September 30, 2014 | 1047 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Matte2 - Handwritten



image 0image 1

rated 4.7(97 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 91% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/15/2011 12:09:00 PM More reviews by misti_parrott

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I've been searching for a new brown to do my daytime two toned look and came across this one, it has a lovely velvet feel to it, blends and apply's easily, and looks great teamed with mac's 'all that glitter's' eye shadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/5/2011 2:48:00 PM More reviews by matteapye

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is a very pretty colour. I would repurchase, but don't think i will need to since i have just recently bought this and i use it very sparingly.
It is a lovely dark brown colour, and i LOVE the texture.
I use this as eyeliner, i line my upper and lower lashlines with it + a 209 brush- perfect! I love the way it looks! would for sure recommend to anyone looking for a dark brown with a hint of plum. it also blends nicely which i really enjoy. would not work as an allover color with my nc/nw15 skin (nc concealer, nw foundation) but deff would look nice in the crease.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2011 3:36:00 PM More reviews by UHMANDUH9

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

best crease color for my nc40/42 skin color :) hands down a fave!~

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2011 5:27:00 AM More reviews by Squalid

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love you matte2! The pigmentation and texture is amazing, it feels like velvet. This is a great shade for really dark smokey eyes, lovely worn with cranberry or purple shades because of the slight purple tinge, but it's awesome on its own too.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/20/2011 4:08:00 PM More reviews by Marcela213

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

::sigh:: MAC, please create more matte2 shadows! this color is a beautiful deep chocolate brown with AMAZING pigmentation and buttery-smooth texture, making it really easy to work with. blending is so easy with this formula! i love all matte2 shadows.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/29/2011 9:54:00 AM More reviews by ClaireMcD77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Very pretty outer V color that works with a LOT of different colors. I can't quite pull this off on the crease since I'm pretty pale but I def. think this is a must have for everyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/11/2011 12:58:00 PM More reviews by Run2FlyGurl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Very pigmented - you really only have to tap your brush on it to get enough color most of the time. You can build it up in the outer crease/corner for a more dramatic neutral look or it works lovely in the crease with a light neutral lid color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/10/2011 8:01:00 PM More reviews by megs85

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Great color. Love the texture and pigmentation. Whenever I take a MAC quad with me, Handwritten is in there. Just a wonderful all purpose color!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/26/2011 10:34:00 PM More reviews by tenderheart003

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is the BEST matte neutral midtone brown for the crease. I wear it with brule on the lid and it is such a pretty look! Great texture and pigmentation. I'm NW20 and at first glance it seemed like handwritten would be too warm, but it actually works out great.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/10/2011 12:30:00 PM More reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

The breakdown:

Color: lovely, though rather dark, neutral matte brown; in the pan, it looks warmer than it does on my NW15 skin. Handwritten is kind of like a slightly cooler, much more pigmented version of Brown Down. I love it in the crease, with Quarry on the lids, and something neutral, like Sugarshot, to highlight, for an understated, polished browned mauve taupe look that flatters my green eyes.

Texture: Luxuriously smooth, no chalkiness

Pigmentation: Handwritten is insanely pigmented; use a light hand, and get out your blending brush!

Wear: Handwritten wears fine on my very oily lids over a good primer, like Urban Decay Primer Potion.

Price: Handwritten is $14.50 for a pan or clear-lidded compact that's about 1 inch in diameter; considering the quality, that's not unreasonable

Summation: If you want a very high-quality neutral matte dark brown, Handwritten is for you. The darkness of its color means that some blending will be necessary, but it's really a very wearable shadow. MAC seriously needs to offer more shades in this wonderful Matte Squared formula!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No