November 23, 2014 | 1566 users online

Lipstick - NARS - Belle De Jour



image 0

rated 3.9(119 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/16/2010 8:16:00 PM More reviews by adugdale7238

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I absoutly love love love this lipstick! For 2 years I was buying Honolulu Honey but the other day I decided to try Belle de Jour and I'm so glad I did! Its the perfect sheer nude shade without being pasty looking like some nudes can. I tend to get dry lips but this lipstick is very moisturzing. Belle de Jour def gives you sexy nude lips :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/11/2010 5:06:00 PM More reviews by Nickylily

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I finally found a light nude shade that works. It isn't too pink or brown. I was making the mistake of looking for pink toned nudes, but this works better, with its peach-neutral undertones and sheerness. I love the smell too, but that is hard to describe. The only negative is the price. $24 is way too much for this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/21/2010 10:31:00 PM More reviews by scrumptiouzz

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

this is the only nude lipstick i've found that doesn't make me look dead. it's a peachy nude. pretty sheer compared to mac's.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/27/2010 7:44:00 PM More reviews by rubii00

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I recently purchased this for a job interview. I have many lipsticks and for some reason I like to get them in very similar colors and they all give away a "naughty" look. So I wanted to stay in a color range that I was comfortable in (nudes) but that wasn't too overstated. Belle de jour to me is a very sophisticated nude. The best way that I can explain the color is peachy beige? It has no pink undertones at all, which I find is neat because I can't hardly pull off a lipstick without any pink in it. It stays on awhile, nice smell but really pricey ($24). Would I buy this again? Yep!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2010 2:55:00 AM More reviews by sunkissedgirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I really love this lipstick. For me it's a perfect nude...not pink...not orangey...not brown...but neutral nude, if that makes any sense. Others have commented that this color is the same as MAC Freckletone, but in my opinion it isn't at all. Freckletone can look orangey at times. I feel that Belle de Jour is moisturizing and pretty long lasting. One thing I have to mention about NARS lipstick and gloss is that they don't give me that embarrassing white gunk on my lips like all other brands do. NARS is expensive and is the reason I don't have a ton of their products. I will repurchase this when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/18/2009 11:50:00 AM More reviews by betseyjohnson77

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

It was just ok,i like a nude lip..this didnt really do it for me will not repurchase

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/18/2009 9:20:00 AM More reviews by ragazza

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

Meh...this lipstick is so-so if I wear a gloss over top. On its own, it is a nude colour, beigey nude. It is almost concealer like colour and consistency. It is drying and the staying power is not even 20 minutes for me and I don't have the habit of licking my lips. I also find the smell offensive. Needless to say, at this expensive price, I will not repurchase NARS lipsticks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/12/2009 4:23:00 PM More reviews by fionarocks

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love this lipstick. The color is subtle, but effective. It looks very natural and gives the nude lip look. It would be perfect with a cat eye. I think this lipstick is evocative of the looks in the sixties. Also, the pigmentation is heavy in a perfect way: the lipstick counterpart to Urban Decay shadows. Wonderful stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/17/2009 1:18:00 AM More reviews by Milena

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

This is the best nude lipstick I've found to date :) Belle de Jour is a true 60's Catherine Deneuve/ Brigitte Bardot nude lip. It's similar to MAC's Freckletone, as a reviewer below stated, but it's less peach and more beige. Absolutely perfect with a smokey or heavily lined eye. Amazing staying power and wonderful coverage. For reference, I'm NC40 with golden blonde hair and green eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/7/2009 12:56:00 AM More reviews by TDelicate

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Finally! I have been hunting for a nude lippy for the longest time, and my pigmented lips have made this struggle particularly difficult, I had nearly lost hope. For my NC30'ish skintone, this was the perfect balance of nude warmth, like any nude lip, you need to have your lips in good shape, but this is a great lipstick for moisturizing too. I love that it leaves a healthy shine and isn't teenage-shimmer-infested. It's a great sophisticated nude color. It's also my first NARS lipstick, which compared to mac, made the price bullet hard to take, but despite MAC's extensive collection, I couldn't quite find a moiturizing lipstick that matched this beauty at all. I love love love it. For even fuller coverage, it couples brilliantly with a nude lip pencil, and lasts well. Can't wait to rock it out!
~*~

Is this review helpful? Yes No