub into your palm with water to make a paste. Apply to your face in circular motions. It has i think pieces of almonds or something to that consistency, which makes for a great exfoliator. It tends to get a little messy, and isnt quick to just massage into your face and wash off. It doesnt take a little time to prepare and exfoliate. It leaves your skin so SOFT! I couldnt believe it. It is pricey, but for the amount that you get, it could last months! You can also ask for a certain amount whether by price or weight, and you can purchase it that way.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/21/2009 1:11:00 AM More reviews by brandylee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Got this as a sample from Lush. I told the SA that I have very oily skin but it can be sensitive so she gave me a sample of this and aquamarina. Thinking back, I would have rather took a risk and got something to help me feel cleaner (herbalism, ocean salt, etc.). I really like things that lather so this didn't really make me feel clean. The smell is weird and it did make my face feel smooth, but I think it has oil in it so I think that's what is making my face soft, and my face is oily enough! I don't agree with the statement that cleansers shouldn't strip all of your natural oils out or you will overproduce oil- I've talked to many dermatologists who say that for me, it is a totally internal problem that is not affected by external products- but I'm basically just stating that I need something a little more drying becaause that is what it takes for me to feel clean. I would not buy or recommend this, but I suggest trying a sample because so many people seem to love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/20/2009 10:26:00 PM More reviews by lillulu

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I didn't really like this. I read some reviews and was excited to try it. it did nothing for me. I did not like the packaging. I was very disappointed in this product. I never got the right consistency with this product. It was a waste fo money for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No