Dior Hypnotic Poison

4.0

647 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/1/2006 12:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This fragrance is so warm, beautiful and unique. I can't stop smelling myself when I wear this--I feel grounded, but sexy at the same time. Absolutely intoxicating! Excuse me....HYPNOTIC!!!



on 3/31/2006 10:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this tonight. It's hard for me to describe the scent. My mom said it smelled like chocolate on my wrist but to me this reminds me of cool nights wearing a sweater. I am glad i bought it. it smells divine.
My mom said she could barely smell it not sure if that's a good thing or abad thing since i like people to smell me when i am wearing a new perfume. I also tried pure poison... i think i am going back to buy that one too since i wasn't sure at the store and now i am definately sorry i didn't buy it tonight as well.
I love the poisons my fave of course is the original poison,i got another bottle of that this week so i am on a perfume kick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2006 11:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Play-doh! I really love this fragrance, and it doesn't invade my senses and give me a headache like a lot of them do. I'm totally against florals so this was great for me, the almond and vanilla really come through.
The only reason I won't repurchase is because someone I know wears it (a lot of it) now and it's grating on me. A beautiful fragrance when worn LIGHTLY though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2006 4:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a VERY unique fragrance. You either like it, or not. It is a strange scent, I admit it, but I like it alot. It's very comforting for me. My boyfriend really likes it. I don't like a flowery, or citrusy scent, so that eliminates alot of them out there. Someone stated, that the EDP, was discontinued, and only the EDT is being sold. Bummer, I can tell the difference, from when I first bought it, but I still like it enough to buy it. I am hoping, I can find my HG scent, but until then, this is serving it's purpose. I'm still of the mindset of, everyone is entitled to their opinions, but it's not necessary, to say something is "disgusting" or "toxic waste". That is insulting other people's tastes, who like it. Just say, "it's not for me."

EDIT: Although still buying this, they definitely tweaked the formula when they redesigned the bottle. To me it's still good, but weaker, and less depth to it. Supposedly, I heard Christian Dior is going to bring back the EDP to the U.S., but don't know when. I hope so, I liked it when it first came out better.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2006 4:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has been my favorite fragrance for many years. It's intense and I love the smell of bitter almond. It also lasts long.
This is definitely an evening fragrance. It doesn't smell the same on me on hot summer days (I usually wear HP during fall, winter and the beginning of spring and wear a lighter scent during summer).


on 2/10/2006 4:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Nice, dark, powdery fragrance for an extravagant, elegant and passionate woman. However, believe it or not, Hypnotic Poison in EDP vanishes on my skin in less than two hours and you can't tell I put it on! On my Mom however, you just can't wash it out. Wonderful scent, but not for me.


on 1/23/2006 3:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a very unique scent, my boyfriend gave it to me as a gift after (he said he searched everywhere for a really nice sexy perfume for me). It has a very warm sensual smell and I would be best for evening or cold days. It lasts for one hell of along time, you can smell it on your clothes for days (good thing). I have had more compliments from men on this perfume, then any other I wear, but my female friends think its a little bit overpowering.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

In reading this and other fragrance boards, I see Hypnotic Poison mentioned almost everytime someone inquires about sexy scents or what men like. I've been in the mood for a new romantic fragrance ever since I gave my boyfriend Dior Homme for Christmas. I went to Sephora to test HP. My first impression was Icy Hot, the pain relief ointment...similar to Ben-gay as someone else had already mentioned. I went on to try other fragrances after that. Still dismayed by the all the positive comments I read about HP, I went back a few days later to try solely this at wearing strength and with a fresh nose. Similar thing...Then within about 30 minutes of returning to the office, it smelled profoundly like Play-doh. I'm giving two lippies because now that I have had it on for 8 hours, I do get a nice but faint sultry vanilla scent when sniffing my wrist....too little too late :(


on 1/3/2006 9:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i dont really like it but it lasted the whole day for me when i sampled it at nordstrom.


on 12/27/2005 11:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

If I ever find this on deep discount I will buy it. I love it on occasion, but today it made my headache worse. Really, really strong and long lasting. Sometimes I get a Play-do vibe from this, sometimes root beer, sometimes a cozy fire. For love/hate, I can't pay full price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Or et Noir
40 Reviews
White Linen
130 Reviews
Poppy by Coach
76 Reviews


Back to Top