October 23, 2014 | 1065 users online

Foundations - Philosophy - the supernatural airbrush canvas



image 0image 1

rated 3.8(394 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 6/13/2010 10:12:00 AM More reviews by Annaxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Not as good on me as BE MM - made my skin matt and dull, and the sponge applicator shredded while there was still aover half the minerals left in the tub. I wouldn't buy again there are better MM out there with less 'other ingredients' i them.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/20/2010 5:54:00 AM More reviews by Lila2004

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I love this, and I actually get comments on how good my skin looks and how I "glow" when I wear this. It also applies very quickly, can be used as a concealer, and travels very well. Spare sponge applicators are available, and the existing ones can be washed with your brushes, so there's no hygiene issues there. It can settle into pores and lines IF you use too much or if the skin isn't primed well. I use Beige, and am NC25 in MAC. The colour gives my complexion a little "lift", rather than just matching it, which is great, too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/6/2010 8:32:00 PM More reviews by Kayleigh111387

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love love love this foundation!! I was worried after reading some reviews that the Natural Ivory color would not match skin tone but it's perfect. The only problem is I wish it came with extra sponges for sanitary reasons. Great buy, worth the money :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/20/2010 7:31:00 PM More reviews by CharlieSheena

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite foundation I have ever used. I previously was a MAC influenced kind of girl. Recently I began struggling with acne and my dermatologist advised that I needed to switch to mineral makeup. I did some research and decided to try this out. The first time I used it I was so excited. I spend half of the time I used to getting ready and all I have to do is swirl my brush in there lightly and tap excess out and apply. I love it. The coverage is amazing. It feels like nothing is on my face. I look and feel great. :) I totally recommend this to anyone who has issues with finding a foundation they like.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/1/2010 4:30:00 PM More reviews by Blund

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Made me look 10 years older!!

Settles into wrinkles, even fine lines to age you beyond belief.
Not very practical packaging either

Will not repurchase

If you are looking for a loose powder try Chantecaille - it makes your skin glow and does not accentuate lines

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 12/28/2009 2:56:00 PM More reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

PROS: Not the worst I've seen on my face.


CONS: This might be better for younger skin. Not great with my fine lines and pores. Artist said the sponge applicator is difficult to use, so she recommends using a brush instead. Wasn't very fond of color choices (I'm N15, leaning to NC, with ruddy patches.) She tried like crazy to find a match, but no way.


APPLICATION TIPS: If you're concerned about this settling in pores, you can apply pat L'oreal's Magic Perfecting Base into pores first (and make sure to let it "set" at least a minute).


REMOVAL TIPS: If you get clogged pores, you can remove this with a cleansing oil before using your regular cleanser.


ALTERNATES: D/S - L'oreal Visible Lift Serum Absolute Advanced Age-Reversing Makeup is pretty good for wrinkles. For H/E and dewy, I absolutely adore MAC's tinted moisturizer, which is the best thing for not making my wrinkles look worse, out of 35 foundations I've tried.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/28/2009 3:39:00 AM More reviews by amyc00per

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I don't quite know how I feel about this product. I've been using it for a year now, whenever I need foundation. It goes on fairly invisibly but sometimes I accidentally put too much on and it looks really fake (I just use the sponge). Perhaps mineral makeup is not for me. I like a dewy look which this doesn't provide. I think when I finish this off, I'll search for a less expensive product. This isn't worth it for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/2/2009 1:33:00 AM More reviews by Sugar76

Age: Unknown Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Black

I first dabbled in mineral foundation a decade ago with Bare Escentuals. Eventually, I found BE to be too shiny for my oily skin and having to layer BE's mineral veil on top was time consuming. Within the past few years, I ventured over to the Philosophy line. First with the Complete Me SPF 15 mineral foundation and now to the Supernatural Airbrushed Canvas SPF 15 (which I wear in Bronze). I've been using this foundation for over a year, and have not broken out from it. The coverage is very natural, from sheer to medium. It's just enough to even out my complexion, but will not cover a pimple without some kind of concealer underneath. The packaging is ridiculously user-friendly and a time-saver with no additional brush required. The addition of a magnifying mirror on top of the cap is also a nice touch. Replacement sponges are available, too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/15/2009 7:51:00 PM More reviews by novelist

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I used this "powder foundation" for two summers in a row, 2008 and 2009. The reason why I used it in the summer is the added sunscreen protection on top of a chemical (liquid) sunscreen. It was, for me, a means to try to prevent further melasma and I believe that this strategy worked.

First off, it was pricey. I figured it would last the whole summer and it did. My problem with this powder is the lack of color choice; I used sand in 2008 (I am NW20) and it looked cakey so I bought the bronze to mix with it and the color looked more natural. However, the product seemed to sit on my face in spite of using the wonderful philosophy brush designed to blend the powder into the skin.

This past spring, I tossed what was left of the sand and purchased a new color, beige. This color looked even worse on my "pink" skin. By the end of the summer I wound up tossing out this product and the bronze.

Nice idea, and I went with it for a while, but it never looked natural on my face. Haha, I moved on to Prescriptives Photochrome, you know, the company going out of business. For me, there is no Holy Grail in foundation, just the newest attempt at keeping my skin healthy while making the latest foundation work. Thus far, MAC Studio Sculpt, mixed with philosophy shelter, achieves the flawless finish I was trying to obtain with the supernatural airbrush canvas.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/21/2009 11:21:00 PM More reviews by beu2fool

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love the coverage I get from this stuff. I've previously used EM which was way too glowy for me and BE looked a bit chalky. This really does make me look flawless. I use MUFE's HD microfinish powder to set it and I LOVE the look. It is a bit expensive and the sponge does take some getting used to. I'd recommend using a brush or buying a ton of replacement sponges to keep it sanitary

Is this review helpful? Yes No