Bumble & Bumble Styling Creme

3.8

151 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/8/2010 6:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this styling cream, for me it works better at styling my hair than any other mousse/gel/spray. I apply it on damp hair with a silicon serum, and then I blow dry with a round brush. I have thick, slightly wavy, shoulder length hair and using this product controls my volume. The blow out usually lasts at least a day.

When used with a blow dryer it passes the "can my boyfriend run his fingers through my hair" test.

I also use it on damp hair that I style in low bun, and let it air dry, and it makes a very sleek look.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/24/2010 2:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The smell is fantastic, but as a styling product, I think this is best saved for people with shorter, thinner hair than mine.


on 3/21/2010 9:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

ABOUT ME: Long, straight, healthy, virgin, medium thickness and normal amount, oily roots and dry-ish ends.

PACKAGING: Utilitarian plastic bottle with a shampoo-style cap. No complaints from me.

TEXTURE: Slightly sticky white cream. Texture improves if you take a small amount and warm it up between your hands.

SCENT: Nothing strong. There's a slight vegetable kind of fragrance if I hold some right up to my nose.

HOW: I only use Styling Creme if I'm planning on blowdrying my hair. After I apply heat protectant (Kerastase Ciment Thermique) to wet hair, I mix a bit of the Styling Cream with an equal dab of B&B's Brilliantine and distribute evenly, concentrating most of it on the length and running the last bit through my roots. Then I blowdry.

RESULTS: Usually when I blowdry, my hair is more volumized but also ends up looking very poofy and straight and I lose the definition of my layers. I love Brilliantine because it enhances the slight wave in my hair and softly defines my layers without stiffness, grease, build-up or dulling shine. The only problem is that it doesn't add body or volume. But when I mix it with Styling Cream, I get more fullness without sacrificing texture or shine. And Styling Cream doesn't make my hair feel stiff and crunchy like mousses and other body-building products can.

PRICE: $30 for 8 oz. or about $14 for 4 oz.

REPURCHASE?: Definitely. I only use a small dab each time. Even with daily use, I bet it would take me over a year to finish the bottle. The initial investment may seem steep, but if it works for you, it's worth it. If you're interested, I'd advise you to try a 2 oz. sample bottle first to see whether it's compatible with your hair.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2010 6:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I currently use this as a pre-styling treatment. I rub a nickel sized dollop throughout my hair and either air dry or blow dry. I have a very texturized pixie haircut, and this product helps to really add some grip to my straight hair as well as keep it from frizzing. I feel it protects my hair from getting fried by the blow dryer, and minimizes my need to put a lot of styling paste or wax in to finish. I imagine it will work on all lengths of hair because it doesn't feel heavy or greasy, doesn't leave any kind of residue/flaking, and it doesn't dry crispy like a hair gel would. It's a very unique product. I'll even use it on dry hair to tame any cowlicks that are sticking up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I stumbled upon this product somewhat by accident while I was looking for something to tame the little tiny frizzies at my hairline. I found this product, and I will never go back! I apply to damp hair and comb it through, blow-dry, and spray! I get body, hold, and very good frizz taming! I only use about a nickel sized amount for my thick, shoulder length hair, though; if I put too much it can make my hair gummy-feeling and greasy-looking at the crown. It also helps me get an additional day out of my hair. Good stuff.


on 1/22/2010 8:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this creme on a whim - desperate for something that would thicken my very fine hair up a bit and give it more control. It does both these things. My hair is much more manageable and has more body even when I don't blow dry it. It doesn't make my hair stick or greasy.

The only downside is that it doesn't tame the frizziness of my hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2010 2:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i think the trick to styling creme is knowing how to use it - its extremely versatile. i'm a guy that has very thick/coarse hair, and i use it in different ways. sometimes i use 3 or 4 dime sized blobs to slick back my hair (while my hair is damp) so i can get a vintage pompadour look. if i want something more natural like just letting my bangs swoop across my forehead and have a little bit of natural looking movement i'll only use a dime sized amount for my entire head. the IMPORTANT thing to know is it has hold like a mousse - meaning it will dry semi hard if left to air dry. if i want a more natural look, i will break it up with my fingers after its dry and it keeps the original shape but its looser and more natural looking. ---------- FOR LADIES i put equal parts water and styling creme in a spray bottle and apply it to damp hair before i blow dry then straighten or blow dry then curl with an iron. on curly/afro textures i put this stuff in its full strength directly onto the hair before to air dry if they want more definition in their curls. ----------- if you have thinner to normal textured hair (male or female) use this on dry hair to create definitions at the end of a textured cut or just to tame frizzies. the IMPORTANT thing to know is this stuff has a semi hard hold - meaning if you put it in damp hair it will dry somewhat solid - it can be brushed or broken up but it has awesome memory so it will keep the general shape it dried into, it'll just be more voluminous and softer.

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

A+++++++ product! This styling creme works wonders on my super long hair! I put a very small dime size amount thru my hair and after blow drying my hair is stick straight! I love this product and i will continue to use and buy it probably for ever. I'm sure i will experiment with other products but i will always return to this HG product! Like all Bumble and Bumble products this stuff smells lovely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2009 2:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this in an adorable travel set along with the creme de coco shampoo, conditioner and styling cream. However, all the products fell short and needless to say I returned it. This had to be the worst out of the entire set. I used it exactly as directed, and yet my hair medium bra strap length hair ended up a sticky, tangled, dull mess. Ick! However, it did make my hair lay nice once I did manage to get my hair all de-tangled..but that's about it. Totally a crap product. Horrible horrible horrible.


on 11/2/2009 4:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is just okay. For me, this worked good on the day after I washed my hair. But, for everyday styling it was just too heavy and didn't really provide any hold or style. I have very layered, thick medium length hair and it basically just weighed it down. However, I loved the smell of this product and it did provide calmness for any frizzy fly-aways I had. But, for the price, it was way too expensive to purchase this again.


Popular Styling Products


Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
47 Reviews


Top Rated Bumble & Bumble Products

image

Sumo Tech

46 reviews
image

Brilliantine

153 reviews
image

Styling Lotion

104 reviews
Back to Top