October 26, 2014 | 1029 users online

Pressed Powders - Rimmel - Stay Matte Pressed Powder

rated 3.8(1081 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/15/2013 9:57:00 AM More reviews by calooza

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

There's no much things to say about this product. It's good and it says it all. :)

It's a very good pressed powder. I use it in transparent to set my makeup. It replaced my essence translucend powder, because it matifies just as good, but it doesn't leave a cakey appearence at all, and that what i like the most about it. For such cheap price, i don't think i can find a better option.

The packaging is very meeehhh, i dropped it once and it broke the powder into fine pieces. I then fixed it with alcohol.. I don't usually carry powders with me so it makes no big difference.

UPDATE:

So, the warmer months just arrived, and being an oily skinned person, i find that i like translucend powders better. The just help to control the oils better, i have no doubt now. So, after finishing this rimmel powder, i'm going back to my essence's translucend powder.. So, it's just an average powder.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/15/2013 12:35:00 AM More reviews by xNikkix

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

When I first got this powder, I loved it. Only got it for for the cheap price. Butttt now that I'm getting more into makeup & learning a lot more, I've noticed that it makes my face look extremely cakey. Especially on hot days. Which isn't good, considering I live in Florida. I hit Pam on at least 3 of these & they'll be the past.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/15/2013 12:09:00 AM More reviews by dancedance_003

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I didn't have high expectations for this, but it was on sale at CVS and I was running out of my regular powder anyway, so I decided to try something new. I bought this in 020 Nude Beige as opposed to 004 Sandstorm because Nude Beige looked more yellow, which I thought, would suit my skintone better (for reference, I am Asian NC20 with extremely yellow undertones). Previously, I was using Maybelline Dream Matte and I think Dream Matte is more finely milled than Stay Matte, but the difference doesn't bother me.

This powder was a pleasant surprise. I'm amazed at how well this covers up redness. I have redness around my nose and uneven skintone overall. I was using a tinted moisturizer that I haven't touched in a while, and now I know why; it really doesn't cover anything, but since I wasn't going anywhere important, I brushed on some of this powder all over my face and checked my makeup under natural lighting. I was FLOORED. It was unbelievable. This powder managed to smooth out any imperfections, cover up my redness (not all of it though), and make me look decent enough to walk out in public as is. It looks even better over actual foundation, but knowing that it can cover redness, I noticed that I don't need as much foundation as I normally do. It's wonderful and I'm so glad I purchased it on an impulse.

The color works so well since it doesn't make me look unnaturally paler or neutral/pink (I had this problem with Dream Matte). It's so cheap; I only ended up paying $3 for it. And, it keeps my nose shine free, sets my makeup, and doesn't make me look cakey or powdery. My face is normal/combo and it lasts okay for me (about 5 hours), but I still don't need to touch up; my nose just looks a little dewy. The packaging is crap and I'm actually considering tying a rubber band around it, but the product itself is wonderful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/14/2013 9:30:00 PM More reviews by slothgirl

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this powder. For the price, this is really a great find. While I have gone through 3 pans of this since last summer, I can't say if that's the amount of powder or the amount I love it that is to blame. Blendable, not cakey, long lasting. While it doesn't stay matte all day for me, I don't mind because it keeps my foundation on regardless. My only gripe is that it breaks apart easily in the pan, but as long as you don't spill it, you can still use it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/14/2013 7:46:00 PM More reviews by ashleyl917

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to love this powder, but I just don't. I feel like it can make my face look cakey. It does help to mattify my face, but it does not have great staying powder. For the price, it is a decent powder, but I think my expectations may have been a bit too high.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/14/2013 10:32:00 AM More reviews by barbiegirlxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS POWDER. My skin has a tendency to go shiny throughout the day but this powder really mattifies my skin and acts as a great, smooth finish over my foundation. However, I wish the lid had a mirror in it and came with some kind of sponge!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2013 9:17:00 AM More reviews by FrazzleDazzle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I actually really like this. I never use powder over my foundation due to having dry skin (the last thing I need is my foundation to look more dry and cakey) but since purchasing the studio sculpt foundation by MAC and it actually irritating my skin because it was so hydrating and sticky, I thought maybe a powder could help change how it acts on my skin.

I was right and I found that using this over the foundation took away the awful sticky feeling as well as preventing my skin from reacting too much to the foundation. Whats more is there is no cakeyness and overall gave a more even and diffused appearance to my face. I now use this powder with all my foundations and really like the effect as well as finding that foundations now last longer on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/10/2013 1:25:00 AM More reviews by katherinebertrand

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this product! Keeps me matte for hours, I have really oily skin so I do like to touch up maybe one a day at lunch or so, but even then I only have a slight shine in my t-zone. I have bought this over and over again, soo much love for this product! I just hate the packaging, and if you drop it it will most like shatter, very annoying!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/6/2013 9:43:00 PM More reviews by brenicp13

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a pretty good powder. I definitely recommend for oily skin. Kinda drys my oil for a few hrs. It would most likely be too dry for dry skin. Packaging? Flimsy. I hate it, the lids always pops off and wont stay on. I hope Rimmel will fix this, but overall. It is a good powder. I got it for about 2-3 dollars at Target. Cheap, but it works for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/6/2013 9:27:00 PM More reviews by xoxo331

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is my absolute HG setting powder!! It mattifies my oily skin and gives it the most beautiful finish without being cakey. I cannot rave enough about this powder. The only thing is the packaging, the flimsy lid comes off easily but it's not a huge deal. Amazing, amazing powder, will definitely repurchase again and again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No