December 22, 2014 | 1685 users online

Liquid - Revlon - ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

rated 3.8(4452 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

REFORMULATED. Please see http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=153868/ColorStay-Makeup-%2824-hour-formula---2012/2013%29/Revlon/Liquid

rated 4 of 5 on 2/27/2008 11:11:00 PM More reviews by xxxbebexxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the only foundation ive been using for about 3 years.i have never tried anything that makes you look so perfect..but thats kind of a problem,it toooootally washes you out,so if you use it daily,you start to look kinda funny without it. it does stay on all day,i see this stuff being used in salons all the time.the only thing stopping me from giving it a 5 is that it clogs your pores.it doesnt break me out,but it gives me bad whiteheads & blackheads..yet im still addicted to this stuff lol.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/27/2008 9:04:00 PM More reviews by pink889

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have to say this is probably the best product ever for making your face look so completely flawless and unbelievably smooth! It matched my skin SO well and really did stay put on my face for the whole day without needing touch ups.

The downside is that this really does break you out. After reading the reviews of all the people who said it broke them out, I thought it was just a few people and wouldn't happen to me because makeup has never made me breakout before.
you have to realize that this product

***IT'S NOT NON-COMODOGENIC.

***IT IS NOT NON-PORE PLOGGING

***NOT RECOMMENDED BY DERMATOLOGISTS

This product has nothing on the label to reasure you that it is safe to wear on your skin unlike all the other makeup products out there. It just says it is oil-free.

This means that it WILL clog you pores which will lead obviously lead to break outs even if you don't normally break out!!!!!!!!!

This product is only so good because it can clog your pores. It just isn't worth it.
Try ALMAY clear complexion. The shades aren't as good, but it is a lot better for your skin.

oh and the packaging is horrible.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/27/2008 12:22:00 PM More reviews by virgo92185

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I REALLY love this foundation! I use the darkest color, Mocha and even though it is darker than my skin tone it evens everything out very nicely. It creates a flawless, dewy, natural skin look. I put this on after my moisturizer and let it sit for a moment to dry and I'm good to go! It says on until you wash it off (unless you do something like sleep, something that puts a lot of friction then it will come off). A bonus, I have worn different foundations that create a gray cast on my face when I take pictures.. well this foundation helps me look picture perfect! The glass bottle lasts a while and the coverage is build able, it covers up my scars very well, looks like I don't have any! If you have been searching for a foundation I would recommend this one. Just be sure purchase the foundation at CVS since they will take it back if you don't like how, however I have feeling you wont be taking it back! :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/24/2008 11:29:00 AM More reviews by redheadjane

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I used to be a fan of the old formulation before they added the SoftFlex. I think it was better and lasted much longer. I like the way this initially looked when I put on. You do have to spread it quickly because it dries fast but doing one side of your face at a time and blending afterward tends to help. The colors are good. I wear the fairest in the winter and the second fairest in the summer. Unfortunately if you have any dryness or flakies, it's going to show. It can also get cakey looking if your not careful. I wore this for about two weeks and noticed that I was breaking out much more than usual, so I stopped. Skin cleared and started using again and then I started breaking out again. So no colorstay for me. Good makeup, those with acneic skin might want to think twice about using a long wearing makeup. It clogs pores.

The #1 reason I do like this foundation is it smells like old paint. I mean I'm a artist and can honestly say it smells like enamel Paint. No wonder it breaks me out!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/20/2008 2:07:00 PM More reviews by LizaLou

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've tried every expensive foundation in the world it seems, but I still prefer the Colorstay foundation to all of them. It's the only one I've found that allows me to wear a moisturizer underneath without making me oily or simply disappearing halfway through the day. I love that I'm no longer a slave to constant touch-ups and the Sand Beige color is a perfect match to my skin, not too pinky on my golden undertones. The one drawback is that it's in a standard glass foundation bottle instead of a plastic pump bottle, which I'd prefer for traveling and to keep it germ-free.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2008 8:23:00 AM More reviews by jentalkin2u

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Definitely one of the best foundations I've ever used. I buy this in Sand Beige which is a perfect warm shade for fair to medium skin. I have a horrible time finding foundations that don't make my golden skin look too pink or grey or make me break out with cystic acne. I'm so glad I found this!!! I've used the normal to oily and normal to dry (SPF 15 with SoftFlex) formulations and both are wonderful. I prefer the normal to dry in the winter. This foundation goes on smooth, provides great moderate coverage, is very buildable and stays put all day! I don't get break-thru shine mid-day which I get with a lot of CG and Maybelline foundations. Even the normal to dry version doesn't make my face greasy. It's just a heavenly product. My only gripe is that I wish it came in a pump bottle. Other than that, this is definitely my HG foundation. I bought it on sale at Walgreens for only USD $7.99.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/13/2008 11:59:00 PM More reviews by calvarado

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been wearing this makeup for quite some time and no matter how much I've try new products, I always end up coming back to Revoln Color stay. I notice the trick to putting on this foundation is with a wet/damp makeup sponge. It dries very quickly when putting it on with your fingures and/or makeup brush, which I've tried. The wet/damp sponge gives it a smooth glide and good coverage(I use the round sponges). When I need extra coverage I just dab the sponge on whatever area I want extra coverage and it does the job. I finish it with some loose powder. You name it I've got it with my face, acne prone, scars, oil, blemishes and this is the only makeup that seems to help with coverage and I don't break out from it. For my cleanser I use St Ives Apricot Scrub Blemish & Black head control with 2% salicylic Acid and this products really helps remove the makeup along helps with my occassional breakouts. I also use the Neutrogena Clear Pore Oil-eliminating Astringent after I wash my face and I notice I don't have much of any makeup left on my skin. I'm in the process on getting laser treatments for my skin, and tried different cleansers and makeups, thinking new skin new products, but after trying other products and just breaking out, for me, I've ended up back to my Revoln colorstay and Apricot Scrub.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/8/2008 10:25:00 AM More reviews by jewell2

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

well i used it for years and loved it i have very oily skin
and yes im talking about the old version which they stopped selling here now (i was afraid of this day because i heard they changed the formula in the states and i was happy they still sold the old one here in switzerland) the new one with softflex (for oily combo skin) is breaking me out after using for a week and it fades after 6 hours of wear i really miss the old colorstay so would i repurchase No....why not?
because they discontinnued the original Colorstay and i cant live with the new one :((

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/3/2008 4:06:00 PM More reviews by emmalcm

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm now on my 3rd bottle of this, because it's the only foundation that lasts all day on me. I am prone to blemishes, so the last thing I want is my makeup wearing off half way through the day. I think my last bottle cost me about £11.50 from Boots, so it is kind of mid-range price wise.

I use the new version with softflex for combination to oily skin, which seems to work well for my combination skin with an oily t-zone and dryer cheeks. It gives good coverage, and does not rub off on your clothes at all. When I take my makeup off at the end of the day there is always more to be taken off than with any other foundation I have used.

What I would say is that you do have to be careful how you apply it-a little goes a long way and it is easy to make it look cakey. I usually apply it carefully with a foundation brush, then if need be do any blending with a sponge. But once you know how to apply it, the 'cakey look' that so many people complain of with this product is not a problem.

I only have one complaint with this foundation, which is the pacakaging. It comes in a heavy glass bottle which is not good for travelling with at all, and I have to leave it upside down on my dressing table when I'm getting near to the end of the bottle. I wish they would make it in a plastic tube or bottle, which would be so much easier.

Other than that, this is a good foundation for someone who needs good coverage and wants it to last all day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/2/2008 5:54:00 PM More reviews by navarre

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Other

this was another one of those things everybody loves that is a disaster on me. too dark, oxidized, looked REALLY makeup-y and for some reason instead of blurring my post-acne marks turned them an extremely visible, lurid purple. Gorgeous. In the trash.

Is this review helpful? Yes No