September 1, 2014 | 1463 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Captive



image 0image 1

rated 4.0(60 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/19/2009 10:30:00 AM More reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

Captive is a very beautiful plummy/ berry like color. It is like a soft red on my lips. It's a satin, so it is very moisturizing and very pigmented on my darkly pigmented lips. This color makes my whole face glow and imo says "look at my lips". It's not subtle at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/26/2008 7:58:00 PM More reviews by carabara84

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I went to the MAC counter with my hubby for my B2M. I tried on a few lippies for him and he liked this one the best b/c (in his words) it made my blue eyes brighter. It took some getting used to b/c it's kind of dark on my lighter than nc/nw15 skin. I usually apply it with a lip brush lightly to give a pinky stain more than an opaque wash. When I do want more dramatic lips though, this is a lovely pink-plum shade. The Satin formula usually requires some gloss on top, but it's fairly soft on it's own. No complaints. Will repurchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/12/2008 2:21:00 AM More reviews by mcr29

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the latest in my MAC lippie collection. I love the plummy rose tone of it and it does stay on a long time (like any MAC lippie). I am fair complected and dont think the color is too much at all. Just right. It looks great with a taupey e/s ala French Grey. If i ever finish it up I will definitely repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/4/2008 2:41:00 PM More reviews by hydramgeablue

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

A great color for a special occasion or a night out, this is a deep fuchsia red on me. Very pretty, but a bit overpowering for everyday wear. Though it's described as "semi-matte", I find it a bit drying on my lips. I use it only occasionally, so I doubt I'll ever run out of it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/10/2007 8:18:00 PM More reviews by definesinister

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

BEAUTIFUL! I got this when I wanted to take advantage of my Back to MAC. But yeah I was torn between this, VIVA Glam IV, and Chic. But I decided to keep to the satin formula because satin last all effin day. Anyway I layer it with my favorite lustreglass LE Garden to get that frosty/pearlized look that you get from VG IV and Chic. Well anyway I'm so happy with this, and also the fact I got it for free. For reference, I'm a NC 30/35. For some reason, I'm so addicted to their lipsticks, I just keep coming back for more!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/22/2007 10:15:00 PM More reviews by BuffyDaLipGlossEater

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Captive isn't a bad color, but it is a bit basic. I like a little bit better when I can gloss it over or use it as a stain.
I'm not using this color as much, so I doubt that I'll be repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/8/2007 9:31:00 PM More reviews by Flitter

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is one of my new favorites. For me, it is a very wearable color. And I like the fact that I can wear it day or night. Because of the texture of this lipstick I always put on balm a few minutes before wearing it, but it lasts and lasts and lasts. I like to top it with some sort of gloss a lot of times. Love this color!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/11/2007 11:53:00 PM More reviews by Lividity

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This particular hue is very popular with most of the older people that live in this town. It's this dark berry/plum color that I've seen on everybody's lips since it became popular in the late ninties - which is probably why I'm experiencing burnout every time I see this color. If this color runs out, I will not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/14/2007 8:23:00 PM More reviews by hicupcake

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm NC 35 w/ super dark brown hair and eyes. When I first put Captive on, my mom thought it was too dark for me, but then when I experimented a little, it looked really good as a lip stain, and also with Viva Glam VI over it. In fact, I don't think I would wear Captive WITHOUT VGVI gloss on top! I think I look better with warm tones, and those colors just brighten up my face. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/6/2006 10:09:00 PM More reviews by curlylocks13

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a lovely rose-pink on me (MAC Select SPF15 NC45, very pigmented lips). I find that this is a very good day lipstick when I wear a lip balm underneath it. Its in the satin formula which I find to be comfortable with lip balm or plain gloss underneath(but not by itself because that is a little drying)I find it to be a very versatile formula because you can use it matte, glossed up or just stained. Also, the color payoff is rather impressive. I probably wouldn't buy this again, only because I would love to try other colors from MAC.

Is this review helpful? Yes No