July 23, 2014 | 1589 users online

Pressed Powders - MAC - Select Sheer Pressed Powder



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.0(331 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 3/28/2012 11:26:00 AM More reviews by Laiscg

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Yes, I know it's supponsed to be sheer... but the coverage of this is just too poor. It also doesn't mattify well and may oxydize a little. I have it in NW20, and I think it's a little darker than other MAC products of the same shade.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/10/2012 11:07:00 AM More reviews by theleia

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

Third or fourth repurchase. I've lost count. Jet-milled, super fine matte powder that perfects what my foundation cannot perfect, and doesn't settle into the creases under my eyes. Slight coverage. Even when I get oily during the day, this keeps me from looking like a greaseball.

Ten times better than MAC studiocare, which has a grittier texture. Also, some pressed powders/foundations have the tendency to settle obviously into pores when the skin gets oily. This does not do that at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/9/2012 12:12:00 PM More reviews by jennaxox

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my new HG powder. I use it as my foundation, with primer underneath. I adore that it is a sheer powder because I have nothing that I wish to conceal and I like my freckles to show, but I need a mattifying and smoothing effect. And that is exactly what this product gives me! I use Too Faced Primed & Poreless, followed by two light layers of this, buffed on with my big MAC buffer brush (I forget the number but its the short, fat, kabuki-style one), then concealer underneath my eyes and primer on my eyelids. I have a flawless complexion that stays matte and in-place all day. Colour selection is fantastic (I'm NC45 and mineral powders tend to make me look orange-y and sometimes a bit on the shiny side while traditional powders come right off). Thumbs up for Sheer Pressed Powder!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/17/2011 3:54:00 PM More reviews by angellbing

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Black

I purchased this to replace my Benefit Hello, Flawless. I needed a different color by mid-summer (Benefit's range is pretty slim), and MAC was a bit cheaper. I ended up with NC45 (I should note that this is probably the only MAC product in which I would need NC45--I'm not that dark, usually, even with a tan). I have used this with a kabuki to finish off my face makeup (liquid foundation and concealer), but lately, I've been using a lighter dusting of this powder with a regular, large powder brush. It does help to blend out my makeup and give me more of a matte finish, but it doesn't prolong oil breakthrough. I used it yesterday with just a bit of concealer, and while it certainly didn't cover much of my acne scarring completely, it did help blur those marks out a bit more than I'd expected. It faded pretty quickly, though, but I should note that I also didn't use a primer (which I typically do on full makeup days).

Overall, this is a decent powder if you just need a little extra setting in the mornings or for touch-ups during the day, but I'll probably try to find one that helps more with my oily skin after I finish this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/3/2011 5:44:00 PM More reviews by stls

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I have repurchased many times. It's a very decent powder that doesn't break me out. I used it to set foundation but not any more because I don't want to add more color. So, the best way for me is to use this one over concealer for the lazy days since it provides light coverage and mattifies. I keep buying select sheer for that purpose.
Downsides: if you keep adding powder the colour gets deeper and unnatural (but this could happened because of wrong color match too). It can end up cackey too and doesn't keep oil at a bay for long on its own.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/12/2011 5:33:00 AM More reviews by Aiglon

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Green

This is such a good product! I have this in NW 15 and it matches my skin perfectly. It mattifies the shininess of my daycream and if I wear moisturizer and concealer it will make sure that those products stay on my skin for many many hours. I'm already at my 4th case and I don't see myself buying any other pressed powder than this one. It just looks so good!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/10/2011 7:51:00 AM More reviews by RoxyOhSoFoxy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Ok so i have weird skin, its dry on the surface but oily underneath.. Lately my skin has been looking alot better so i got this powder from MAC and started using just concealr where necessary and setting with powder. This powder did such a good job of evening out my skin tone without looking cakey or dry. Now i just use a moisturizer and Sheer Select! Amazingly natural look, i love it! I had to take out 1 lippie cos i feel that this product does not look good when re applied.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/5/2011 12:10:00 AM More reviews by BronzedBeauty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been wearing this powder for at least six years now and I absolutely love it. I honestly don't know how many compacts I did however make the mistake of switching over to MAC's Studio Careblend and I quickly returned back to my beloved holy grail powder, before I even hit pan! This powder blends into the skin so amazingly that it is virtually undetectable. I constantly receive compliments on my skin and people always want to know which foundation I wear. They're always surprised to know that I am in fact not wearing any foundation at all, and that I'm simply wearing concealer along with this powder. The best thing about the Select Sheer Pressed Powder is the price! It's quite affordable for a MAC powder and I certainly don't mind purchasing it several times throughout the year. I just hope MAC never discontinues this powder!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/1/2011 8:54:00 AM More reviews by banababba

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Black

i used this for touchups and I've gone through the entire product.
really makes your skin look better
doesn't look chalky

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/26/2011 7:15:00 AM More reviews by SoxxxTiffanyxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This does give me matt finish, however, after coupke hours, it just totally melt into my tzone, i have to blot out oil then reapply it, love the puff that comes with it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No