October 25, 2014 | 1644 users online

Liquid - Revlon - ColorStay Makeup [Reformulated Early 2013]

rated 3.8(4446 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/8/2008 4:46:00 PM More reviews by LaCasera

    Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I have come back to this product after YEARS of following trends, fads and advertising gimmicks. I can't believe I ever strayed! I have large pores, sun damage and uneven skin tone - this product helps with everything. I use the medicated Colorstay concealer on my hormonally triggered spots and the undereye Colorstay concealer under my eyes and on my "chimp" lines, then I use the Colorstay liquid foundation all over and finish with the Colorstay Mineral Blush and Colorstay pressed powder applied lightly with a large powder brush to set everything. My face is flawless and very natural looking, and, best of all, it looks just as good at 9pm as it did at 9am with just a quick blot with blotting paper mid-day! I am NEVER going to stray again - I don't care how appealing those infomercials are. I have wasted hundreds of dollars on mineral powders, anti-aging foundations, products to give me a "glow", etc., etc.... This is the most natural looking, easy to apply, comforable and long lasting product on the market.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/7/2008 4:12:00 PM More reviews by ShellyMtz

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Broke me out horribly!
    Loved the coverage and staying power but not worth the skin damage. So sad.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 3/4/2008 5:17:00 PM More reviews by nslindsaync

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    I've been a mineral makeup wearer for the past four years but I recently wanted to try something different so I decided to try this after reading all the raves on the makeup board. I'm so glad I did, I love this stuff. I was really skeptical of trying a liquid foundation again because I wasn't sure If I could get a right color match or it might look too cakey or even worse break me out, but Colorstay does none of this. I got the combo/oily formula, it doesn't oxidize, it stays fresh all day and doesn't make my face an oil slick in two hours, like Bare Escentuals did, and I found a great color match in Buff (1.2 fairly light in BE). The only negative thing I can think of is that it is a liquid and it's a little more time consuming to put on as opposed to just buffing in some BE and like the other reviewers mentioned you do have to move quick. I apply this with the MAC 187 brush.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/2/2008 10:38:00 PM More reviews by KingTaco

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

    It's been years since I tried any Revlon products, and now I remember why - their color choices are HORRIBLE. I bought this foundation for oily/combination skin in Buff and it looked grey on my skin. It also had no coverage, so I could see every imperfection through the grey veil. This is just awful stuff.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 2/27/2008 11:11:00 PM More reviews by xxxbebexxx

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is the only foundation ive been using for about 3 years.i have never tried anything that makes you look so perfect..but thats kind of a problem,it toooootally washes you out,so if you use it daily,you start to look kinda funny without it. it does stay on all day,i see this stuff being used in salons all the time.the only thing stopping me from giving it a 5 is that it clogs your pores.it doesnt break me out,but it gives me bad whiteheads & blackheads..yet im still addicted to this stuff lol.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 on 2/27/2008 9:04:00 PM More reviews by pink889

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I have to say this is probably the best product ever for making your face look so completely flawless and unbelievably smooth! It matched my skin SO well and really did stay put on my face for the whole day without needing touch ups.

    The downside is that this really does break you out. After reading the reviews of all the people who said it broke them out, I thought it was just a few people and wouldn't happen to me because makeup has never made me breakout before.
    you have to realize that this product

    ***IT'S NOT NON-COMODOGENIC.

    ***IT IS NOT NON-PORE PLOGGING

    ***NOT RECOMMENDED BY DERMATOLOGISTS

    This product has nothing on the label to reasure you that it is safe to wear on your skin unlike all the other makeup products out there. It just says it is oil-free.

    This means that it WILL clog you pores which will lead obviously lead to break outs even if you don't normally break out!!!!!!!!!

    This product is only so good because it can clog your pores. It just isn't worth it.
    Try ALMAY clear complexion. The shades aren't as good, but it is a lot better for your skin.

    oh and the packaging is horrible.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/27/2008 12:22:00 PM More reviews by virgo92185

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I REALLY love this foundation! I use the darkest color, Mocha and even though it is darker than my skin tone it evens everything out very nicely. It creates a flawless, dewy, natural skin look. I put this on after my moisturizer and let it sit for a moment to dry and I'm good to go! It says on until you wash it off (unless you do something like sleep, something that puts a lot of friction then it will come off). A bonus, I have worn different foundations that create a gray cast on my face when I take pictures.. well this foundation helps me look picture perfect! The glass bottle lasts a while and the coverage is build able, it covers up my scars very well, looks like I don't have any! If you have been searching for a foundation I would recommend this one. Just be sure purchase the foundation at CVS since they will take it back if you don't like how, however I have feeling you wont be taking it back! :-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/24/2008 11:29:00 AM More reviews by redheadjane

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

    I used to be a fan of the old formulation before they added the SoftFlex. I think it was better and lasted much longer. I like the way this initially looked when I put on. You do have to spread it quickly because it dries fast but doing one side of your face at a time and blending afterward tends to help. The colors are good. I wear the fairest in the winter and the second fairest in the summer. Unfortunately if you have any dryness or flakies, it's going to show. It can also get cakey looking if your not careful. I wore this for about two weeks and noticed that I was breaking out much more than usual, so I stopped. Skin cleared and started using again and then I started breaking out again. So no colorstay for me. Good makeup, those with acneic skin might want to think twice about using a long wearing makeup. It clogs pores.

    The #1 reason I do like this foundation is it smells like old paint. I mean I'm a artist and can honestly say it smells like enamel Paint. No wonder it breaks me out!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/20/2008 2:07:00 PM More reviews by LizaLou

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I've tried every expensive foundation in the world it seems, but I still prefer the Colorstay foundation to all of them. It's the only one I've found that allows me to wear a moisturizer underneath without making me oily or simply disappearing halfway through the day. I love that I'm no longer a slave to constant touch-ups and the Sand Beige color is a perfect match to my skin, not too pinky on my golden undertones. The one drawback is that it's in a standard glass foundation bottle instead of a plastic pump bottle, which I'd prefer for traveling and to keep it germ-free.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2008 8:23:00 AM More reviews by jentalkin2u

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    Definitely one of the best foundations I've ever used. I buy this in Sand Beige which is a perfect warm shade for fair to medium skin. I have a horrible time finding foundations that don't make my golden skin look too pink or grey or make me break out with cystic acne. I'm so glad I found this!!! I've used the normal to oily and normal to dry (SPF 15 with SoftFlex) formulations and both are wonderful. I prefer the normal to dry in the winter. This foundation goes on smooth, provides great moderate coverage, is very buildable and stays put all day! I don't get break-thru shine mid-day which I get with a lot of CG and Maybelline foundations. Even the normal to dry version doesn't make my face greasy. It's just a heavenly product. My only gripe is that I wish it came in a pump bottle. Other than that, this is definitely my HG foundation. I bought it on sale at Walgreens for only USD $7.99.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No