MAC Paint Pot in Painterly

4.3

999 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isodocecane, dimethicone, polyethylene, hydrogenated polyisobutene, quaternium-90 bentonite, dimethicone silylate, octyldodecanol, silica, trihydroxystearin, retinyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate, lecithin, carnauba wax, propylene carbonate, triethoxycaprylylsilane. May contain: mica, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, bismuth oxychloride, blue 1 lake, carmine, chromium hydroxide green, chromium oxide greens ferric ferroxyanide, manganese violet, ultramarines, yellow 5 lake.


on 5/29/2011 6:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have very oily eyelids. I usually use UD but wanted to give this a try due to all the good reviews. I have now used it for some time and it does not prevent my eyeshadow from gliding off. I am still getting oily eyelids after an hour or so :-( I also think when i use this as a base it make the eyeshadow that goes on top difficult to blend.



on 5/22/2011 10:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have oily eyelids, and using a base like TFSI or UDPP alone is not the best option for me. I always apply my Painterly Paint Pot over my TFSI or UDPP, whichever I happen to be using. This way, my eyeshadows last all day with no creasing or fading. I love the shade Painterly because it evens out the skin on my eyelids and makes a fantastic base for color. The other Paint Pots I own are shimmery, and I honestly think this matte one performs better. Even though I have to wear it over a base, I don't consider that a downfall because it's essentially just a long-wear cream eyeshadow. This little pot is such value for the money! Mine has lasted years, and it's still going strong (and I use it everyday!).


on 5/22/2011 9:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product. It evens out the color on my lids and helps eyeshadows last. I don't have oily eyelids so I don't have problems with this creasing.
I prefer this over UD, though I haven't tried UD in Eden.
I also like to use this under my eyes or to cover pimples.
Overall, I would buy it again.


on 5/22/2011 7:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I've been using this product for about 3 months now. I love love love it! I use as a primer for shadows and also as just a stand alone lid colour for when I'm working and need a minimal make up look (I'm a midwife). It has a light creamy consistency, dries Matt, rarely creases and evens out my pigmented lids. Makes any shadow colour truer. Would and do recommend to anyone


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

As a "collector" of paintpots I have to say this left me EXTREMELY disappointed. While I do have very oily lids I never have any other of my paintpots crease the way this does (except for the super glittery ones for last fall's Cham-pale collection). I really wanted to love it but.. this was way off the mark for me. I picked up Painterly after my Urban Decay Primer Potion started running low and have since ended up handing it off to a girlfriend of mine. Guess I will be going back to Sephora for another Primer Potion. This just doesn't really hold up well for oilier lids. Sorry.


on 5/22/2011 2:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has been my hg product for 4 months and I absolutely love it! My upper lids have very visible blueish veins, so clear primers don't work for me. Actually, I mainly use Painterly to give my upper lids a more even color. And it does that! It's just a plus that it works as a primer.
The texture is very good, dries quickly but not too quickly. I sometimes even use it as a concealer for my undereye circles. If MAC discontinued it, I'd start a petition I swear.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I am loving this paint pot. MAC really needs to work on making these in more shades. It can be used as a primer, or on it's own, I am NW 15/20 and this almost blends with my skin color. It just gives me a finished look. I also use it as a primer on the rare occasions when I actually use eyeshadow, and this helps the color stay in place. It applies creamy, and dries to a nice powdery finish.


on 5/10/2011 7:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I can't believe I hesitated so long to purchase this product! Spending $16.50 or so on this product didn't really seem to worth it to me at first, but now, I am SO glad I bought this product!
Pros: It evens out the skin tone on eyelid, MAKES SHADOWS LAST ALL DAY, packaging is cute :)
Cons: Price

This product is overall amazing and this was my first paint pot, and I definatley would like to get more! This product helps your shadows stay on longer, even if you have oily lids like me! I just use either my Elf primer or my UDPP and the paint pot on top of it and it lasts all day! Painterly is a must to your makeup collection!


on 5/5/2011 2:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my first paint pot and so far I think its fabulous. So smooth and creamy but has staying power and creates a perfect canvass. I can see why people say it depends on skin tone and color, but I'm nc30 and its perfect. Price point isn't bad considering u get so friggin much product and u only use a minimal amount. I love urban decay primer but I have very oily lids so I use udpp to prime and this as a blank canvass.


on 5/4/2011 8:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

One of my favourite Youtube guru Michele1218 use Painterly in one of her eye makeup tutorials that I really love, and I hear a lot of other mentioning it as well, soo instantly I knew this was one product I really needed to get.
I HATE IT! The formulation is really thick and dry, I swear you could use this as a concealer if you wanted to. It creases, hard to blend/spread. I know Michele1218 uses this as a base coat or a primer for her eye makeup, but for me, that just didn't happened, my eyeshadow doesn't stay on as well, and doesn't look as vibrant as I would like, and I blame that on the dry formula.
Despite buying this in Duty Free at Singapore Changi Airport, it was still quiet expensive, just another disappointment from MAC.
I hate to write something negative on a product that everyone loves, but I was geniunely disappointed in it. even wearing it as an eyeshadow on it own it still looked horrible, it made me look like I've got swollen eyes.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top