Hanae Mori Butterfly EDP

3.8

190 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/13/2010 12:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I first got this perfume, I was working in a store where men's cologne was sprayed throughout the store every hour, so a sweet feminine scent like this one was like a breath of fresh air. Now a few years later I find that this scent by itself is much too feminine for me, and it borders on "old lady". HOWEVER, I have figured out that by wearing a dab of this perfume with a dab of any men's cologne really balances out the scent and turns it into something completely different, something I like, and get a lot of compliments on. So if you get frustrated with this perfume, it's a great scent for mixing with other fragrances until you get a blend you like. The other thing I wasn't crazy about is the large, butterfly shaped cap. It's awkward, bulky, and it fell off so many times that I just stopped putting it back on.



on 7/31/2010 5:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Sickingly too sweet. But great staying power.


on 5/27/2010 12:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I first saw Butterfly a couple of years ago in Sephora. After reading countless favorable reviews for this, I was very excited to test it. I tested both the EDP and the EDT at least half a dozen times in varying weather/seasons. While I don't find it to be a totally unpleasant perfume, I can't say that I enjoy it. To my nose, HM Butterfly smells like bland fruit salad with lukewarm cream poured on top, served in a melted plastic container. The "melted plastic note" that I detect is what makes me a bit queasy. Additionally, this scent lacks "zing" and it falls flat. It just feels as though something is missing. I most always prefer an EDP to an EDT, but with this, I simply cannot tolerate the EDP. The EDT is a bit more fresh and wearable.

The sillage is fantastic and one spray lasted hours and hours on my skin. I really wanted to love HM Butterfly and perhaps I would like it more on someone else.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

On me, Hanae Mori Butterfly smells warm, sexy and not overly sweet, even though I prefer to use it only at night, when going out to some clubs and parties. If the weather is really hot, I just spray a small amount.
I recommend to women in their 20's and 30's who would like to wear an "adult vanilla" scent, but it would be nice to try a sample first, since all fragrances tend to react differently on each skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2010 5:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this. Nice, sweet, and creamy. My comfort scent, apart from Burberry classic. This is not a sexy scent, but I adore it because it is so comforting and it makes me really happy and mellow. Lasting power is superb.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2010 6:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This makes me smell like a princess! I love wearing it though I tend to go overboard with it! It is definitely pricey and I wish I could find something similar without the price tag. This probably isn't the scent for everyone, but its flirty and girly and perfect for someone like me! I wish the bottle was as fun as the scent though!


on 1/14/2010 8:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

I wore this when it first came out. I RARELY buy any frag twice as I tend to want to find "something new". For some reason I decided recently to give this another go. All I can say about this is: This is what Pink Sugar can only HOPE to be . . . . All Grown Up and Sexy YUMMY!!! LOL

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2009 7:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

In one word: DIVINE!!


on 11/13/2009 11:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have to say when I first got this and tried it, it smelled like an average cloying floral perfume to me. Then, after about an hour at work, it turned sweeter and softer. I couldn't believe it! I couldn't stop smelling my wrist in disbelief. It's beautiful and reminds me of L de Lempika (which I love!). I will buy more of this when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2009 1:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Very sweet, very vanilla. Loved it at first, but then became too sweet for me. It's not bad -- I may break it out one day again.

UPDATE: I tried to break it out again, but just don't like it. It's strawberries, almonds, vanilla, but it's just too sweet and musky. I think as I get older, I'm starting to dislike overly sweet scents.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1370 Reviews
Chance
959 Reviews
No.5
943 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
43 Reviews


Top Rated Hanae Mori Products

Back to Top