April 19, 2014 | 1945 users online

Self Tanners - Banana Boat - Sunless Tanning Creme - Deep Dark



image 0

rated 4.1(120 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 5/4/2011 10:06:00 PM More reviews by Candace8592

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I know products work differently on different skin, especially self tanners since they change the color of your skin. I have always longed for a nice olive skin tone but alas I got my mothers irish genes. I am very very fair skined with cool undertones so this review may only be helpful to those who have very fair skin like myself.
First of all I want to say I have tried almost every self tanner out there. Neutrogena, Clarins, Bath and Body works, Loreal, Xen tan, Lancome, Jergens, and the list goes on. Drugstore and Department brands alike. This self tanner is my 2nd favorite ever.
The color is rich and the first drugstore tanner that didn't turn my fair skin orange. It is not too dark, not too light and fades pretty well as long as you moisturize every day after you use this product. The consistancy is creamy like a whipped pudding and there is suppose to be a color guide but it is a little hard to see where you are applying it. As long as you apply this right you will get an even beautiful tan for a very inexpensive price. I would put the quality of this product up with xen tan! The only reason I gave it a four is because my skin is pretty sensitive and it may be breaking me out. Not horrible or anything but I have noticed a few small pimples more than I usually get. This may not be an issue for everyone though so I still recommend people at last try it.
I do have some advice for self tanner newbies on the application of this product. 1.) exfoliate and shave one day before you apply the tanner. Some exfoliators haves oils in them that don't rinse off well and mess up the tan. 2.) When you are ready there is no need for gloves. It is easier to apply without them and gloves can cause streaking. 3.) Mix some of the self tanner with a bit of unscented lotion such as cetaphyl. This will make the consistancy more creamier and easier to apply so you can avoid streaking. Don't use too much body lotion or it will dillute the product. 4.) Start from your legs and feet and move up wards. If you start from the top down your stomach will make lines. Run the tanner/lotion mixture in circular motions on one part of the body at a time til the tanner is completley rubbed in and no longer sitting on the skin. 5.) After you have done your body wash your hands with bar soap. Bar soap is more concentrated than liquid and will remove orange palms. 6.) After you wash your hands do the tops of your hands last using only a small amount of tanner/lotion mix using a cotton ball or makeup sponge to apply it and don't be afraid to get some in your knuckles and in between your fingers. 7.) Lastly and most importantly to avoid those tell tale signs you have been tanning on your hands wrists feet and anlkles, use a cotton ball or makeup sponge and put body lotion (like cetaphyl) on it. Swipe it softly across your wrists knuckes toes and ankels. Using the lotion alone in these spots removes the excess tanner that gets into the lines and streaks in those areas. Viola no tell tale signs and the perfect tan. Keep the tan longer and make it fade evenly by using a body lotion every day! Good luck!

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/13/2010 10:10:00 PM More reviews by xxsimplysweetxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have waited a long time for the quality of self-tanners to improve since they first came out. After reading countless reviews, I decided to try this one out. I was pleasantly surprised. I really like the caramel-y color the deep dark gives. Though there definitely is a technique to applying this. Be sure to deep moisturize well before applying. Wear gloves so your hands don't turn orange. Avoid using too much on elbows, knees, ankles, and hands. When reapplying, do so sparingly. I find that my 2nd and 3rd applications end up a little splotchy in some areas after a few days. It takes practice. And the smell, though not entirely unpleasant, lingers for a while. That being said, it's worth the effort if done correctly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/7/2010 9:34:00 PM More reviews by msmoose18

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this self tanner! I've tried a couple brands (Jergens, Neutrogena, Loreal) and this is the best drug store brand out there. The most important thing to me is color... The other brands are too yellow/orange on the skin ( I am Hawaiian and Asian, so I get TAN), but the color Banana Boat gives you is awesome! It's just a pure bronze/brown color. Granted, it doesn't have a fragrant smell like the other brands, but all bronzers end up smelling stinky after they kick in. I just use it at night before bed, shower in the morning, and the color lasts all week!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/23/2010 8:24:00 PM More reviews by NYC22

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

At first glance this seemed a decent self-tanner. It provided a fair amount of color after a couple of applications - sure, I didn't get the "deep dark" tan, but I wasn't expecting to. It was also easy to apply (the consistency seemed like whipped mud, if you can wrap your head around that idea). And once it was on my skin it pretty much absorbed (it didn't leave a greasy or plasticky coating). Oh - and it cost a couple of dollars less than the average bottle.


The big deal-breaker I had with this self-tanner was that it smelled like a Citronella candle. I couldn't stand to be around myself or even smell the clothing I wore after applying it. After trying this one (and a slew of others from Neutrogena to L'Oreal) I was about to give up on self-tanners and spend the rest of my life as pasty white mess. However, I gave it one more go and tried Hawaiian Tropic and I couldn't be happier. Save yourself the hassle and try Hawaiian Tropic: no smell, lots of color (that lasts!) and very, very quick and easy application.





1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/20/2010 10:20:00 AM More reviews by lizzbear

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used a TON of self tanners and so far this one is THE BEST! I cannot believe how cheap it is either. Before this, I thought the Coppertone Gradual Tan was the best, and it is great, but I find the Banana Boat has less of the self tanner smell and gives me color after only one application. Coppertone I would usually have to apply two or three times to achieve my desired color. I also think the Banana Boat lasts longer because I only need to apply it once or twice a week.

I do have to say that if you're pretty fair, you probably would not want to use the deep dark. I'm half asian so my skin is olivey/yellow and I tan very easily and this gives me such a natural looking tan! I'm from Honolulu, so I used to get tan just from walking around, but since I had to move to Kansas with my husband I don't really get the opportunity to do that and it is way too hot here in the summer anyway. I feel my tan with this cream is just as good as my natural tan looked and probably a little more even. It has a tint so you can see where you've applied it which makes application that much easier.

I don't have a problem with this streaking nor do I need to exfoliate before I use this, but I use one of those japanese washcloths everyday to shower so that might be why. I apply this with circular motions to prevent streaking and just wash my hands with soap immediately after applying to avoid tan hands. Also, if you are applying this in humid as hell weather like I am, you probably want to stand in front of the fan for a few minutes after applying to dry it faster. It dries pretty quick (even if it feels a little moist it may be dry) and I haven't had it transfer to my clothes yet. Then in the evening when I shower before bed, the moisturizer feel will be washed off and what little self tanner smell there is will wash right off. You could even rinse of several hours after applying too and you won't have to worry about it transferring or any smell if you want. You will just be left with a beautiful tan ;)

I have also used this on my face and it seems to work fabulously and does not break out my sensitive skin. If I want to keep my face tan I have to apply this more often than I would to my body though because self tanner never lasts on my face.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/10/2010 10:14:00 AM More reviews by dancar3

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I really like this product! I haven't tried that many self tanners (Jergens was the last) and was hesitant since I didn't want to look orange. I showered, exfoliated w/ sugar scrub that left my skin moisturized, then applied this w/ gloves. It looked like a golden, sun-kissed tan in the morning, it looked so natural.....I compared it others who do it the old-fashion way! I did do another application the next night for an even darker tan, it was even more gorgeous! I left it at that since it was as dark as I wanted to be! I'm giving it 4 because while it does look fantastic on the body if applied correctly, I did not like the way it looked on my face.....I used Sally Hansen's Airbrush Sun-Especially for Body since they don't sell Face around here. It slowly fades away and does not look bad at all. It lasts around 4 days. I will definitly be repurchasing this product because of how it look looks on me, the ease of use, and the price!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/25/2010 6:30:00 PM More reviews by PinkFrosting27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Compared to Sun Labs self tanner this stuff honestly feels gross on my skin! It's sticky and smells flowery. It gives great color but since it's sticky it's hard to rub in to keep ur tan even. I wouldn't repurchase it. I have to mix it with my body lotion just to apply it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/17/2010 10:42:00 PM More reviews by Makeupismyaddiction

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is so inexpensive and it works great.. naturally looking tan in a short amount of time. Only con is I dont think its that moisturizing.. if you arent an expert at applying self tanner then this will leave streaks. Everytime I use this self tanner I mix it with my after tan moisturizer and it blends it better! Work the effort and price :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/17/2010 6:29:00 PM More reviews by lilipal

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G...!!! This is really the best self-tanner I've ever used. I went ahead and got the "Deep Dark" shade even though I am not that tan. I was scared it was going to turn me orange, but instead it looks like I have been in the sun for days!!! I have been getting so many compliments on how tan I look. I have tried so many others, and this is simply the best. And on top of it all, its so cheap!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/17/2010 6:15:00 PM More reviews by lulabellabeauty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Ok so I am def. a self tanning junkie and have tried so many over the years from drugstore to high end types that celebrities swear by (st tropez, fake bake, and currently my fave xen tan) Now this is def. one of the best out there, esp. for the price!!!! I like that it looks very natural, no streaking, and doesn't wear off patchy. It gives me a nice golden brown color. Im considering switching back to this because of how pricey xen tan is. :( That stuff truly has the best color of any self tanner ever created!! I can keep layering it on without ever looking bad and fake! And Im pale as a ghost!! So my only drawback to the banana boat it that too many applications and it can look orange. I also found that pretty much with any self tanner, if the outside weather has an overcast, it will look a bit obvious and slightly orange (only very slightly so don't get scared). It's the only lighting though that Ive experienced any "questionable color" (mostly to me though) , even with my xen tan. Like I said, Im a true self tanning junkie and notice every little detail about self tanners. Other than that, I highly recommend this self tanner and for only $6 at walmart, you def. can't go wrong!! My self tanning tips: ALWAYS exfoliate. Don't moisturize before a self tanner! Some of the ingredients could cause the self tanner to go orange! It's why not all self tanners are created equally! Wash off between applications, use very carefully around hands and feet, elbows and knees (try using a spray formula or a cotton ball or makeup sponge to apply to these areas) also do use a cream or lotion on the knees, elbows, knuckles to avoid to much self tanner absorbing into these areas ( but only use cream on these areas not the whole body!). The hands and feet can be a dead give away to a self tan so be extra careful so know body knows you have a fake bake! Also, I personally prefer to use self tanner on my face as well (not a "face tanner" since they are too light and after you wash your face, most of it is gone!) just wash your face after and your left with a nice color and glow without it being too dark and again, a give away to a fake tan! Remember behind your ears too! Also, what I like to do to is apply a self tanner heavier on areas that naturally would get darker (like on the shoulders, top of arms) to also really get the most believable fake tan ever! Make sure you moisturize while the self tanner is fading (to help it fade naturally) and exfoliate after about three days(again to help with natural fading) Also, use gloves! This avoids any staining that typically will happen no matter how much you wash your hands (unless you use bleach, which i DO NOT recommend for obvious reasons!) I use vinyl gloves (can be bought at walmart in the same aisle as the contact lens stuff) not latex since latex "grabs" the self tanner and can make it harder to rub the self tanner in. This may sound like a lot to you newbies, but if you really want to look tanned (without the damaging that real tanning causes!!) this is totally worth it! I am naturally extremely white (no one believes me since they always see me with my self tanner on and no one ever believes me that its because of my self tanner than I'm tan! I swear on everything I love! ) But if you feel that with one application it is too dark, just simply wash off, and you should be left with subtle and believable color! I hope these tips help anyone out there avoid tanning beds and the sun (tanning beds are actually much more dangerous then the sun because of the different combination of rays and is causing melanoma for many women!!(even young teenage girls!!!!) Many health insurance companies are now listing tanning beds on their history applications for new patients due to the high risk of skin cancer!! please be smart ladies!! Im willing to bet my life on it that one day, tanning beds are going to be illegal in some states and def. illegal for anyone under the age of 18 to use since using tanning beds before the age of 30 increases the chance for melanoma by 75%!! scary!)

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No