Cover Girl Lash Blast

3.7

4329 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Waterproof: Petroleum Distillates, Polyethylene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Copernicia Cerifera Wax (Carnauba), Trihydroxystearin, Propylene Carbonate, Pentaerythrityl Hydrogenated Rosinate, Tall Oil Glycerides, Tocopheryl Acetate, Propylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Iron Oxides. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Ultramarines, Talc. Non-Waterproof: Water, Glyceryl Stearate, Ammonium Acrylates Copolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Triethanolamine, Acrylates Copolymer, Synthetic Wax, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Lecithin, Propylene Carbonate, Polyethylene, Oleic Acid, Alcohol Denat., Benzyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Xanthan Gum, Panthenol, Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Trisodium EDTA, Simethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tocopherol, Iron Oxides. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Ultramarines.


on 10/27/2007 4:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This mascara isn't as great as I expected by all of the glowing reviews here. This reminds me of Cover Girls previous hits- Lash Exact and Volume Exact- except I think I like the previous versions better than Lash Blast. The brush is fat and a little tricky to maneuver without making a smudge.... but it can be done. The formula is a nice, dark black (I bought the "very black") which I like, and I find that it doesn't really smudge or flake too much as the day goes on. What I don't like about this mascara is that it does seem to pull the curl out of my lashes a bit, and it doesn't create any noticeable length. It gives me a little bit of volume without clumping... but I like my lashes to look long, and dare I say "spikey?" (Not freakishly spikey, just more of a false eyelash kind of look.) I still find MAC's Zoomlash to be the best at accomplishing that task for me. This is a good, everyday mascara, because its best feature is that it does NOT flake. (Flaky mascara is a bane to my sensitive eyes!) But in comparison, Maybelline Define-A-Lash and L'Oreal Telescopic give me more length and perform a little better than Lash Blast... so I probably will not repurchase this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/27/2007 4:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i generally like this mascara. i am not blown away by it like some of the other reviews but it's okay. i wonder if they will bring out a water proof version? i thought it was kinda expensive though. i paid $8 for it at CVS which seems quite high for a drugstore mascara. EDIT: this flakes badly. not buying it again.


on 10/27/2007 4:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this mascara. I only had to use it once and the thick big brush gave me some serious volume and drama. I usually like lancome thickening mascaras (my lashes are already pretty long). I have also been using mac's plushlash and really liking that as an alternative to lancome. due to all the hype in the forums, I swung by my CVS yesterday to pick up a tube of this wondrous stuff. And sure enough, last night using it the first time, my lashes looked like porn star fake eyelash heaven. Long, of course, but supernaturally thick. EDIT: another great thing about this mascara is that I do not need two proper coats. I do one good one, do the bottom lashes of that eye, then go back in and comb through the top one more time and VOILA!!! superb lashes! EDIT: Left the LB in my car last night, and hurriedly getting ready I went back to my forlorn tube of Plushlash, and there was just no comparison in terms of how much mascara I could get on my lashes and how thick my lashes got. LB gets my lashes so much thicker with so much less work.


on 10/27/2007 12:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am certainly in the minority here! I, too, went on a hunt to find this mascara after reading the rave reviews. I found that I needed several coats to make my lashes look even slightly thickened (translation-clumped together) then add to that the formula completely pulled the curl out of my lashes (and I do NOT have straight lashes). I guess one good thing to note is that it did not smudge. However, nothing special and will not repurchase. Oh well, the search continues.....


on 10/27/2007 2:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I have Asian lashes, and I'll take anything that can make them look fuller. Last Blast does the trick -- really! I liked the fullness factor I got from Maybelline Full N Soft, but I had an issue with clumping and smudging throughout the day. I switched to Max Factor Lash Perfection Volume Couture and liked its staying power and separating factor, but the fullness just wasn't the same as Full N Soft. I am happy to report that with Lash Blast, I get everything that I want -- fullness, no clumping, no smudging, AND separating like a dream. I was also pleased to find that this lengthens as well, something that I don't usually look for in a mascara, but it was a pleasant surprise. Ladies, really give this a try. Sure, the fat orange tube just looks straight up awkward, but anything that can make my Asian lashes look this fluttery deserves an A in my book. Bottom line: Lash Blast does everything a mascara should do -- and it does it well.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow, I didn't want to buy into the hype, I really didn't but I had to go to get a backup of Voluminous anyway and I saw Lash Blast while I was at Target. I decided to get the Voluminous but I also got the Lash Blast b/c I was very curious. This stuff does WONDERS. The brush is really unique. It really separates my lashes and makes them look very full with NO CLUMPS!!! I can't ask for anything more, really. I wore this all day today and there was no flaking, no smudging, nothing. I actually kind of like the shape and look of the packaging also although it is kind of big. I would have chosen another color for the tube besides orange but that's just me. The brush is huge but it's perfect for making my lashes look great. For reference I do have natually long and curly lashes. I never curl my lashes but my problem is that my lashes aren't very full and every mascara that I've used clumps. Not Lash Blast though! I'm actually going to Target to return my Voluminous. Lash Blast is my new HG mascara.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I wish I hadn't JUST puchased plush lash from MAC...last blast beats it out by a mile! i've never tried a mascara with the rubbery prickles on the applicator but this one is awesome, nice & super dark black, just what i wanted! didnt clump, didn't flake, didnt smudge..im hooked & will definately re-purchase! especially for such a fab price, mine was 7 bucks in walmart..beats out the 20+ a pop i've spent on high end mascaras...


on 10/26/2007 11:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Lash Blast's results are what I initially expected of Volume Exact. Big, separated lashes that don't flake. The separation really is wonderful, although I was expecting more volume. Still, I'll repurchase because for me it's a good everyday mascara.

The brush is HUGE and slightly hard to work with; not good at all for the tiny corner and lower lashes. I rated the packaging low because for some reason, the plastic feels really cheap in your hand. Definitely not the "glamorous" feeling one wants when using their favorite cosmetic.


on 10/26/2007 11:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

*EDIT*


after using this for a while i noticed during wash-off, that i was losing several lashes...i didnt think the mascara was the culprit at first, but i really think it was. it wasnt hard to wash off (water and water face wash dripped onto my lids) but something about it made me lose more lashes than normal. odd.


i got this at CVS for $9 and some change since my walmart didnt have it. what do you know it's now there at walmart for just over $6. boo. anyway. i dont normally wear cover girl mascara, as im committed to max factor's, but i had to give this fatty a try!


i first have to say i LOVE any mascara with the new rubber bristles...they really grab lashes and distribute the mascara evenly. and i am SUPER loving the fat rubber brush on this baby. its HUGE and gets EVERY lash from base to tip. it defines yet it plumps every lash to its fullest! i got it in 'very black' and it is nice and dark. this mascara is so great to layer and layer with *no* flaking! i have amazingly fat lashes with 3 coats. with many mascaras, three coats sends you right into flake and clump-city...not this one. it's so great! though one coat can do you just fine, layering makes it even better!


i have to comment though, i see this fat brush being a problem for someone with thin or short lashes---its just huge-might be difficult to control. i wonder if thats why it might not have worked for some of the reviewers who didnt end up liking it.


as for the packaging-the fat orange tube is neat and i didnt have any trouble handling the odd shaped tube during application.

go CG!


on 10/26/2007 8:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Definitely the best of Cover Girl's "Lash" series, but not good enough for me to repurchase. Yes, it gives you some volume and some length, but not as much as I expect from a mascara - even for a daytime look. Maybe I ask a lot, but I rely on mascara to really open up my eyes, which this one really did not do. I do not expect to repurchase this, but I did not throw it away either (as I've done with MANY disappointing drugstore mascaras in an instance of sheer fury mere moments after purchasing). Not bad, but ladies: no need to scour the earth for this one.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

CoverGirl LashBlast Volume vs. Fusion Mascara Review! by thatgermangirl08

Mascara Business Card Trick by Michelle Phan



Back to Top