September 22, 2014 | 1798 users online

Highlighters - The Body Shop - Shimmer Waves in Blush



image 0image 1

rated 4.3(53 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 7/5/2007 9:26:00 AM More reviews by cheryls

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is a knock-off of BB's Pink Shimmerbrick. THe only difference is that this is more silvery.



Initially I found it a little too metalic for my NC 42, tan olive asian skin. But I picked it up randomly one day and fell in love.




This is very good for a quick 5-minute routine. I use it the same way you would use a MSF or smth. 1) With a smallish face brush, I sweep the bottom 3 lighter shades over my lids/brow bone. 2) Then the darker 3 redder shades on the top of my cheekbones. 3) Then slightly sweep some of the silvery shades again on the bridge of my nose and above my brows. 4) complete with some lipgloss and eyeliner and I'm good to go!


When used in moderation, this gives me a dewy and fresh look. It brightens up my 'black' face nicely for a nude/makeup-less look. I have to blot my face in the middle of the day otherwise the shine plus oil is just - overkill!!


A good product to bring to the gym or traveling. However, the 'strips' keep popping out on mine. I have to manually place the lines of powder back. I wonder if anyone else has this problem and a solution to it. I'm thinking maybe pressing it back like you would a pigment.. but I've never tried that and dont wanna risk it. Taking a lippie off for the less than average packaging on mine.. other that, its a very versatile product.

EDIT: I recently rediscovered this. I now store this product with a folded piece of tissue stuffed in the lid to prevent the powder strips from sliding around. It is a very natural pink for me. I use it daily because I am often in a hurry in the mornings and have no time for precise application. It adds a hint of healthy colour to my cheeks. I sweep my MAC blush brush on the top four pink colours, avoiding the silver) and apply it on my cheeks and temples. Fuss free. Aside from the packaging, I'm recommeding this!!

I have the bronze one too. But I cant open the stupid clasp so its still brand new. I doubt it will work as well as the pink one though. continued >>

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/31/2007 3:47:00 AM More reviews by Nina_82

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This stuff is beautiful, I love that it has a shimmer, but it's not OTT. My skin always looks nice and glowy when I wear this. I have very pale skin and don't like to use bronzers, so this is a great alternative. The lightest colours work really nicely as an illuminator for under the eye area. Will definitely repurchase, although it seems to be lasting forever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2007 7:13:00 AM More reviews by littlelamb

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This gives a gorgeously sheer-pinky pearly glow to my NC25 skin! I've tested Clinique's Fresh Blooms and I have to admit, whilst I was tempted to buy those I love TBS's much more. There are 4 colours ranging from medium rosey-pink through to sheer opalescent white. You can blend the warmer colours as a blush, or the lighter shades as a highlighter. The clear plastic case is ok in itself as you can see the product clearly (as with Clinique's), but it's just so difficult to open - if you have long nails you better be careful! I would love to repurchase this if I run out, but I'm hesitating as I'm not sure about the compact.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/22/2006 10:04:00 PM More reviews by monlim

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I've steered clear of BB Shimmerbricks ever since I saw my cousin use it and look like she got hit by the glitter fairy. Then I read the reviews on the Shimmer Waves and saw this on sale at 40% off so at SGD20.90 (about US$13), so decided, why not? At that price, it's a great buy. Since I don't use it as blush, only as an e/s wash, I'm not sure I would pay full price for it. As everyone says, the shimmer is subtle - gives a nice gleam and the colour is what I'm looking for in a wash - a pink tint that's not too deep or light. Reminds me of my Mac Porcelain Pink MSF, but at a fraction of the price. Great product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/24/2006 6:13:00 PM More reviews by henrieka

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I like it, although you must be careful not to overapply. I usually swipe it over blush. It works as an e/s too, but I`m not a fan of pink eyeshadow. The amount you get for money is generous and it keeps the "wavey" apperance (other products you swirl may look messy after a while). Overall, a good buy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/23/2006 2:18:00 PM More reviews by newagetomatoz

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this product about a year ago and still is awesome. My face is REALLY pale--to the point where I almost have to shop in the Goth makeup department--and this gives my cheeks a natural, lovely glow and tint. I found that if I hold the bristles near the top and then swirl on the pallete, I get more color for more defined work. This is my Holy Grail of blushes and highlighters too!

The only downfall of this product is the packaging. Not too long after I bought it, on side of the hinges broke then about a month later the other side did as well. So now the lid is separate. Not a big deal, but just a little bothersome. Definately repurchasing when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/14/2006 5:18:00 PM More reviews by Tartlette

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is gorgeous and gives me such a nice glow. There's basically no colour payoff but that's just fine by me because it gives me such a pretty shimmer, but no over the top. I'd definitely buy this again but I think the one I have will last me a very long time!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/30/2006 1:18:00 AM More reviews by c0407083101

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Black

I got this shimmer wave in Peach too, just love this product so much. As I said in the shimmer wave in Peach review, the shimmery effect is great, but the color doesn't really stand out. So I normally put on rose color blush before applying this shimmer wave in Rose. And it will give you a sheen and shimmery look. Very nice!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/16/2006 6:14:00 PM More reviews by Miss_M

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I'm a big fan of products that give a subtle glow to my face and I absolutely adore Shimmer Waves in Rose. This compact consists of very subtle and natural looking colors that can be used to highlight the entire face, as a blush, over matte blush or as an eyeshadow. This product is of high quality, very well-pressed (press your thumb into the compact and it doesn't leave a print) and can compete with any HE shimmer product on the market.

All in all Shimmer Waves is a very versatile product that doesn't bore very quickly. This is one of my favorite products at the moment and would definitely repurchase again if I ever run out.

Retails for € 22,- euros.
continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/11/2006 2:03:00 PM More reviews by GimpyPoop

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I owned this product before but ended up swapping it away since I already had Bobbi Brown’s Shimmer Brick in Pink. Well a generous swapper included this as an extra so I decided that fate had brought us back together. Basically this is the Bobbi Brown Pink Shimmer Brick, but much cheaper! It doesn’t go on as intensely and with slightly less pigment and shimmer (which some people prefer!) than the Shimmer Brick, but other than that – it’s the same frigging thing! So yeah, awesome product! Looks great over flat blushes or high on cheekbones. Also the I’ve been using the white strip as a subtle highlighter for the eyes. Great product and worth the price!

Is this review helpful? Yes No