November 21, 2014 | 1814 users online

Liquid - Revlon - ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

rated 3.8(4449 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 1 of 5 on 5/17/2006 11:33:00 AM More reviews by ravenmcc

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    Hated it. It did not blend properly and caked up. It is nearly impossible to remove. I tried cleaning my makeup sponges and could not remove it from them so imagion how hard it is to get off your skin. I have an oily tzone and this make up made me break out bad.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 5/12/2006 12:35:00 AM More reviews by blind_maharet

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    Okay, I loved this product before they changed the formula but the new addition of the "soft flex" crap has been breaking me out like CRAZY. I want the old Colorstay formula back. :( Why, Revlon, why would you try and fix something that wasn't broken in the first place.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/9/2006 3:15:00 AM More reviews by Natashia

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I have used Estee, Lancome, Clinque, Maybelline, L'oreal but I really find this the best (I actually loved colourstay lite better but is no longer sold in my country:( ).

    I have weird oily skin that is dry within. Also very acne prone with large pores. This makes my skin look amazingly flawless and does not aggravate my acne at all. It gives a dewy, inherent glow look, without the feel of wax or silicone which i am allergic to. It does not oxidise, stays put (after 1.5 hours of sweaty hot yoga?!) , sort of control my oil secretion (but still oils up at the end of the day). I love the smell too.

    However this product can apply too thick if I happen to pour out too much. Very stage like. I used to use this as a concealer! I am Asian and realised the colour range is a bit strange, I think I fall inbetween 2 colours. I always strive to get the freshest bottle, because those old bottles I noted in stores, have a distinct layer of oil which terrifies me.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 4/5/2006 10:46:00 AM More reviews by xxxAthenaxxx

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    This is great for long nights. The Colorstay with the pump applicator works well. I could apply this stuff at 8pm before I go out, and come 2:00 a.m., my skin still looked smooth. It stays on through sweat, through tears, through sleep, even if you rub your face. I used to wear it through my workouts (b/c I'm too lazy to wash it off, which is another point in itself), but if you leave it on overnight/through workouts, you will probably get a few pimples. The stuff is like GLUE. You must wash your face 2-3 times to get it all off, but that was what I was looking for when I bought it. It begins to get tacky and thick shortly after it comes out of the bottle, so apply it where you want it. You have to work it in and blend it quickly otherwise where you dotted it on your face, you'll have darker (thicker) areas of make-up. Use a make-up sponge because the stuff sticks to your fingers and brushes.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/3/2006 8:24:00 PM More reviews by rayoflight121

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

    I love its thickness and its very buildable. The colors match very well with my skin tone. I just wish it would last longer then it does.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/24/2006 5:08:00 PM More reviews by Chena

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    I just picked up this and WOW! It is warm toned and pale (I'm a moderately pale asian)and it just blends right into my skin. The coverage is medium but buildable, definitely need no or little concealor, even with my horrible acne scars. It lasts all day and makes my skin matte and smoooth. Def my new HG!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/20/2006 1:26:00 PM More reviews by steph22

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    I LOVE the old one, and hate the new one. I stock piled and bought like 5 of the old ones when they went on sale becasue they were discontinued. I tried the new one to see if it was the same or even dare I think, better. Of course, I was let down, my skin went super shiny, and oily and looked so ridiculous, I felt embarrased going out. The old one was amazing, it controlled shine and lasted all day whithout looking weird. Way to go Revlon, worst move ever to discontinue the best makeup available and replacing with garbage. STAY AWAY from the new one with softflex if you have oily skin that tends to get oily by noon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 3/19/2006 6:48:00 PM More reviews by Shadygirl2623

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    This was my HG it's gone and I was traumatized. But I tried the new one and hated it so during my mission to find a new foundation, I ended up picking Clinique Clarifying MU, it's awesome, I should have been using it a long time ago, THANK YOU Revlon, or I never would have known I could find something that covers just as good, but looks way better, feels way better, and is helping my skin too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/13/2006 2:15:00 PM More reviews by ylrebmik7

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Other Eyes: Blue

    I was hoping for more. My sister and I tried the Colorstay with Softflex for normal/oily skin based ont he positive reviews here. I also bought the Colorstay pressed powder. I haven't used a liquid foundation in a long time. I have oily/combo skin and although this didn't make me break out and stayed fairly dry, I just didn't like the way it looked on my skin. It wasn't a smooth finish and seemed to accentuate some small wrinkles I have. We both currently use Maybelline Pure Stay powder foundation that has spf in it - it has a 4.0 rating on MUA. I'm keeping the pressed powder for now to replace the L'oreal perfect match powder (that I don't like) to carry in my purse with me.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 3/7/2006 3:26:00 PM More reviews by gabrielk

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Not for me, but good at what it does...hence the high rating. If you want heavy coverage because of acne scarring or whatever, this is the stuff for you. It covers whatever you want it to cover, and lasts and lasts until you choose to take it off. The Colorstay part is no lie! Vile smell, as with many Revlon products. Not too fond of the widemouthed bottle, either. Since I have a whole big bottle that looks awful on me (wrong color and don't need so much coverage), I've found an alternate use: a very small amount of this stuff is fairly decent as a primer for eye makeup.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No